We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it! Nice spot in paradise. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hammerhead Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hammerhead Hotel to your Saves list
Hammerhead Hotel
Jl.Pariwisata Pantai Kuta, Kuta, Lombok 83355, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kuta
Comet
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love it! Nice spot in paradise. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Hammerhead hotel is a wonderful little place close to where it counts in Kuta Lombok.
The owners, Scotty and Etty are really welcoming and ensure all their guests are well looked after.

The rooms are excellent as Scotty is an Australian builder so expect clean, spacious and well fitted out rooms.

As I was travelling solo, I felt very safe at Hammerhead. All the staff are wonderful and Etty's mum, Aami is a fantastic cook. Breaky is great and Aami will even whip up some nasi goreng if your famished after coming back in from a dive or surf.

The little pool is a nice spot to hang out and it's nice and quite and the wifi is good for Lombok standards.

Loved my stay here. Thanks Scotty and Etty for your hospitality.

See you again some time.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    20
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
26
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Qawra, Malta
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

If you happen to be traveling around Indonesia and find yourself in Lombok and want some peace and quiet, then this is definitely the place to go. Yes, you would be spending a little more of your Rupiah, but it's certainly worth it if you want a little pampering. The hotel itself is very tastefully designed with all mod-cons. On entering my room, i found a personalised letter welcoming me to the hotel. The room itself is lovely, large comfy bed, flat screen TV, mini bar, AC - the lot! The Hammerhead also has a decent gym and a spa for its' guests convenience. Breakfasts at the hotel were just OK i'd say, which don't match the ambience of the building style of service. It would have been nice to have a little more variety. The staff at this hotel are super friendly and efficient - can't fault them at all. The location of the Hammerhead is also very good, minutes from picturesque beaches and various restaurants/pubs nearby. I would certainly recommend this hotel for those wanting to go to the Kuta area of Lombok.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in, had a bathroom door made of glass. If you happen to be traveling with a group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

+ amazing staff
+ amazing surroundings
+ motorcycle renting available

- small pool
- breakfast was not much for adults
- big spider and mosquitoes inside the room, but well if you dont like them, you shouldnt go to these kind of places,like Lombok

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Have recently stayed here and really enjoyed it.
Staff very friendly and always happy to help.
Bfast fresh and tasty and especially impressed with "propper" coffee served in your own plunger!! LOVE THAT!!!
Also loved that rooms cleaned everyday- this is great for a small hotel.

The previous review said that they heard no mosque noise?? ARE YOU ....... SERIOUS!!!!!???? everyday at 0430!!! it woke me up everyday and the speakers need replacing which made it laughable - however this not hammerheads fault!

Thanks Etik and crew for a great stay!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gili Trawangan, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to Etty to making us feel so welcome. We arrived with our young daughter and Etty immediately organised an extra bed at no charge. The room was great and very tastefully decorated.
There was no Mosque noise when we were here and slept well in the very comfortable bed. Room complete with large TV and Indovision and free DVD's.
Will be back for sure!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We decided to cut short our stay at the previous accommodation and stay at Hammerhead due to the close proximity to the new airport. We wished we could have stayed here longer. Hospitality the best you can imagine. Super friendly staff and made us welcome immediately. The hotel is walking distance from Kuta beach, so great for all the surfers out there.

The room itself is spacious, modern, and very clean. The bathroom is large and has a lovely bare faced stoned wall in the shower area, very nice touch. There is a pool where you can cool off and relax before a night out. The breakfast, like many places in Bali you have a menu of which you can choose one item plus a coffee or tea.

The staff are all very friendly, met both Eti and Scott, both lovely owners, Eti is a fantastic cook, made a wonderful meal which was enjoyed thoroughly by us.Thanks to the both of you, making our stay wonderful!

In Short: It’s a fantastic place to stay – clean, friendly staff, near the airport ( 20 minutes drive). A taxi ride away from some magical beaches

Don’t miss: If Eti’s cooking, stay, I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

Pass on: Bear in mind when booking this hotel, it is near a mosque; hence you will have a moment of early morning prayers and evening prayers. This is not the hotel’s fault, so be advised of this, I cannot understand why people would leave negative feedback about this. If you are aware of it, then you should lump with it.

Suggestion: The only thing is the Kuta beach is not great (too many dogs) – great for surfing, not so great to laze about. Best thing to do is, speak to the reception and hire a taxi for the day to take you to the other beaches around. AVOID using the bemo’s outside, as they will look to overcharge you, and you cannot trust them. Look to go to the nearby beaches such as Mawun etc (ask reception).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This was the first hotel we stayed at on our visit to Lombok and thought it was great. Location is good, not too far from anywhere in Kuta, the rooms are spacious and clean including the bathroom which was very nice. The staff is friendly and helpful and we were never let down. They recommended nice places to eat, which were true to their word, and the motorbike we rented off them was great. Etik also helped out when I had a bit of a cold, providing me with medicine which she had with her, and allowing me to take some with me, free of charge. Airport transport was great, our flight was delayed until 1am, yet she managed to arrange for someone to pick us up on very short notice. He was waiting for us on arrival. The mosque is close by but we were never woken up by it. Breakfast was also lovely and included in the price. Great place and friendly people all round. Recommended!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hammerhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hammerhead Hotel

Address: Jl.Pariwisata Pantai Kuta, Kuta, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ammer Head Lombok is a luxurious Boutique Hotel located in the centre of kuta, South Lombok. This idyllic boutique hotel is just 20 mins from the International Airport (LOP). Guests can enjoy easy access to all the Towns facilities within a short stroll. The beautiful kuta beach and the local market, with Restaurants, hospital, medical centres, Police station, Supermarkets, gift stores all within an easy 5 min walk. Our boutique hotel features some of the traditional building styles of Lombok, with a twist of Western design. Inspired and Build by Australian Builder (and owner). The construction emphasised the use of local materials to capture some of the traditional feeling of a Sasak style Building with the use of Alang Alang "thatched" roofing and extensive use of Natural Stone sourced locally, with some creative Australian style architecture and quality workmanship not to mention a few "creature comforts". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hammerhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hammerhead Hotel Kuta, Lombok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hammerhead Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.