We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food to long of a wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rockafellas

Rockafellas
1855 Route 35 North, Ortley Beach, NJ
17327932400
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Lee, MA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food to long of a wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Dont be in a hurry or starving if you go here. GREAT fresh food made to order BUT when the kitchen gets backed up as it did this night. They open at 5 we arrived at 6 and it took 3 LONG hours to complete the meal (only 2 of us)..Due to this i will not return..The food is great but not that great..Also sit outside unless you want to be squished inside close to other dinners.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ny
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good service and presentation of food, but they should pay attention to taste”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

They have interesting appetizer specials, but do not suggest the nontraditional dishes, as flavors to not go together. This is second tme i noted this. Had veal entree, which had absolutely no flavor after they overcooked deep frying it.
Given prices and experience, i will try my luck elsewhere in the future.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just Beachy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Great outdoor dining experience. Good food; accommodating staff and wonderful ocean breeze. A lovely, first class meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Great Outdoor Atmosphere at The Jersey Shore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I went here with friends who were visiting, and it was a fabulous evening. The outdoor seating is perfect for a summer evening and the food was excellent. Support the shore!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Jersey Shore MUST!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

My family & I have been going to this restaurant since it opened in 1997.
It is a fantastic restaurant & is very efficiently run by the Palermo family. They are always happy to see you & know most regulars by their first name.
This restaurant is sooo good that we were very worried they might not open again after Hurricane Sandy because it was extremely damaged by the storm. However, after a hiatus, the restaurant reopened with all new furnishings.
The food is as wonderful as ever & it's a BYOB. They do not accept reservations so you'll have to wait your turn, but it's truly worth it! The hostess will be happy to give you a wine glass to enjoy your wine while you wait.
They have indoor & outdoor seating.
Hope to see you there. We go every weekend!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockafellas also viewed

 

Been to Rockafellas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockafellas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.