We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a mall guy, but this one doesn't aggrivate me” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CrossIron Mills

CrossIron Mills
261055 CrossIron Blvd. | Rocky View, Balzac, Alberta T4A0G3, Canada
4039846800
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Balzac
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: CrossIron Mills -the first enclosed shopping centre to be built in Alberta in 20 years- is ideally situated only 1.5 km north of Calgary in Rocky View County, less than 10 minutes from the Calgary International Airport. The innovative 1.4 million-square-foot shopping centre is the largest single-level shopping centre in Alberta, with 17 large format anchors and more than 200 specialty stores and premium brand outlets as well as many largest-in-Alberta and first-in-Alberta retailers.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not a mall guy, but this one doesn't aggrivate me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I live fairly close to this mall, so it's where I go when I need some new clothes, or for my christmas buying duties on Dec 24th... I don't think of a mall as an "attraction" but as far as something to do on a less than ideal weather day, it's good. If I was spending a week in Calgary I wouldn't specifically go to the mall to see it though. It's a mall.

Pros:
- anchor stores like Bass Pro, Bed Bath and Beyond, Homesense, etc. offer something for both men and women
- reasonable layout means you don't need to spend forever finding the stores you want
- movie theater and games room if you want to really kill time

Cons:
- some of the worst mall food I've ever had... ate at various locations and had browning lettuce, bland food, not good! These are chain stores so I was expecting the same food as other chains, but unfortunately was disappointed.
- parking for movies can be a bit of a gong show, get there early because spots are gone quickly at the closest entrance

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    33
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Best discount shopping outside of calgary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This mall has everything you need. Food. Sales. Brand names. You definitely need a full day here and good walking shoes. I enjoy my days I spend here with my kids. They are 20 and 18. They love shopping here. Their girlfriends love it too. There is a huge winners as well which can keep you busy all day. It's the ultimate for a shopaholic.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Well Kept Mall with fashion outlet stores”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stopped at this mall on a recent trip to Calgary with my mom, sister and baby niece. Located to the North outside Calgary proper. We went on a saturday in early February and I was suprised that while the mall was busy, it didn't feel too crowded. Parking lot is spacious and it was easy to find a spot. Mall looks relatively new and is well kept and clean. Washrooms have newer looking fixtures and the one I used was spotless. Lots of interesting looking artwork around the facility and the children's play area has a dinosaur theme. There are a few places to stop for coffee including a Starbucks. Selection of stores is a good mix with a blend of lower priced shops and mid-range fashion brands like BCBG, Below the Belt, Coach, Guess, Town shoes and others. Several of the stores are outlet locations, so if you have a good eye, deals can be found.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Mall I've Seen So Far in Alberta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

this place is much, much better than the biggest (West Edmonton Mall) - better layout, better shops and more variety and a better feel. its more of an outlet mall though with branded shopping at good deals. the mall is very well planned from parking to getting around it and its food and beverage facilities. because of its size and spread, be prepared to WALK. a must visit is the bass pro shop as it doubles as a jungle theme park as well. if you are a shopaholic, this is one place you should make a point to visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Mall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Love going here for shopping. Load of outlet stores and places to rest and have a coffee.

If you have lots to buy and eat, go.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CrossIron Mills also viewed

 

Been to CrossIron Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CrossIron Mills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.