We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST MEMORABLE FAMILY VACATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites to your Saves list
Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites
1963 Route 35 North, Ortley Beach, NJ 08751   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ortley Beach
West Caldwell, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BEST MEMORABLE FAMILY VACATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Our family has been going to the Starlight for many years, even before we had kids. My kids love it and can't wait to go back every year. We met many famiies that have become our friends and look forward to seeing them every year. It is the perfect location especially having children. It's a block away from beach, an arcade right across the street and close to the boardwalk and restaurants. The rooms are very clean and well kept. My kids don't want to go anywhere else not even Disney. We have had nothing but good times and wonderful memories.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    27
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
76
13
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morris Plains
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Rooms are clean and comfortable with a good location and family atmosphere.

Room Tip: Standard by Type
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Caldwell, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

What a beautiful, modern motel. It has everything you would want in one convenient location. The pool and lounges are so clean and well-maintained. The beach is right up the block. The boardwalk, restaurants, and arcade are all in walking distance, which is fantastic.

Room Tip: Stay at the apartments. Large and airy.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Vacation was delightful thanks to accomodations , staff ,location & quality of motel.
Plans to repeat vacation again this summer .

Room Tip: All rooms were fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
point
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

I have been staying at the Startlight Motel for many years. each year we go back we love it more and more. The motel and grounds are so beautiful, and the staff is top of the line. Everyone that works there is so pleasant and helpful. Michele who is the manager there has grown up in the area, so she knows every great place to eat! I can't even think of staying anywere else. The rooms are so clean and updated. Between the rooms and the staff, we feel like we are at a five star hotel! If you are heading to the Jersey Shore there is only one place to stay it is the Starlight Motel and Luxury Suites.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

My kids grew up going to this wonderful place every single year for 15 years. We have a group of 10-15 families taht go down every summer, and we have a ball. The staff are great and helpful. Many new improvements have been made to the physical plant over these years, including new ly renovated rooms.

Family friendly atmosphere and we all help keep the peace and work together. There are rarely any complaints and if there are any they are resolved!! The Tomanelli/Dibattista Family LOVE the Starlight!! Especially, Michelle and Ron, part of the staff that we look forward to seeing every year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarlightHotel, Owner at Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We certainly look forward to seeing all of you each summer and hope we will see each other for another 15 memorable years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Bush, NY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

My family and extended family has been going to the Starlight for over 20 years. We used to rent an apartment down the street, but the kids wanted a swimming pool and the parents wanted air conditioning & maid service. So we gave Starlight a try and have never gone anywhere else. The staff is amazing. Over the years we have gotten to know them well & they know us, too. They are always there with a kind word or offer to help. 5 years ago I was diagnosed with breast cancer. We had sent in our nonrefundable deposit for the first week of August, but my mastectomy was scheduled for Aug 3rd. Michelle at the front desk cried with me, gave me my refund and wrote a personal note to cheer me up. I truly appreciated her kind gesture. On a lighter note, my kids love the Starlight! The pool is amazing--always clean! Right across the street is Barnacle Bills, which is a mini golf, snack bar, ice cream & arcade! My son likes the foot long hot dogs. It is not vacation unless he gets it! The Starlight is only 1 block from the beach. We usually walk to the beach, but if you want to drive, there is a parking lot. The beach in not too crowded (like Seaside) and it mostly families there (not crazy teenagers like Seaside). I just can't say enough about our experiences at the Starlight over the years. I have recommended it to many friends and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarlightHotel, Owner at Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Wow! What a review. Thank you so much for the kind words. But most impotantly, we enjoy seeing you and your family year after year and are thankful that the years have gone by! Hopefully another 21 together. See you in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites

Address: 1963 Route 35 North, Ortley Beach, NJ 08751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ortley Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ortley Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starlight has been and continues to be the ideal spot for a perfect New Jersey Shore family vacation, reunion, or weekend retreat. We take great pride in our impeccable reputation for cleanliness, hospitality, and attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlight Motel & Luxury Hotel Ortley Beach
Starlight Motel And Luxury Suites
Starlight Hotel Apartments
Starlight Hotel Toms River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.