We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Kuta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surya Tropical Kuta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Surya Tropical Kuta to your Saves list
Surya Tropical Kuta
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Legian Street Kuta, Kuta, Lombok 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Kuta B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Kuta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel during almost one month and its just a perfect place to stay : excelent location near the nightlife of kuta (legian, poppies lanes) , good value for money, confy and the personal is not too bad. The pool and the restaurant are clean.
You really gonna feel like at home. Perfect for travellers on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Nice clean place with very friendly and helpful staff. Close to the airport and about 20 mins walk to kurd beach. Away from the party area but close enough to get to if you want to.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

The pool and gardens at Surya Beach are very inviting after a long day of walking the streets of Kuta! Breakfast is included, and the food is very nice. The best part about the restaurant was the main waitor, who is very lovely to chat with and always has a smile... and is happy to bring you a Bintang or two while you chill out in the pool. I especially liked the little shallow part of the pool where I could chill out reading a book. :-)
The rooms... leave quite a bit to be desired. We had a lot of mosquitoes, questionable bedding and towels smelled a bit musty. However, the price was right and the rooms are quiet and there's a tv and showers that occasionally have warm water if you left them on for a bit. :-P
Overall, a great place to crash while visiting Kuta.

Room Tip: The room we saw upstairs with the queen sized bed really smelled mildewy and, while it did have a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunedoara, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I found this hotel very nice...You have a big room, AC is working perfectly and you can adjust it to get freezing cold in the room. The location is very good as well, it's close to the clubs, 5 minutes walk from the beach, and you do not have to pay the big rates of the hotel on the beach, only 35000 rupiah. The price is acceptable for the room, very basic, fridge working perfect, the bathroom needs a little scrub... but for a backpacker i do not think is a problem... there is not any smell or bugs, because i checked when i booked the floors and the matress for beg bugs....nothing.
The staff is very helpful, if you want to iron a shirt at 1 am there is still somebody that will do it for you, just tip them something. The pool is clean and available all the time. Restaurant has good food and cheap.
I recommend this hotel if you go on budget.

Room Tip: if you are not a light sleeper book a cabin next to the pool ... you can almost jump in from your ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I have stayed at Surya Beach Inn twice in 2010. This place brings so many good memories.
The man who runs this plc, is a seasoned 50-60 something y/o pony-tailed n moustached man named Agung. Superb fella.

This place is very cosy n homely. Quiet in the day. Can be noisy at night from the loud thumping music frm the nearby discotheques. But u cant fault Surya for that. Noise pollution is everywhere in Kuta. I got the room for ard 300 thousand IDR per nite with breakfast n we can use the pool all day n night. WARNING: do not take the room nearest to the pool if u cant handle noise by the people who likes to chill by the pool.

Rooms are basic like any other cheap Kuta inns.. but it is CLEAN, basic, but CLEAN. that is the utmost important. The toilet is nothing to dream about though. AC can get very cold at night (or was it just me who cant tolerate cold temperature?), TV plays local Indonesian channels, have hot n cold shower option available, the in house restaurant whips up tasty dishes when requested. Our breakfast is a choice of western or local meal. i usually opt for the local meal consisting of Mi Goreng or Nasi Goreng (Fried Noodles or Fried Rice), some fruits of the day, juice, coffee or tea. No, its not buffet styled.

This place is just located in the alley between the Bali bombing monument n Quiksilver in Legian St. Adjacent to the Billabong store near the bombing monument. So that makes it very convernient to get to the discotheques/food places/shopping along the Legian St.

Wanna get to the beach faster? Take a shortcut by walking in to Poppies Lane 1 or 2 n just follow the foot path till u finish the lane at Kuta Beach Rd (Jln Pantai Kuta). When in Poppies 2, take a right when u see Barong hotel on ur left. That leads to Jln Benesari walk all the way straight on the foot path u'll also reach the beach. Good luck guys!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Hi I stayed at this hotel, it has great food and the people there are very friendly and helpful, it is clean but a bit old. Good value for money. Has a clean pool. The only down fall with this hotel it is hard to get a good night sleep as there are so many clubs around pumping out loud music till late. Location is excellent if you can put up with the loud music at night. Great for travellers on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

The best thing about this hotel is, We can swim at whatever time we want to! The staffs are really nice and friendly.
Its a pretty traditional balinese hotel, in the morning, there is an mister lighting up the incense. its very nice.
Its located right in the middle of kuta nightspots. very convenient.

The toilets are not very clean, but you get what you pay for. not too bad for a budget hotel

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Surya Tropical Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surya Tropical Kuta

Address: Legian Street Kuta, Kuta, Lombok 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Kuta
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Surya Tropical Kuta 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surya Tropical Kuta is a hotel in kuta with Balinese style combined with Balinese tropical garden as well. Situated in the heart of Kuta area. Walking distance to Ground Zero 1st Bali Boom Blast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Surya Tropical Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Beach Hotel Kuta
Surya Tropical Kuta Lombok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surya Tropical Kuta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.