We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel to your Saves list
Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Prenteg | Porthmadog, Prenteg LL49 9SR , Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Prenteg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This stay was chosen and booked for us by a family member, We stayed in the room with a four poster bed. Lovely room and the views were fantastic.

The well appointed bathroom had a very posh bath, and all the trimmings. ( no shower though)

Staff were very friendly and helpful, good selection of wine and a very nice real ale.
The food was exellent.
I want to go back.!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    47
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
71
138
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Have been back to the Aberdunant Hotel seven times now. On every occasion the experience has been of a friendly welcome, obliging service, comfortable room, fabulous breakfast. Would always choose a superior room, nothing wrong with the 'standard', but I like a bath and a little more space. A bargain every time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A nice place to come back to after a long day. Cute room and pleasant staff - would definitely make a return visit.

Some noise issues but don't let that put you off choosing to stay at this hotel; the pretty surroundings more than make up for it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband booked Aberdunant as a surprise break and at first i was a bit disappointed it wasn't by the beach. But, it couldn't have been prettier. Trees and widlife all around. Streams and waterfalls amid a spotless park. You can't see more than 5 caravans in any one place. The Pontins version of a clubhouse is a delightful hotel with outer patio. A posh caravan site, many owned and well kept. A good spot too, Porthmadog great and in nice weather Black Rock sands beach - drive on with a picnic. Our dog loved it all!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We hired a caravan through Hoseasons, they've always been okay not brilliant this time though.

The caravan was an economy van but having stayed in economy vans before we were disappointed.

It was dated and had seen better days,

Lovely area some fantastic scenery and walks and my two boys had a great time.

The site is well set out and the caravan we were in was situated atthe side of the green which made it great for the boys and there were a number of young families there.so lots of friends made and a few good games of football onthe green!!

The site is very quiet and that suited us, the restaurant was okay couldn't fault the food but got very busy and the staff did have a tendancy to forget about you. Most of the staff were lovely but unfortunately on the evening we ate there I think the waitress was having a bad day!!

If you do stay in the caravans here make sure you check with the site first regarding what they are putting you in, the accomodation really did let this park down.,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and myself were on our first holiday in Wales and needed accommodation near Snowdonia. How lucky that we chose Aberdunant! The park is immaculate,set in beautiful woodland. The caravans are extremely well spaced in most of the park, and our particular accommodation was in excellent order. The staff in reception were very friendly on arrival and we were supplied with a good information pack,including directions around the park (including walks around the park perimeter) and local contact numbers for hospitals etc.There was further information in our caravan, including details of the menus for the hotel restaurant in the park,offering a very reasonably priced and appealing menu. For those interested in walking and climbing holidays,it is well situated,with locations such as Betws-Y-Coed and Llanberis within 45 mins driving distance. Llanberis is the location of the Snowdonia Mountain railway and also the popular Llanberis trail up Mount Snowdon.The village of Portmerion(shown in the 1960's series The Prisoner) is only about 10 minutes away and is a delightful experience for sightseers. We only needed to contact maintence services once when the gas supply ran out and from our initial contact at 8.30 in the morning it was only about 15 mins before the supply was reinstated. The helpful young man also stopped to check that everything was up and running again. We loved the absolute peace and quiet that our surroundings provided and would happily return on another occasion to pursue further walking activities. Well done Aberdunant!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We arrived at the Park mid afternoon, Friday for a weekend break and were told we had been upgraded. Great, we thought, until we unpacked and sat down to relax, then to find that the caravan was a designated "pet" ie, dog, caravan and smelled accordingly. We told the people in the office about it and they tried to sort it out with a fresh air bomb, which did work for a while, but didn't remove altogether, too ingrained I expect.

The van itself was fairly basic, but did have all the usual pots/plates/cutlery etc. On Saturday, the lights tripped out, possibly due to rain, but we managed to put it right. Sunday saw very heavy rain, which got into the van in the main bedroom via a leaking window. Four adults were in a 6 berth van, but given that two of the bedrooms were twins which would only really sleep children, sleeping wasn't the best.

Food served in the Hotel was quite good, particularly the Sunday carvery.

Other than a small play are for kids, there are no other facilities outwith the hotel itself which has a bar and bistro/restaurant.

Room Tip: If money isn't an object, go for the top graded, non pet caravans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel

Address: Prenteg | Porthmadog, Prenteg LL49 9SR , Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Prenteg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Prenteg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aberdunant Hall Hotel is set in the Snowdonia National Park and within an upmarket static holiday home park. Perfectly situated, this Victorian Manor House and grounds has far reaching views of the Snowdonia mountains and is an ideal location to explore the whole of Snowdonia and the LLyn Peninsula and being within easy reach of the harbour town of Porthmadog (4 miles) and the market towns of Pwllheli and Criccieth.The world famous walking village of Beddgelert (Gelerts grave) is just 3 miles from Aberdunant Hall. The grounds offer nature trails through the woods and boast waterfalls, streams and rock features. From the hotel you will find a number of scenic walks ranging from gentle strolls to more adventurous hill walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.