We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more can I say....Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel to your Saves list
Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel
Prenteg | Porthmadog, Prenteg LL49 9SR , Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Prenteg B&B and Inns
pwllheli
1 review
“What more can I say....Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

I stayed at Aberdunant for the New years eve celebrations with my family, our experience was excellent from arrival to departure. As soon as we as we arrived we were made to feel very welcome from the manager & his staff. The room was excellent very clean & very comfortable, the food looked & tasted fabulous, excellent choice of food from hot to cold. For breakfast again we were spoilt for choice. I would definitely recommend Aberdunant to anyone. Since New year I have visited Aberdunant several times for food with friends & my children, I have never been disappointed.
Excellent service, excellent food, excellent rooms & excellent location. What more can I say.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AberdunantHall, General Manager at Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Thanks for the review, really glad you enjoyed yourselves.

you can already reserve tickets for this years celebration which i am sure will be even better. and pay for them in December.

See you real soon

Aberdunant Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    46
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
70
133
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
gwynedd
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

My husband and I booked into Aberdunant Hotel on New Years eve as a surprise get away. On our arrival it was obvious that the staff were preparing for the new year celebrations. After being checked in the Manager visited our room with our complimentary party tickets.
What a place!!!! We have never enjoyed a hotel experience as much as this one. A buffet was arranged which was nothing short of fantastic. A dressed salmon was carved at the buffet by the chef and we enjoyed sampling the mini cocktail bar which was christmas themed. A great laugh!!
At the stroke of midnight we were approached by every member of staff who wished us a happy new year, there really was a warm friendly atmosphere about this place.
On departing we were served with an excellent traditional breakfast which certainly set us up for the day.
We look forward to returning in the spring...Thank you Aberdunant xx

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Wonderful experience, the guy on reception was exceptionally friendly, and the staff in general friendly and obliging. We'd got a discounted rate and a room upgrade so of course we thought it was excellent value for money. Boyfriend not keen on 'spooky old hotels' devoid of saunas and gyms but actually it was quite modern inside, a perfect mix of old and new. The food was reasonable, breakfast better than dinner. Huge, warm light room, lovely big bathroom really comfortable. Great location too, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AberdunantHall, General Manager at Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Thnak you for taking the time to review our business, we really appreciate your kind words

Aberdunant hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Under Lyme
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

We held our Wedding Reception there on the 20th November 2010 and we recommend Aberdunant with the highest confidence. We travelled with 28 other guests from Derbyshire and Staffordshire to have our reception at Aberdunant as the level of service, qaulity of food, accomodation and friendliness of the team behind the scenes are amazing.

My wife and I have stopped in some wonderful places throughout the world and I can easily say that Aberdunant Hall would be in our top 10! The place is surrounded by peaceful countryside and nestled in a lovely park. There are plenty of walks and the view from room 1 is truely breahtaking.

Some on here have commented that the hotel is located on a caravan park - this is true. However don't take this as a downside. You can hardly tell that they are there, and the park itself is beautiful.

All of our guests commented on how amazing the place is and are looking to go back to Aberdunant in 2011 to spend some more time in the area.

The hotel itself has been recently renovated and the bar and restaurant are very relaxing places to be. FREE Internet Access is a great bonus as we run our own businesses - you never escape work even with getting married! There are 9 nicely appointed rooms and we were fortunate to be able to take over the whole hotel for 2 nights. Therefore we have seen all of the rooms and they are very comfortable with some nice features such as roll-top baths in a few. Other rooms have whirlpool baths which some of our guests loved!

We stayed in room 1 which has the 4-poster bed which is massive! Everyone who popped in on the day of the wedding to help my bride get ready were all amazed at how nice it was. This room also had a large bathroom with his/her sinks.

Free toiletries were provided daily and the linen and towels were all very cleaned and fresh.

We woud recommend this venue to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

have just returned from a one night stay at this delightful hotel and wish we could have stayed longer. The staff were very helful and friendly showing us to the room and explaining where things were. The room was spacious and although simply furnished was more than adequate. only down side was it was a bit stuffy as window would only partly open. We had a delicious evening meal at a reasonable price and the breakfast was well presented with nothing being too much trouble. Would definitely like to go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

First impressions were that we had arived in the middle of a caravan park, as the hotel is surrounded by static caravans. The room we had though was quiet as it was situated at the back of the hotel. The beds were comfortable and breakfast was enoromus. General decoration in the bedroom was good however the corners of the bedrooms and next to the furniture where the vacuum cleanrer could not easily clean were dirty. Behind the bathroom door was very dirty. On first impressions it looked clean but the more you looked the worse it became. Air freshener had been liberally sprayed around and as the windows had been painted closed we could not get rid of the smell. In the top drawer of the bedside table we found an old room receipt from mid July.Towels very small, toiletries not replenished. Only one hard chair in the bedroom to sit on. Payment was requested in full for three nights before we had even seen the room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AberdunantHall, Owner at Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
Thank you for the review, we take all reviews and complaints seriously and we are sorry that you felt you had no alternative but to post a review on tripadvisor. Unfortunaltly we can only deal with problems at the time and had we been informed that the cleaner had missed behind the doors and you where unhappy with the cleaning in general we certainly would have sent her back. The window are not painted shut but we are an 18th Century building and they can be quite stiff , had you asked a member of staff I am sure they would have helped you open them. As for payment, You actually make payment for the room on laterooms when you confirm the booking, like most hotels we simply process the payment when you arrive. I am glad though that you liked our location in Snowdonia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Good value pleasant room with great views in fanatstic woodland location. Execellent breakfasts of large proportions and good value varied evening meals.
Hotel is centre spot in large woodland residential holiday home park. But it doesn't feel like a holiday park as the homes are well spread out and almost hidden in the tress. Several trails and walks through the woodland if you want to explore, we did and it was worth it. Great base for exploring this part of north Wales and only a short drive from Porthmadog and the incredible Port Meirion

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel

Address: Prenteg | Porthmadog, Prenteg LL49 9SR , Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Prenteg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Prenteg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aberdunant Hall Hotel is set in the Snowdonia National Park and within an upmarket static holiday home park. Perfectly situated, this Victorian Manor House and grounds has far reaching views of the Snowdonia mountains and is an ideal location to explore the whole of Snowdonia and the LLyn Peninsula and being within easy reach of the harbour town of Porthmadog (4 miles) and the market towns of Pwllheli and Criccieth.The world famous walking village of Beddgelert (Gelerts grave) is just 3 miles from Aberdunant Hall. The grounds offer nature trails through the woods and boast waterfalls, streams and rock features. From the hotel you will find a number of scenic walks ranging from gentle strolls to more adventurous hill walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.