We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle at Birch Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sandcastle at Birch Bay to your Saves list
Sandcastle at Birch Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7854 Birch Bay Drive, Birch Bay, WA 98230   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birch Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We recently stayed here for a week and enjoyed the resort. The beds were comfortable. Be aware that there is no air conditioning in the rooms but 3 large box fans were provided which we kept going the entire time. Most of the time we were very comfortable. The staff removes garbage daily and will replace towels as requested. The linens on the beds were changed mid-week which was fine with us. Several restaurants are close by and easily walked to. Birch Bay is a good place to use as a base for the many activities available in the area. Vancouver is a short drive to the north. We took the ferry from Vancouver to Vancouver Island. Seattle is a 2 hour scenic drive to the south. We also visited a fair in Ferndale, Rosario Beach and Deception Pass, Orca whale watching from Anacortes, Semiahoo Point and Seattle. The Space Needle and Chihuly Glass Exhibit in Seattle were both great. We took an excellent food tour of Pike Place Market while in Seattle.

Be aware that Seattle traffic is very congested but drivers in Washington are courteous and obey the traffic laws. Refreshingly, I saw only one person talking on a cell phone during our drives and they were from out of state. Washington bans hand held cell phone use by the driver while driving.
Wifi in our room was good but the room our friends were in did not have good Wifi service. If Wifi is important to you, ask to be put in a room with better service. The view from our room was ok. We could see the pool below and a portion of the bay. An activity center on the 5th floor has a good, full view of the bay and comfortable seating. It was interesting to see the tide come in and out every day. Walking in the bay after the tide went out was a common activity for families. The sunsets last forever and the sun can be quite glaring near sunset. Loved the area, will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with better wifi coverage if that is important to you. I asked and they accomodated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy L, General Manager at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Wow,it sounds like you had a fun filled vacation and took advantage of all the fun things to do here and in the surrounding areas! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to be here at such a beautiful time of the year. One thing for sure you cannot beat watching the sunset from the 5th floor deck !! It is amazing and something that should be taken advantage of by everyone who comes to stay with us . Hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    38
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chimacum, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had a great time. The place was clean and busy. For having a full house everyone working there was great. You could tell they were working hard but kept a good attitude the whole time. Only had one issue and Bill the repair man was there in a minutes. Even though it was an issue I made he was VERY good about it -- THANK YOU BILL!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We are RCI members and traded into this resort as we wanted to visit Washington and Oregon. We drove and were very pleased when we arrived at this beautiful resort right on the banks of Birch Bay. Check in was a breeze, the lady on the desk got us a water facing suite which was huge, very comfortable and came with everything we needed. We did lots of travelling during our week and it was great to be able to return each night to this home away from home. The pool was heated, which was great as the weather was exactly tropical. The spa was nice as well. They have roof top grills available for use, as well as roof top seats that were great for watching the sunsets and taking pictures of the fantastic views.
They offer towel and basic cleaning service every day which was nice and they did everything to make our stay a pleasure. Yes, some of the furniture was a bit dated, but who cares when you are only there for a week. Everything worked well, and we even got our own router when our 13yo needed a more powerful wifi signal.

Room Tip: Ask for a water facing room. They are all great. The 5th floor rooms would be even better as you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genève, Suisse
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We spent a week in May in a three-bedroom condo.

Apartment: We had a very big apartment on the 4th floor but there was a lot of wasted space. Furniture (especially the sitting room) looked very dated and we hated it. But the kitchen was modern with good appliances and the laundry room was spacious. They DO NOT clean the place every day but change towels, trash bags and make beds, which is nice. It was clean and there was lots of storage. Both bathrooms are similar. We had two balconies: one with a view on the sea and one with a view on the abandoned golf course. We never managed to work the fireplace, asked for assistance which never came! Free WIFI.

Staff: the young man who was there most of the time during our stay was nice but no help at all. Chek-in, check-out were easy.

A major drawback is the lack of insulation. You can hear all your neighbors! There is also a lot of noise (and smells of grease) from the bar/restaurant.

There is not much to do in the area unless you drive for long. We chose this timeshare in order to visit Vancouver and could easily do it in one day. Otherwise we went to Lynden (nice little town), Mount Baker (nothing outstanding!), Chuckanut Drive (don’t miss the Oyster Bar - excellent restaurant) and shopped at Bellingham.

Of the three timeshares we stayed in during our May holidays, Sandcastle is the only one we would not go back to but if you plan a visit to Vancouver and cannot find a timeshare closer this one will do.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy L, General Manager at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We are upset to hear you did not enjoy your stay . We have available to all guests,maps and brochures of various things to do in the area. I would hope if you come back to the area you would give us another chance and let us help you plan activities to do while in the area so we can make your trip more enjoyable. As we are a timeshare you are correct in the fact that we do not clean daily but we do offer towel and garbage service and replace the amenities every day.Additional cleaning is available if prearranged with the front desk. Once again , we hope you will decide to give us another try if your ever in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton,KS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We traveled here for my Dad's 60th birthday. The rooms were nice and spacious. Only down fall was there was no housekeeping available besides trash removal. The staff was helpful finding the grocery store and leading us to great ideas for places to eat and things to do. The best part was the tide coming in and out of the bay. The 20-somethings might be a little bored by this slow pace, but it was perfect for a family wanting to spend time together and really enjoy each other. No spa when we were there, but we found plenty to do. The best activity, besides building sand castles, was a hike we took to some near by waterfalls (about 30 min away).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at this motel for a week and it was very enjoyable. The check-in people were very helpful, especially Jeanne. It was a central location to branch out to other towns, cities and places to see. The rooms were large and nicely furnished. They cleaned the rooms every day. Restaurants were close by.
The only complaint was the free Wifi signal was very faint. I had to be in a certain place to get a siganl.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy L, General Manager at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay ! I wanted to let you know that we are looking into our options for increasing our Wifi signal as we know it can be spotty and hope for a resolution soon. Hope you come see us again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We recently stayed at Raintree’s Sandcastle at Birch Bay for a week on an RCI exchange. We had a great condo on the third floor on the side facing the pool. This unit had a different layout and had a more spacious living area but the master bedroom was smaller.

Once again, as in another resort we stayed at the dishwasher in our unit did not work. This time we had to report it and spend the time for someone to come into our unit to replace it. I can’t figure out whether other people that have stayed in that unit have never reported that it did not work. When we did report it someone came soon after to check it out.

I always cook when we have a condo – when you have an amazing view, it is a bonus. Enjoyed our morning coffee and evening glass of wine or martini looking at the ocean.

Costco, Cost Cutter and Hagen’s are great places to do your grocery shopping. It is so great to get wine without having to remortgage when in the US – Riteaide has great prices for wine. Still have not made it to Trader Joe’s.

We always bring our own food staples from home when we travel by car. We also bring wine, martini glasses, martini shaker etc. – I believe a law has been passed that you should not drink wine from a tiny glass!!

Remember not to bring veggies or fruit in if you are entering from Canada – we made the mistake of bringing in tomatoes that were from the States and customs made us go in to verify this – a real waste of time.

It is so great to have a washer and dryer in the unit and have a safe to store your passport etc.

As usual, the staff was great and very helpful. We always enjoy our visits to this resort. We love the fact that the resort is so close to home – check out was at 10 am and we were back in our own home an hour later.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy L, General Manager at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We are so glad to hear you had another great stay! Sorry you had trouble with the dishwasher but I am glad we were able to replace it for you and get you up and running again. We look forward to you coming to visit again and hopefully making it to Trader Joes as it is a fun place to shop. Hope to see you here at the Sandcastle soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birch Bay
0.1 mi away
Worldmark Birch Bay
Worldmark Birch Bay
#2 of 3 in Blaine
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ocean Promenade Hotel
Ocean Promenade Hotel
#1 of 2 in White Rock
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#12 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa
16.4 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#10 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
18.0 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#5 of 26 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle at Birch Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle at Birch Bay

Address: 7854 Birch Bay Drive, Birch Bay, WA 98230
Location: United States > Washington > Birch Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birch Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandcastle at Birch Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandcastle at Birch Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle At Birch Bay Hotel Blaine
Sandcastle Birch Bay
Sandcastle At Birch Bay Blaine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle at Birch Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.