We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beachfront - Late Summer, Fall Special $1275

The Dune Deck
The Dune Deck
The Dune Deck
Dining Area
The Kitchen and Breakfast Bar
The Great Room
One of the Master Suites
North Palmetto Point
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mtcspike
Chester Springs, PA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Won-der-ful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Boy oh boy. Great house (yes really!). We loved it, the location was great, quiet but not too far from anything and the views! It was the kind of place I would leave for guests. So often you stay in places where it's bare bones, not here. Holly and Jim were a pleasure to deal with and had great tips. We twice had dinner at the little market that Holly recommended (didn't think we'd need to or we would have asked Doyle's wife Ada). We asked what was still open and the super-nice lady made us grouper and salad - Deelish! Speaking of Doyle- great guy. We rented a little SUV from him that conked out. I called to tell him right then (we were going out to dinner) and without being asked he had a replacement car in the driveway in less than 10 minutes! Loved, loved, loved the people of Eleuthera! We really didn't need to bring any food, and the only 1/2bad experience we had was Tippy's Restaurant. On the other hand; be sure and spend time at the Sky Beach Club Bistro - excellent spot! The beaches are excellent and it's really cool to have the super calm Caribbean and the rough and tumble Atlantic both available. We can't wait to go back to Eleuthera!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Jeez, all was great. Holly and Jim were great and Doyle is a prince among men. : )
Liked least: That we only had a week
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Donna M
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A True Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a week's stay in this home located on the island of Eleuthra in North Palmetto Point. My husband and I, along with our 16 year old and a 10 year old truly had a fun and enjoyable time, walking the beach, snorkelling and exploring the island. The area is quite remote and without any large resorts on the island, feels somewhat untouched. It is very quiet and for someone with a busy life and demanding job, it was a place to get away from it all and relax. We pretty much had the beach to ourselves, only meeting one other couple on the beach, 4 days after we arrived. The house was lovely and comfortable and we could not have asked for better hosts, who made sure the fridge was stocked with the essentials when we arrived and who also made reservations for us at a local favourite restaurant our first night. We went in search of other beaches around the island, and it became a laugh as everytime we asked for directions it was always "3 miles up the road". When we did come across the beaches, the beauty was unmatched and again we saw very few people. This was truly a memorable and adventuous vacation for my family and we hope to return. Just a note that driving is on the left hand side.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The remoteness and quietness of this location.
Liked least: Limited in car rental choices.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
hammylu
NJ
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
gbs72
Arlington,Va.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Slice of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

For two stressed out individuals from the frigid big city, Waters Edge was exactly what we were looking for; a quiet, ocean front slice of heaven. (We were there Dec.16-23). Tucked away just off a sandy, one lane road, Waters Edge is a stone's throw from a stunning overlook of the Atlantic Ocean and a dozen steps above a beautiful, long stretch of beach. During our week, there were so few people along the water that we sometimes wondered why they were on "our" beach. We made coffee each morning and sat on the deck overlooking the water or sauntered down to the sand to hunt for for shells and coconuts.
Jim and Holly - who we've never met yet through email exchanges feel like we've known for years - have a lovely home. Two bedrooms, each with a full bathroom, and a nice, comfortable living room/kitchen in the middle that's great for hanging out. Their caretakers, Doyle and Aida, are exceptional and can arrange everything from airport pickups and car rentals to cooking meals and bringing in supplies. (We recommend Kalik beer).
If you like to cook, as we do, the kitchen is well equipped. There's a new Weber gas grill on the rear deck - which overlooks a large pond inhabitated by Herons and other birds. The back deck provides a nice backdrop for stunning sunsets. At Holly's suggestion, we brought some frozen meat and grilled several meals, picking up produce and bread at the nearby Island Market.
We day tripped to several stunning beaches. We saw virtually no one, so several of the beaches seemed more postcard quality than real. The locals and island visitors we did meet were friendly and relaxed. Restaurants? We enjoyed going to Mate and Jenny's in nearby Palmetto and Tippy's and the Beach House in Governor's Harbour, a 15-minute drive from Waters Edged. The Friday night Fish Fry in Governor's Harbour is a MUST. Just stay away from the Rum Bumbas.

We will definitely come back, and no one would have to twist our arms to stay an additional week. Waters Edge was great for us, a solo couple, but would suffice nicely for two couples or a family.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: proximity to the beach, general condition and amenities of the home
Liked least: Satellite TV did not have ABC/NBC/CBS access
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Megan559
Buffalo, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Beach House on a Gorgeous Stretch of Pink Sand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
3
people found this review helpful

I can’t say enough of what a delightful Beach home this is. We have 3 children (ages 11, 9, and 6) and it couldn’t have been more perfect. This is our second trip to Eleuthera; we are partial to North Palmetto Point where this home is located. North Palmetto Point puts you just where you want to be on the island. You are close to so many of the other beaches for morning or afternoon trips and can easily come back to the house. You have an amazing stretch of beach right at the house you don’t even really need to leave. There is wonderful snorkeling right off the beach at the house. You are close to restaurants and grocery stores. Governor’s Harbor is about 15 min. and Rock sound is about 40 min. Both have larger grocery stores. But you have a nice convenience store right in North Palmetto point for little things like milk and eggs. There is a sandy path to the beach from the house. There is a barely traveled sandy road nice for walking or jogging in the morning. The house is so nice! It is beautifully decorated and not cluttered with unattractive dusty beach décor. You actually want to hang out in the house or on the great porch. It is cozy and inviting. It has all the conveniences of home. The kitchen is set up with anything you could need, many different utensils, a nice coffee maker, and a great set of knives and nicely organized. The washer and dryer are just like you would have at home. There is a new gas grill for grilling. It is a major plus that the owner had things like soap, shampoo, laundry detergent and spices. Doyle and Ada the house caretakers are delightful and so helpful with anything you need or questions you have. The outdoor shower is great for kids to get off all that sand before you enter the house. The inside showers are quite large and nice as well. This is clearly a house that the owners take pride in and come to spend time themselves. I would definitely stay here again!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The house was really nice and modern with conviences and the accesibility to a great beach
Liked least: The porch set of furniture is so high quality the chairs were heavier to move.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Geoffrey...
Denton, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation - Water's Edge Villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012 for a stay in August 2010
2
people found this review helpful

This is in response to the post from Elsn E concerning Waters Edge Villa in Eleuthera. First of all, as a disclaimer, we have visited several islands and stayed at homes and other properties throughout the Caribbean. My wife and I first visited Waters Edge Villa in April 2010. We enjoyed not only the beautiful island of Eleuthera but also Waters Edge. In fact, because of our wonderful trip in April, we rented Waters Edge again in August 2010 and brought our 14 year old grandson. He had a blast and we all enjoyed snorkeling the beach in front of Waters Edge and visiting the numerous other beaches in Eleuthera. The best testimonial I can give is that we have already booked Waters Edge Villa for 8 nights in May 2012. This will be our 4th trip to Eleuthera in two years and our 3rd stay at Waters Edge.
We have always contacted the owners with our request to stay Waters Edge and they have been very helpful and accommodating. They have addressed all our questions and needs. Doyle and Ada, the property managers, were terrific and were also available to answer any questions while we were on Eleuthera. Waters Edge Villa is located on one of the best beaches in the Bahamas. Often times we were the only folks on the beach. The house itself was more than we could ask for. The family room and the bedrooms opened up to a view of the Atlantic. The kitchen was well equipped and a great area to make meals. The deck above the dune was a perfect location to enjoy your favorite rum drink and pass the day. It was also an excellent location to view the stars at night.
Our experience at Waters Edge Villa has always been wonderful and memorable. We would definitely recommend Waters Edge Villa to others.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$200
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
James W
8472729725
Speaks English
Listed since : Sep 2009
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 9 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing