We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Birch Bay's "The Mermaid Hutch"!

The Mermaid Hutch! ~ completely fenced
The Mermaid Hutch! ~ completely fenced
The Mermaid Hutch! ~ completely fenced
Super comfy queen cape cod bed in Master Bedroom
Two double sofa beds in living room with cozy gas fireplace
Fully equipped Kitchen
Bright and clean Bathroom has tub wih shower
Birch Bay
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lauiegrac...
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Birch Bay Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a week here with my three daughters and a family friend. The house is cozy and just big enough for the 4 or 5 of us, so close to the bay, so close to everything really. No amenity has been forgotten, perfectly functional kitchen, beach towels, everything. The kids really enjoyed a day at the nearby water park and long walks on the tidal flats. Sadly, there was some sort of toxin affecting shellfish when we were there, so we weren't able to dig for clams... guess that means we'll just have to return! Birch Bay and the whole northern Washington/southern British Columbia area are really beautiful and we were grateful for wonderful weather. Visited a couple of wineries, spent some time in Bellingham and Vancouver... wonderful vacation!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The gorgeous scenery and quiet area.
Liked least: Long drive to the grocery store...
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Laurel L
Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Compact Comfort near Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 for a stay in November 2013

I loved the Mermaid Hutch; it is a tiny cottage near walking beach and, in season, some neat little shops and a much lauded ice cream shoppe.

The owner has provided for almost every imaginable need for this home away from home.
The bed is comfortable and the cottage was

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Hannah
WA
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Vancouver
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011 for a stay in July 2010
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: How clean and cozy it was.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
The Illman Family
BC
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011 for a stay in February 2011
2
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
T.& S. McIntyre
BC CANADA
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011 for a stay in November 2010
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$90
/
Night
Week
Month
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Owner
Cory OBrien
Speaks English
Listed since : Mar 2011
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within two days
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
$10,000 Peace of Mind Guarantee
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing