We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great vacation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle at Birch Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sandcastle at Birch Bay to your Saves list
Sandcastle at Birch Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7854 Birch Bay Drive, Birch Bay, WA 98230   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birch Bay
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A great vacation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We spent two weeks at the Sandcastle in September. We were very pleased that we chose to stay there. The room, although only a one bedroomed apartment was comfortably large. We were even able to store our bicycles without them being in the way. Although the furniture looked a bit dated, it was obviously of a good quality. The whole apartment was well equipped and really was a "home from home." Initially we were disappointed that we didn't have a sea view, but we appreciated looking out over the abandoned golf course and we had some lovely misty mornings to look at whilst enjoying our coffee on the balcony.

We had a problem with the dishwasher, we reported it to the front desk and the issue was sorted out immediately. Overall, the reception staff were really helpful, even to the point of arranging a couple of tools to sort of problem out I had with my bicycle.

We really enjoyed taking a drink button the roof and watching the sunset over Birch Bay! Although a quiet area, the closeness of the Interstate makes visiting the San Juan islands, Mount Baker and the Northern Cascades National Park practical for a day out. For a rainy day, Seattle can be reached in a couple of hours.

I hope we have the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy L, General Manager at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! No matter what the season Birch-Bay is a great place to relax and take in the many sights . Hopefully while you were here you were able to take in some of the hiking and bike trails as it sounds you had come prepared. We hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    33
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This complex is a time share, but you can book without being a time share owner. I have stayed here a number of times, but most recently with 3 friends for our annual Ladies Weekend. It was a perfect base for our shopping in Washington State, being less than 30 minutes to the Bellingham/Fairhaven shopping, and less than one hour to the Outlets south on I-5. The unit we had was a spacious 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom, full kitchen, well equiped living area, king size beds, and a beautiful view of the ocean from our patio. While we didn't visit the outdoor pool and jacuzzi this time, we usually do.

Room Tip: A room with the ocean view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We are staying here through a Time Share exchange program, but you can rent here too.
Great condos. We are in a 2 bedroom condo - a family can live here full time. It's very clean and well kept up. Full size kitchen that is fully stocked. Fireplace in the living room. Within driving distance to Mt Baker ( beautiful scenery!) Close to Bellinham and Lynden,and Vancouver ( went there twice already - easy ride), and located right on the water . Plenty of restaurants nearby. There is a heated pool on site - and while we are not using it, there are people enjoying it each day.

Room Tip: water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great welcome from front desk upon arrival. We had a two bedroom unit. Our stay was to use as a base for day trips on our motorcycle so did not "use" beach, pool etc etc....
Hallway rugs are a little stained. Mattress was a little tired. Apart from that the room was great.Really nice full sized kitchen appliances, granite counter tops, fireplace and tv.
Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with beach view have best location....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy L, General Manager at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the weather stayed nice long enough for your Bike trip! We wanted to let you know that we are working to replace the hallway flooring as we know they are in need of attention after a very active summer . We are Thankful for your comments and will continue to work to provide the best experience possible for you and all of our guests! Thank you and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a lovely 3 bedroom, 3 bath unit looking right onto the bay. Very clean and well appointed. Birch Bay itself cannot be considered a "destination", but Semiahmoo's spa is lovely to visit and Fairhaven and Bellingham are close by. We were extremely lucky to have beautiful sunsets to view and from the 5th floor spaces, lovely views of Mount Baker! Daily maid service is quite a perk also!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy L, General Manager at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! The Sunrise and Sunsets in this area cannot be beat! We are glad you got to experience the quaint town of Fairhaven and were able to enjoy a spa day as well . For your next stay ask us about the Whale watching tours and other events that are available in the area. Hope to see you soon! Thank you , Stacy L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

What a pleasant surprise!! We weren't expecting such nice lodging in the quite that is Birch Bay. We were there in the off season (Late September - early October) but would consider coming back in the summer. And would look forward to having the kids and grand kids sharing a unit. The staff was efficient and prompt with any request we had. We look forward to staying there again. The value is great compared to the chain hotels along the interstate and the view is outstanding, even through the rain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy L, General Manager at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We are so glad we were able to Surprise you ! Summer in Birch-Bay is a wonderful time and you and your family will enjoy all the added activities for that time of year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compton, MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a week at the end of August with son, his wife, and their 2 young children. The staff was outstanding for their 24-hour helpfulness and friendliness. Our 3 bedroom was immaculate, roomy, comfortably furnished, with a large deck overlooking the bay and spectacular sunsets. Although our bedroom overlooked the pool and the resort was supposedly full, the pool quiet hours allowed us to sleep without any noise. In fact, overall the place was very quiet. All the TV's and kitchen appliances worked great, and we were even able to stream Netflix movies from our laptop to the LR TV. The location was about a 10 minute drive to Blaine, WA, which is on the border with Canada. There were a couple of nice parks, shopping, and a beautiful marina there. Right across the street from our hotel, we all loved learning to dig for clams and hiking on the empty bay when the tide went out what seemed like 1/2 mile each day. We also took a drive to see Mt. Baker from Artist's Point. Spectacular, and a short (1 1/2 hour or less) drive. The positives far outweighed the negatives, but here is what I didn't like: an ugly power line wrecked the sunset view, so all great sunset pics had to be taken from the shore vs. balcony; nearest good playground and good shopping was in Lynden, WA, about a 20 minute drive. More positives: good walking from hotel, safe area, good bar attached to resort restaurant, rental place for kayaks, etc., next to hotel, free wireless.

Room Tip: Previous reviewer said the rooms facing the golf course are quieter, but there is no golf course (ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy L, General Manager at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandcastle at Birch Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle at Birch Bay

Address: 7854 Birch Bay Drive, Birch Bay, WA 98230
Location: United States > Washington > Birch Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birch Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandcastle at Birch Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandcastle at Birch Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle At Birch Bay Hotel Blaine
Sandcastle Birch Bay
Sandcastle At Birch Bay Blaine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle at Birch Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.