We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top food, Top Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Front Room

The Front Room
42 Tutere Street | Waikanae Beach, Waikanae, New Zealand
(04) 905 4142
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 16 Restaurants in Waikanae
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Central European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Kiwi
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Top food, Top Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We were taken by friends to check out the restaurant before booking for a group later in the week. There was a long wait before the food arrived but it was very good when it did. The service staff obviously had no training, reaching a cross the table to serve, pour wine etc and it was very noisy, needs some noise absorbing curtains etc. But gasp, horror, when I went to pay my half of the bill. I thought the charge was for the whole bill not half of it. Wellington prices but not Wellington standard.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    28
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Waikanae find - not just for rich old people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Had a meal that would be the equal of the top 5 restaurants in Welllington city in food and service. As we arrived at 7:30pm, it seemed the rich oldies of Waikanae had finished their meals and we had the place almost to ourselves. Try the crispy pork belly entree and the ginger pudding thing - yum. Even my hard to pelase mother enjoyed this meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikanae, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“TOP COFFEE/MUFFINS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stopped for a coffee and muffins were just out of the oven!! Absolutely the best muffins in Kapiti. Great coffee and welcoming friendly staff :o)

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We visited this restaurant on Sunday 9th March. It was forty minutes before we asked where our meals were. When they did turn up one of them was cold, so we sent that back. After around 15 minutes we asked where it was to be told 'not long'. A further 10 minutes or so, we told them our Mother didn't want the food, especially given we had finished our meals. So we said please cancel and can we have a couple of muffins instead. That then took another 15 minutes to arrive, despite being counter food. The water we asked for never arrived.
On leaving we advised them of what had happened, but no-one was interested. Only the waitress was happy to apologise even though an owner was standing there - and said nothing.
If they had come to us and said there was a wait period and then addressed the cold food immediately, we would have felt a bit better about it all. This is probably the worse service we have experienced in a long time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Good food, quite expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had dinner here on a warm evening and ate in the garden, which was very pleasant. The restaurant is on a road running below a wooded ridge that blocks off the view of the beach so you will not see the sun setting over the sea and Kapiti Island unless (as I did) you walk over the ridge at the appropriate time. The food here was good but a tad expensive, service was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Front Room also viewed

Waikanae, Kapiti Coast
Waikanae, Kapiti Coast
 
Waikanae, Kapiti Coast
 

Been to The Front Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Front Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.