We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle at Birch Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sandcastle at Birch Bay to your Saves list
Sandcastle at Birch Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7854 Birch Bay Drive, Birch Bay, WA 98230   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birch Bay
Marysville, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“perfect getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

What a delightful treasure we found at the Sandcastle at Birch Bay. We made a last minute decision to go away for a night and found this wonderful resort. The room was amazing, more than we expected and the price was very reasonable. Our room had a view of the water and we were lucky enough to view a wonderful sunset. If I had to find something that wasn't quite up to par it would be on the kitchen floor there was what appeared to be some egg yolk that hadn't been cleaned up.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    34
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sandcastle Resort at Birch Bay when we ran the Birch Bay Half Marathon in February. The room was amazing, with a full kitchen that we did not expect to have (we could have known that there was a full kitchen if we had done more research before going). The room was great, and priced at a great value. We were looking for convenience in getting to the start line, and were not disappointed, as we only had to drive about ten minutes to get to the start line in Birch Bay State Park. Also, the room was incredibly clean, and had all of the kitchen utensils we needed to prepare our own food (we are both vegetarian athletes, so when we travel to places a bit off the radar, we typically bring our own food).

The property is also beautifully situated right on Birch Bay, which afforded great views. We had a private balcony that looked over a parking lot directly, but had views of the ocean if you strained your neck hard enough. We couldn't complain, though. We had an absolutely wonderful time, and if we opt to run the Birch Bay race again next year, we'll no doubt stay at the Sandcastle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We've been staying at The Sandcastle in Birch Bay on a regular basis since it opened. After doing the math we realized it is a better alternative to buying a seaside cottage. And as a bonus, our vacation time is free of all the maintenance chores which come with a cottage.

The Sandcastle has well maintained units with full size kitchens for practical family use. TV’s with DVD players are good for movies and music CD’s. Balconies have either ocean or golf club views. The furniture is stylish, comfortable and rugged. There is a heated pool and hot tub for all year use; A workout room with decent equipment; Family movie nights; And a rooftop games room with a deck and two grills ( a great place to meet fellow travellers) . All in all it is a great place to visit and relax.

The staff work hard to keep the place clean and in shape. However, you must realize that this is a popular seaside resort, with families constantly trudging through the hallways after days playing on the tidal flats. No carpeting can keep up, regardless of the cleaning. This also applies to the furniture. We groaned when we saw the first scratches and pot marks on the tables. That is the tough part of not having exclusive ownership. But the convenience is a good trade off.

We can check in for a few days, enjoy the oceanside, build a fire, exercise in the pool, explore the local farms and markets, wine and dine in style in our unit, (visit a casino & nearby outlets for a few hours). And never have to pick up a hammer or bucket of paint!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the back are the quietest and get morning sun. The front is noisier because of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a perfect location, we wanted to get away from it all. We arrived in sun and warmth. To see Mt Baker in the distance from your room and balcony was wonderful. We made full use of the pool, having an adult only time really suited us. From the moment we arrived it felt like a home away from home. It was hard to leave even in the rain! Staff were great, rooms were serviced every day which was refreshing. You are right on the beach, what more do you need.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view you also get the noise from the pool. We had a view to the back, which meant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I rated this property slightly lower because of one primary thing. More care needs to be taken with the cleaning. The carpets in the public areas are in desperate need of a thorough cleaning. The lobby belies the cleanliness of the rest of the property.

The staff are very friendly and willing to help.

The location is superb. You have unobstructed views of the ocean from the rooms at the front of the building. Even the back views are OK if you enjoy grass and trees. You are literally across the road from the ocean.

The pictures on their website are true renditions of the rooms. They are well equipped and suitable for a family.

Be advised that they don't have air conditioning as they are so close to the water.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Location. Location. Location. We stayed here for a week in March. Wonderful property and staff. Friendly, helpful and there for the guests. We were in a large three bedroom, three bathroom unit with a view of the bay. Being off season we were pleasantly surprised with 5 days of sun for out walks. Lots of good restaurants close by with large menus including fish and chips, clam chowder and fresh fish selections.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

these are condos right on the water. the people at front desk were very helpful, the property was very well maintained and the condo it self was great. Don;t think you could find any better! They also have bar and grill on property, we watched the playoff games had great time, the food,service and atmosphere are all very good ! would definitely say here again and use the bar and grill !

Room Tip: ask for water front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandcastle at Birch Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle at Birch Bay

Address: 7854 Birch Bay Drive, Birch Bay, WA 98230
Location: United States > Washington > Birch Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birch Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandcastle at Birch Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandcastle at Birch Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle At Birch Bay Hotel Blaine
Sandcastle Birch Bay
Sandcastle At Birch Bay Blaine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle at Birch Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.