We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage by the Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beamsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottage by the Lake
Save
You added Cottage by the Lake to your Saves list
5463 Blezard Drive, Beamsville, Lincoln, Ontario L0R 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Beamsville B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Upon arrival, we were speechless by the breath taking views of groves and groves of peach orchards to our left and Lake Ontario to the right. We arrived earlier than our expected time, but was graciously greeted by Philip and Susie [who are amazing!].

The cottages were perfect--size [just enough for two], very clean, super cute and very thoughtful [our fridge was stocked and Philip even had gluten-free muffins, knowing that I was gluten intolerant. That was so wonderful!]

All four of us were thoroughly impressed with Philip and Susie's hospitality and generosity. They both made us feel as though their home was ours. It was so peaceful -- the kind of relaxation we all needed. Both nights, we all enjoyed watching the sunset with our wine overlooking the lake -- which was simply breathtaking.

Cottage by the Lake is centrally located between all the vineyards and wineries, which gave us easy access to enjoy the area. I can't say enough things about our experiences, and can't wait to come back!

Thanks Philip and Susie!!

Room Tip: There are two cottages, one of which is larger [the one we stayed in] and has a wood burning fire pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Staying there was fine with nice views of the lake but the owner was very unfriendly and unwelcoming. Very unfortunate. The cottages are a bit old but kept neat and tidy. Breakfast is in the fridge as "make your own". Nice fresh bread and loafs. Watch your step going down to the lake, the stairs and dock are very rickety. Again, unfortunate about the attitude of the owner...would have been a nice experience. I would not recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

A perfect view, fantastic hosts and a breakfast fit for a king! We travelled with two young children to visit Niagara Falls. We were able to relax whilst the children played safely in the grounds, messing with Philip and Sue's dogs and picked fresh raspberries. Beautiful views and a restful couple of days. Our 7 year old daughter cried as we drove away! Thank you Philip and Sue.

Room Tip: The large cottage suited us - two adults and two children under 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linn Creek, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a great place to stay while visiting the twenty valley. Phillip and Suzie our hosts were the best. We were provided great choices for breakfast in a stocked fridge, the cottage was like stepping back in time, light airy and wonderfully clean.

we were made to feel like old friends, the view cannot be beat, very pet friendly and close to everything you might want to see on your trip the the winery's

Thanks for a wonderful time, we will be back again.......
Mike and Cindy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We loved staying here. The hosts Phillip and Sue are very nice. They have two great dogs and run a spotless b&b. Warm friendly place to stay. The views are spectacular. Nothing but fond memories Thank you
Dave and Tracey

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I loved my lit'le private cottage right on the waters edge!!! The hosts, Philip & Sue were very warm & inviting, the cottage spotlessly clean & cozy, the kitchen was fully stocked with everything I needed (including fresh baking...I am gluten intolerant and they made special provisions to accommodate my needs), I had my own private grill and picnic table, and my dog loved running and playing in the adjoining orchard. I loved my experience and would recommend it to all my friends! This is a place you will never want to leave...just curl up with a good book, take in all the sounds, smells, sights and get lost in the moment!

Room Tip: Both cottages are beautiful-one has a wood burning stove but is only open during the warm seasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent a wonderful night in the small cottage while attending the 20 Valley Winter WineFest. The accommodation was excellent, comfortable bed, spotless room, incredible view looking out to Lake Ontario and wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottage by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage by the Lake

Address: 5463 Blezard Drive, Beamsville, Lincoln, Ontario L0R 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Lincoln > Beamsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Beamsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two cottages on the property overlooking Lake Ontario. There is the proprietor on site and daily cleaning. The cottages are fully stocked with food, drinks and treats so you make your own breakfast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottage By The Lake Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage by the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.