We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle at Birch Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sandcastle at Birch Bay to your Saves list
Sandcastle at Birch Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7854 Birch Bay Drive, Birch Bay, WA 98230   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birch Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
194 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Pleasant and Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The 1st thing I noticed about the Sandcastle was that the outside of the building was very dated. That's actually ok with me as long as it is well maintained.....and it was. My husband and I spent a lovely week there.

The room was CLEAN, roomy and comfortable. Initially, I was a bit disappointed we were not assigned a room that faced the bay. There were obviously many available at the time. However, I soon realized that our view of the meadow to the back of the property afforded us much more privacy, reduced noise, and was beautiful and peaceful. It was green and wooded, with a sprawling lake and walking trails. One morning I looked out and saw eagles playing there. I was very pleased with our accomodations. Oh yes, the bed was comfy too!

The only things I wasn't absolutely thrilled with were:
* a big stain on the hall carpet outside our room
* neighbors that partied very loudly all night for one night
* large gap under door to hallway allowing it to sound like the neighbors were in the room with us.

I would not hesitate to stay at the Sandcastle on my next trip to Birchbay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

What a delightful treasure we found at the Sandcastle at Birch Bay. We made a last minute decision to go away for a night and found this wonderful resort. The room was amazing, more than we expected and the price was very reasonable. Our room had a view of the water and we were lucky enough to view a wonderful sunset. If I had to find something that wasn't quite up to par it would be on the kitchen floor there was what appeared to be some egg yolk that hadn't been cleaned up.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiveakids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sandcastle Resort at Birch Bay when we ran the Birch Bay Half Marathon in February. The room was amazing, with a full kitchen that we did not expect to have (we could have known that there was a full kitchen if we had done more research before going). The room was great, and priced at a great value. We were looking for convenience in getting to the start line, and were not disappointed, as we only had to drive about ten minutes to get to the start line in Birch Bay State Park. Also, the room was incredibly clean, and had all of the kitchen utensils we needed to prepare our own food (we are both vegetarian athletes, so when we travel to places a bit off the radar, we typically bring our own food).

The property is also beautifully situated right on Birch Bay, which afforded great views. We had a private balcony that looked over a parking lot directly, but had views of the ocean if you strained your neck hard enough. We couldn't complain, though. We had an absolutely wonderful time, and if we opt to run the Birch Bay race again next year, we'll no doubt stay at the Sandcastle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We've been staying at The Sandcastle in Birch Bay on a regular basis since it opened. After doing the math we realized it is a better alternative to buying a seaside cottage. And as a bonus, our vacation time is free of all the maintenance chores which come with a cottage.

The Sandcastle has well maintained units with full size kitchens for practical family use. TV’s with DVD players are good for movies and music CD’s. Balconies have either ocean or golf club views. The furniture is stylish, comfortable and rugged. There is a heated pool and hot tub for all year use; A workout room with decent equipment; Family movie nights; And a rooftop games room with a deck and two grills ( a great place to meet fellow travellers) . All in all it is a great place to visit and relax.

The staff work hard to keep the place clean and in shape. However, you must realize that this is a popular seaside resort, with families constantly trudging through the hallways after days playing on the tidal flats. No carpeting can keep up, regardless of the cleaning. This also applies to the furniture. We groaned when we saw the first scratches and pot marks on the tables. That is the tough part of not having exclusive ownership. But the convenience is a good trade off.

We can check in for a few days, enjoy the oceanside, build a fire, exercise in the pool, explore the local farms and markets, wine and dine in style in our unit, (visit a casino & nearby outlets for a few hours). And never have to pick up a hammer or bucket of paint!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the back are the quietest and get morning sun. The front is noisier because of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin-Noden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a perfect location, we wanted to get away from it all. We arrived in sun and warmth. To see Mt Baker in the distance from your room and balcony was wonderful. We made full use of the pool, having an adult only time really suited us. From the moment we arrived it felt like a home away from home. It was hard to leave even in the rain! Staff were great, rooms were serviced every day which was refreshing. You are right on the beach, what more do you need.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view you also get the noise from the pool. We had a view to the back, which meant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter_Dawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I rated this property slightly lower because of one primary thing. More care needs to be taken with the cleaning. The carpets in the public areas are in desperate need of a thorough cleaning. The lobby belies the cleanliness of the rest of the property.

The staff are very friendly and willing to help.

The location is superb. You have unobstructed views of the ocean from the rooms at the front of the building. Even the back views are OK if you enjoy grass and trees. You are literally across the road from the ocean.

The pictures on their website are true renditions of the rooms. They are well equipped and suitable for a family.

Be advised that they don't have air conditioning as they are so close to the water.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SageGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Location. Location. Location. We stayed here for a week in March. Wonderful property and staff. Friendly, helpful and there for the guests. We were in a large three bedroom, three bathroom unit with a view of the bay. Being off season we were pleasantly surprised with 5 days of sun for out walks. Lots of good restaurants close by with large menus including fish and chips, clam chowder and fresh fish selections.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rainbows4Sale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birch Bay
0.1 mi away
Worldmark Birch Bay
Worldmark Birch Bay
#2 of 3 in Blaine
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ocean Promenade Hotel
Ocean Promenade Hotel
#1 of 2 in White Rock
3.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#14 of 27 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#10 of 27 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
15.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
14.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle at Birch Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle at Birch Bay

Address: 7854 Birch Bay Drive, Birch Bay, WA 98230
Location: United States > Washington > Birch Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birch Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandcastle at Birch Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sandcastle at Birch Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle At Birch Bay Hotel Blaine
Sandcastle Birch Bay
Sandcastle At Birch Bay Blaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing