We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful hosts and very comfortable accommodation and very good amenities.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yuli's Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yuli's Homestay
Save
You added Yuli's Homestay to your Saves list
Main Road, Kuta, LOMBOK, Kuta, Lombok, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Kuta B&B and Inns
1 review
“Very friendly and helpful hosts and very comfortable accommodation and very good amenities.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Yuli and mike and staff are very friendly and helpful.
Rooms basic but very clean and comfortable and safe. The grounds are private, attractive and clean with great pools and places to relax.
The breakfast is basic but delicious and perfectly adequate.
I have read some negative comment about the noise from the prayer times at the Mosque. Personally I found it no problem as it is during the day. The first prayer at 5am is a good alarm clock if you want to get up and watch the beautiful sunrises or get in an early surf otherwise just roll over and go back to sleep. There is no other street noise and is really quiet and peaceful at night.
Yulis home stay is exceptional value for the price. I have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    46
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
133
28
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at Yuli's Homestay with my family, just recently, for the second time, and enjoyed our stay, every bit as much as the first, almost two years ago.

The owners, Yuli and Mike, are very friendly, helpful, and you will be made to feel welcome and at home, immediately on your arrival. They are extremely knowledgeable about the area and whatever you ask them they are likely to have the answer. They couldn't have been better hosts.

The 2,000 metre property is extremely well kept, with an extensive garden and immaculate lawns. There is not just one but two well maintained, swimming pools to choose from.

Since my first visit, they have added an additional five bungalows and one of the pools with a shower and toilet block. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean, with a comfortable king size bed and ensuite bathroom, with shower and toilet. Rooms have AC as well as a roof fan to choose from, though we found the fan was adequate most of the time.

The breakfast, included, is very good with a choice of either a large mixed omelette, or banana pancake with fruit juice, fresh fruit (banana, papaya and pineapple) and tea or local Lombok coffee. There is a separate kitchen with self-catering facilities, if you're into cooking and want to make a meal at any time.

Yuli's Homestay is located in a quiet area just off the main road into Kuta, about 600 metres or 15 mins, or less, easy walking to the beach and restaurants. If you don't want to walk, they have motorbikes for rent at Rp 50,000 per day, or you can hire their car with a driver if you prefer, so getting around is very easy. The great thing is if your arriving at Lombok's new airport, at Praya, Yuli's is not more than 20 minutes away. They will also organize pickup or drop at the airport, which was extremely helpful when we had our early morning flight home at 0700 to Jakarta.

I have tried hard to find some fault with Yuli's and really can't think of anything. The only thing I suggest is ensuite bathrooms would benefit by having hot water showers, though, if one is desperate to have a hot water, it is possible in the shower block beside the main swimming pool. Value for money? Yes, I think, the Rp350.000 per night we paid, was very reasonable considering the standard of the facilities and general ambiance.

Room Tip: Which ever room you choose, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Had the greatest experience here. It was obvious that some recent reviews hadn't been so generous, but in my opinion they are completely unfounded. Yuli and Mike could not have been better hosts. They both went above and beyond to make us feel at home and help in any way. I truly could not have asked for anything more. The Staff are really sweet too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Clean, comfortable and quiet bungalows/bathroom with golf course quality grass throughout a large property that includes 2 swimming pools. Yuli and Mike's hospitality is second to none with helpful hints about the area. The breakfasts were wonderful and the service (Yuli's girls) was great. The trek to the beach is a short one with a motor bike, The restaurants in the area will deliver you to and from if you don't want to motor bike in the evening afte a few drinks. Reserve in advance as Yuli is quite busy. You will not regret your stay at Yuli's.

Room Tip: Book ahead!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Kuta is a great town, not at all what we were expecting. Really chilled out surf vibe with traditional houses and a handful of unpretentious shops and cafes. There are not a lot of options right on the beach so Yuli was a good location considering, just a short walk up from the main strip and easy access to all the stunning south coast beaches by motorbike. The room was large and clean and Yuli herself was incredibly friendly. We stayed during the Muslim Eid celebrations and love being able to immerse ourselves in the local culture. If you are less inclined you may find the mosque next door a little noisy, but we really enjoyed it. A great mid range option if you are staying in Kuta.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We did not stay at Mike and Yuli's but we were fortunate enough to stumble upon their home stay after a difficult situation we had with another guesthouse and some money that had gone missing from our room. They were incredibly helpful and caring towards us even though we had just wandered up and weren't even staying there. They were as friendly as could be, they loaned us a motorbike for the week that we ended up staying in Kuta, and they gave us amazing recommendations on local restaurants and beaches. The sweetest people on the planet. Their property and home stay is absolutely beautiful. Thanks you two! You're awesome!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I reserved and made the full payment in advance as requested by Mike via PayPal for 8 nights in Yulis and Mike Homestay. It was also the only place we stayed in Lombok and Bali who have requested full payment in advance.
Apparently everything looks very nice ... the first night we were surprised by a situation, which Yuli and Mike should first inform their clients, is that if you have a very light sleep as we will most likely have had an almost sleepless night because the speakers of a Muslim Mosque that is almost upon Yulis and Mike are going to wake up you around 4 AM with prayers and music, beyond that it will be repeated in the morning at night, and during the day. It was quite unpleasant for us; it was a night to forget ...
Regarding the room for the price concerned we can accept but it is certainly very basic and the breakfast is quite simple, it is a very small glass of juice with a lot of water inside and a pancake.
The worst thing that caused us to get out of Yulis and Mike on the first day to another hotel was almost the trash in front of our room. In that morning was burning organic waste and plastics producing fumes and gases that beyond smelled toxic unbearable and this place is next where they serve the breakfast… we took our breakfast with great difficulty because I of the terrible smell... As a European I can not understand this! I found that is normal to burn the waste in Lombok and Bali, but in front of the houses of the guests and beside the place where you eat is really unbelievable when it burns trash, plastics and organics dropping toxic fumes and gases enough!
I was surprised because I had not read previously about this situation on TripAdvisor and now I see that someone has also talked about this, I am still amazed how there are so many positive reviews about this place ... maybe our room was in the wrong place…
After explaining the reasons to Mike and Yuli that we could not stay there any longer we find that the apparent sympathy fall and they didn´t refund us, at least part of my full payment already made and we had to pay again for a new stay elsewhere losing all the money paid in Yuli and Mike. There was nothing pleasant our experience in this place… we rented a car and it was arranged by Yuli and Mike and in the end when we deliver the car appeared one men saying that he was the owner of the car and said that we had damaged the car with scratches on various sides in the vehicle when it was delivered with all these risks ...unbelievable!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yuli's Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yuli's Homestay

Address: Main Road, Kuta, LOMBOK, Kuta, Lombok, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Kuta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Yuli`s Homestay Hotel Kuta
Yuli's Homestay Kuta, Lombok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yuli's Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.