We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 Days Away from it all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle at Birch Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sandcastle at Birch Bay to your Saves list
Sandcastle at Birch Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7854 Birch Bay Drive, Birch Bay, WA 98230   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birch Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“10 Days Away from it all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a perfect location, we wanted to get away from it all. We arrived in sun and warmth. To see Mt Baker in the distance from your room and balcony was wonderful. We made full use of the pool, having an adult only time really suited us. From the moment we arrived it felt like a home away from home. It was hard to leave even in the rain! Staff were great, rooms were serviced every day which was refreshing. You are right on the beach, what more do you need.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view you also get the noise from the pool. We had a view to the back, which meant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    35
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I rated this property slightly lower because of one primary thing. More care needs to be taken with the cleaning. The carpets in the public areas are in desperate need of a thorough cleaning. The lobby belies the cleanliness of the rest of the property.

The staff are very friendly and willing to help.

The location is superb. You have unobstructed views of the ocean from the rooms at the front of the building. Even the back views are OK if you enjoy grass and trees. You are literally across the road from the ocean.

The pictures on their website are true renditions of the rooms. They are well equipped and suitable for a family.

Be advised that they don't have air conditioning as they are so close to the water.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Location. Location. Location. We stayed here for a week in March. Wonderful property and staff. Friendly, helpful and there for the guests. We were in a large three bedroom, three bathroom unit with a view of the bay. Being off season we were pleasantly surprised with 5 days of sun for out walks. Lots of good restaurants close by with large menus including fish and chips, clam chowder and fresh fish selections.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

these are condos right on the water. the people at front desk were very helpful, the property was very well maintained and the condo it self was great. Don;t think you could find any better! They also have bar and grill on property, we watched the playoff games had great time, the food,service and atmosphere are all very good ! would definitely say here again and use the bar and grill !

Room Tip: ask for water front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Back in Blaine to see the grandchildren and for another fine stay at the Sandcastle. Had a two bedroom unit this time, I assume because a one was not available. No complaints at a bargain $100 a night. Love the convenience of a kitchen for breakfast. Enjoyed the heated pool and hot tub despite the 40 degree temps. Very helpful staff. One woman at the desk saw us checking out the rack of brochures and came up with a day trip idea for us without being asked. If I had to complain, I would wonder why only the TV in the master brdroom would take a DVD, but that's quibbling. Hope on our third return next year we get a view of the bay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jupiter
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at Sandcastle with some friends during the 1st week in Oct. This time of year was at the very end of their season. The place was booked but it didn’t have that feel…we hardly saw anyone there. Our suite was a 2/2, w/d, fireplace, full kitchen and shared living/dining room area with a full view of the bay. Sandcastle was clean and decently renovated. They offered several amenities (pool, Jacuzzi, workout room, spa, and an onsite restaurant – though we never tried out the onsite restaurant). The staff was very accommodating and helpful, catering to our every request and giving us great suggestions for day trips. We really loved the location –Vancouver, Snoqualmie, Mt. Rainer, Lynden…all within about 30-60minutes of driving.

Room Tip: Request the Bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at Birch Bay for one week with the other couple who posted. We were pleased with the apartment although it was the funniest layout ever. The living room area is a open combined living room, dining area, and kitchen all in one. The bedrooms are separated which is nice. We enjoyed our week and really did not use many of the facillities offered except for the computer and printer in the lobby and the hot tub. Having the computer is a really nice touch. It makes me crabby when a timeshare wants to charge me to print out my boarding passes prior to leaving. Grrr.
We did walk down to the state park a couple of times. The beach is not a east coast beach worthy of walking upon. One has to walk on the street or on the path next to the street. I must say the drivers do obey the speed limit and are very respectful of walkers. We never once felt unsafe. We did enjoy checking out many of the beach front homes from different eras and especially their humorous driftwood. There were a lot of people walking with and without dogs which was really nice. There is a 7-11 type store right along the same street which carried a little bit of everything. It was a convenient place to go for things forgotten. Funny enough, people park their dogs out front, while they go in and pick up an item or two.
We had a fishing trip planned but it fell through last minute because of small craft warnings. The good news we found the Barleans fishery in Ferndale. Wonderful people. It is a working fish processing plant which also sells retail fish. The day before we left Birch Bay, we went to Barleans and bought fish to take home. Barleans filetted the fish for us, vacuum packed each filet in the size we wanted, and packed it all in an airline approved box. We put the box through as checked luggage on Alaska Air. TSA will not allow the frozen gel packs through security. The box arrived safely without a hitch.
All in all Birch Bay was a nice place to stay. We could see Mount Baker in the distance off our balcony and it was a 45 minute trip to VAncouver. By the way, if one wants one's passport stamped at the border, they will do it. But, one has to park and go inside. The border agent said, "You come from Birch Bay and you want your passports stamped?". He looked incredulous. We had to explain we ere staying in Birch Bay but we come from the St Louis area. Oh!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandcastle at Birch Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle at Birch Bay

Address: 7854 Birch Bay Drive, Birch Bay, WA 98230
Location: United States > Washington > Birch Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birch Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandcastle at Birch Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandcastle at Birch Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle At Birch Bay Hotel Blaine
Sandcastle Birch Bay
Sandcastle At Birch Bay Blaine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle at Birch Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.