We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Irish pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fionn MacCool's Irish Pub - Cross Iron

Fionn MacCool's Irish Pub - Cross Iron
261055 Crossiron Boulevard | Unit 518, Balzac, Alberta T4A 0G3, Canada
+1 403-514-6033
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Balzac
Restaurant details
Medicine Hat, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Irish pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were looking for a nice place to have supper in the mall. The store front drew us in and we had a very positive experience. The atmosphere, food, drinks, and service were all very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stopped for a late lunch, had the Stacked Reuban and Chicken Tikki Masala Boxty - both were great, very flavourful. Fries with Reuban were excellent. Portions were plenty. Staff were all very friendly and service was excellent overall. Atmosphere was great, music not overpowering so a relaxing lunch where we could visit and actually hear each other - always appreciated!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary alberta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“If you like Irish pubs , stay away from this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Unlike most Irish pubs the menu is very limited and has almost no Irish food listed. The food came out amazingly quick, a little to quick almost as if they might be using microwaves... The food was tasteless and pricey not what I've come to expect at an Irish pubs around calgary.

The service was decent but a bit quick to have us leave.

Don't waste your money stay away from this place. Go to the Boston pizza across the way.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT LAMB BURGERS”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Menu had oodles of items to chose from but when we saw they had the lamb burgers, we both decided to have them. They were excellent, although I was wondering where the stilton cheese was. The french fries, were not the usual ones and were also delicious. The meal was so large I could not finish it and took my half home for lunch the next day.

The only negative comment I have is that my friend sat there for over 15 minutes with an empty plate. Perhaps they were witing for me to finish, which I had, but was taking the leftovers home. I would have thought the waitress would have checked to see if we needed anything.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Overcooked fish.rips the gums.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

They had to take my order twice.just to make sure.so it took over 30 mins for food.then my fish sandwich was so overcooked it was ripping the roof of my mouth.i have eatin here 9 times in the past 3 months.i always eat the same thing.an i know fry fish.this was so wrong.our waitress was slow an dim.yes i said dim.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fionn MacCool's Irish Pub - Cross Iron also viewed

 
Balzac, Alberta
Airdrie, Alberta
 

Been to Fionn MacCool's Irish Pub - Cross Iron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fionn MacCool's Irish Pub - Cross Iron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.