We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very gluten-free friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of August

August
5204 Kings St., Beamsville, Lincoln, Ontario L0R1B2, Canada
+1 905-563-0200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Beamsville
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are a small restaurant. Our focus is on hospitality. From the moment you walk in the door to the moment you leave you will be treated as if you are one of the August Restaurant family. Our food is all made fresh in house. Come taste why fresh food tastes better. You might as well enjoy a glass of wine while you are here.
niagara
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“very gluten-free friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have visited twice - once for Sunday brunch and another time for dinner. Both times we sat outside, enjoying the view of cars driving by at some distance. The food is nice, somehow both comfort food and sophisticated bistro food. The servers are knowledgeable, but very relaxed with a small town feel. What I enjoyed is that they are very knowledgeable about gluten free cooking. Although they don't have a lot of gluten free food, it is very good. And, and, and...their gluten free bread pudding is perhaps the best gluten free dessert that I have every had! In fact, they don't even make a gluten version of it. Also nice is that they provide gluten free bread.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    35
    7
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food and taste for the value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Hard to find a good restaurant for the value in this area but August fits the bill. The service is great and we enjoy going here every time. It was also nice that they added screening to their outside patio as you can now enjoy sitting outside without the bugs bothering you.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“WOW what a gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

First time here, although we have heard great things.

Nice place and very friendly staff. We arrived at about 11:45 for lunch and were surprised that we were the only ones here. However by 12:15 the place was completely packed.

The menu look fantastic. I wanted to try everything on the menu. They do tappas 3 nights a week so that would be a good time to sample.

Awesome lunch and dessert. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great fall Sunday lunch stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

With the exception of the chowder, which needs some work, the rest of our meal was superb. Small dining area is well setup to sit comfortably large and small groups. Outdoor patio wasn't open due to cool weather but suspect it would be a great spot to enjoy the afternoon or evening. Had the Sunday lunch special, seafood hot medley while my partner enjoyed the beef. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Was in the Beamsville area checking out some wineries with a friend and stopped at this little place for lunch. Had been there a year ago and luckily remembered where it was. A limited menu, and all the items are tempting. Good food, beautifully and skilfully prepared. Will definitely be back next time I'm headed for Niagara..... not to be missed!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed August also viewed

 

Been to August? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage August, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.