We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great wedding night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The House by the Side of the Road

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beamsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The House by the Side of the Road
Save
You added The House by the Side of the Road to your Saves list
4251 King St. East | Beamsville, Beamsville, Lincoln, Ontario L0R 1B0 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Beamsville B&B and Inns
Halifax, NS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great wedding night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed here after our wedding at Ball's Falls in Vineland. It took us only about 8 minutes to get there, which was great after a long, tiring day. Our room (French Country) was beautiful and completely ready for us when we checked in in the afternoon. Larry and Chris were friendly and helpful, letting us sleep in and accommodating my wife's food allergies. The breakfast (bacon, eggs to order, toast, potato pancakes and homemade fruit cocktail) was excellent - one of the best we have ever had. We had an amazing stay, and have nothing bad to say about this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here as we were going to a Friday evening wedding at a winery close by and decided to make a weekend getaway of it.

We enjoyed our stay in the room which was was very comfortable with a private bathroom. The bed was a big 4 poster bed with a nice firm mattress and lots of decorative pillows.

We had a pleasant breakfast prepared for us at the time we requested on Saturday and Sunday morning by the very patient niece of the owners.

The owners were friendly and were around to easily chat with as they came and went on Friday evening and Saturday morning. They proudly showed us photos of what the home looked like before they completed the renovations...a total rebuild and makeover.

On Sunday morning during breakfast, we chatted with other guests staying there and enjoyed the interesting conversations.

The only thing that could be improved on is that we were not made aware of what was available to us - i.e. the spa or movie theatre downstairs - until we overheard a conversation with another guest. We also did not know if we were supposed to go to the kitchen to make ourselves a cup of tea in the late evening, where we might find ice, etc. or how to lock the door to the home using the keypad when we left when no one else was there.

All in all, we had a very nice stay and it opened up a new area for us that we had not spent time in before and gave us a chance to explore shops and wineries from Beamsville to Niagara on the Lake.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I have stayed at this B&B twice and both times have been great. The owners are wonderful - friendly and very helpful. The rooms are beautiful with private bathrooms. The breakfast is wonderful with lots of food and they cater to your dietary needs. We love how close the B&B is to many of the wineries. For 2 years now, we have attended the Graze the Bench event. This B&B is the perfect distance for biking to this event. I would recommend House by the Side of the Road to anyone looking for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

When we stumbled upon this gem the first thing we noticed was the yorkie and cat that greeted us. They were not only adorable but set us up for what a treat we were in for. The downstairs is a spa and movie theater. Never seen that before! The rooms are average size with private bathrooms and our room had a balcony which was a great surprise. We stayed in the "french" room and it was so comfortable! No old lumpy bumpy beds here. :)

The only thing you may think if weird is no tvs in the bedrooms. I found it refreshing. The food is bountiful and delicious! I have a gluten allergy and do not eat sugar and they made me so much food I could eat. We talked to them after and during breakfast and fell in love with the owners and the house. I was sorry to go but we will def. be back.
My only regret was only staying one night.

Room Tip: The room on the lower floor has a fireplace and 2 private entrances so if it is a honeymoon or somet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

This was our first time staying in a B&B and it certainly won't be our last! Such wonderful hosts, gorgeous accommodations and a delicious breakfast in the morning you won't be disappointed. We stayed in the English Manor room which has a huge canopy bed and a dual sided fireplace that you can see from the bedroom or the bathtub built for two.

Can't say enough how much our hosts added to our experience, they are so friendly and knowledgeable about the area. They made dinner reservations for us at a local bistro that was fantastic and recommended several small boutique wineries to visit as well.

Already planning our next visit!! I would recommend staying here to anyone!

Room Tip: The English Manor suite is superb if you're looking for a romantic getaway though the French cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerwood
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful get-away cycling weekend in the Niagara Bench area in early June. House By The Side Of The Road was the perfect spot to stay! It was central to a lot of great biking with the bonus of being beautiful, very comfortable and treaty. Our hosts provided us with everything we could want. They had wonderful, full, homemade breakfasts that suited our needs for a good start to our day. The beds were very comfortable. Christine did everything she could to ensure our stay was lovely. She is very knowledgeable about the area and the wineries that are nearby.
We would definitely stay here again in the future. It is one of the nicest B&B's in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this B&B for a wedding in May, 2011. Not only was this the best monetary value that I found in the area, it was also top notch accommodation! The Hostess was very friendly and accommodating. There are spa services on site that can be arranged if you book ahead of time. We stayed in the English Manor Suite which had a King size canopy bed, which was so comfortable. There is a connecting fireplace in the bedroom and a large bathroom. Each room has it's own heat/air control. The room was impeccably clean and nicely decorated. The towels and bedding were luxurious. The breakfast was amazing! We had Eggs Benedict and it was beautifully presented. Juice and coffee were at our door when we got up in the morning. Our main floor room had private a entrance and access to the veranda. The House is directly across from Malivoire Winery. We walked there for wine tasting. There are vineyards surrounding the property so the views are fantastic. Probably more so from the upper rooms. We were provided with a cheese and fruit tray when we arrived. We also sampled some local wine, which was really very good.

The location is great because it is close to so many wineries. You can rent bikes and take a scenic tour. Close to the town of Jordan which is a lovely little town, similar to a small Niagara on the Lake. Lots to do in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The House by the Side of the Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House by the Side of the Road

Address: 4251 King St. East | Beamsville, Beamsville, Lincoln, Ontario L0R 1B0 , Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Lincoln > Beamsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Beamsville
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit, discover and enjoy! Luxury B&B with gourmet breakfast, top quality Egyptian bedding and towels. *robes provided. 'Inn the Buff' Spa on site, services available upon request. B&B surrounded by 23 wineries. B&B also fosters an eco friendly approach to cleaning and water treatment. Enjoy rolling vineyards one hour away from Toronto and 30 minutes from Niagara. Enjoy what wine country has to offer and rest your head at the B&B that will give you a good nights rest and scrumptious breakfast in the morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The House By The Side Of The Road Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House by the Side of the Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.