We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect summer Sunday lunch with family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gialos

Gialos
N. Plastira | Mikro Emvolo, Kalamaria, Thessaloniki 55132, Greece
+30.23104.42121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 36 Restaurants in Kalamaria
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A perfect summer Sunday lunch with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I was a Sunday lunchtime guest at this restaurant and though I have a few quibbles I still have to give 5 stars because of the quality of the overall experience. Firstly the food is wonderful. Simple unpretentious Greek dishes using fresh ingredients. The large fish that was ordered to share between 7 people was exquisite. Just add a little lemon juice what more could you need? With it we had a whole selection of accompanying dishes and nothing disappointed. The setting down a little lane by the sea and next to a sailing club is also really lovely. The place was totally packed but we had booked and had a table outside under awning. If you drive someone takes your keys and parks your car so tight is the parking but it is slick and organised and secure and and the gate to the lane was manned so that the car park is restricted to restaurant users. The service was good, the staff polite and we enjoyed the whole experience very much. My only quibble as others have noted is that people do smoke but it is the same all over Greece as many many restaurants do not ban it. It did not however affect my enjoyment on this visit. My tip as always when eating fish in a Greek restaurant is to always find out about what you are getting eg fresh/previously frozen/farmed etc and agree the COOKED FINAL PRICE before you eat, otherwise you may get a shock.Fish in Greece is usually of excellent quality but it is not a cheap food. In this restaurant you can go and look and select your fish yourself.

Sent from my iPhone

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Kalamaria area it's around 8 km far from the downtown of Thessaloniki. You can go there by your car, by taxi (around 10-15 euro depends on the traffic) or by bus . The restaurant it's placed in a small bay with a nice view . The food it's great , you can enjoy the " Greek mezes" , the fish of the day , pasta , soups, etc . The things that can be disturbing are the fact that they are smoking (even if it's forbidden) , there are passing a lot of airplanes (the airport it's quite close) which can be a little be noisy and in case you are "lucky" to be there when the restaurant it's full ....than you have to be patient . But in general it's a good restaurant with a very tasty fresh fish .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“very good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

we got a taxi with my friends and we told the driver to leave us in a restaurant someone had told us. the very polite driver asked us if we trusted him and he drove us to -gialos-. we did not regret it. we had a great lunch .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“nice sea food but people smoking cigars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

we had an excellent meal of fresh fish and with very quick service. The only thing with this taverna is that almost everybody smokes but smoking cigars is unacceptable

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fish so fresh, they jump out of the sea and onto your plate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We went to this restaurant without much expectations, as all the meals we have had in Thessaloniki have been amazing... until we ordered a fish off the menu and it was literally the best fresh grilled fish we have ever had!! This place is not the cheapest, but it definitely had the best fresh fish, very attentive waiters, and a beautiful sea view (literally, you are sitting by the water) Would recommend it to anyone visiting Thessaloniki that likes good food. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gialos also viewed

Kalamaria, Thessaloniki
Kalamaria, Thessaloniki
 
Kalamaria, Thessaloniki
Kalamaria, Thessaloniki
 

Been to Gialos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gialos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.