We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice friendly place to stay while visiting York” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Windmill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Windmill to your Saves list
The Windmill
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Hull Road, Dunnington YO19 5LP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Dunnington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A nice friendly place to stay while visiting York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Windmill while visiting our daughter at university, which is close by. Had a very nice meal in the bar on the Saturday evening and a very good breakfast the following morning. Very friendly staff, good food and a comfortable, clean room.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    47
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
29
74
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
hull
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

2 night stay good food warm and friendly staff and situated a short drive from york centre. Had a really nice couple of nights and the food was excellent.Resturant was very busy both nights but the service and food didn,t suffer because of this (always very hot and reasonably quick service) the only small gripe i would have is the fact that even as a staying guest food had to be ordered at the bar and orders not taken at the table as i would expect for a 4 star service.The room was great with everything that you could need. Altogether a great place to stay and i would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Visited Feb 2013 for lunch on a Saturday. Friendly staff and a good selection of beers. The food was nice, if simple, and came in large portions. The windmill isn't the place for fancy dining but if you want good quality food at a reasonable price then it's a great place to visit. The whitebait and the game pie were of particular note.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katesue85
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is quite a late review as we stayed here a while ago. We stayed for a weekend at the Windmill and did some sight-seeing in York. The room was very clean and the bed was comfy. The staff were incredibly friendly and always happy to chat. Breakfast was faultless - speedy service and lovely food. The staff were always checking that we were OK and gave us great advice on what to do and see in York - even though I did end up scaring myself witless in the York Dungeons (never again). If we visit York again we'll be staying at The Windmill!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have been working in York for the last 5 months and have stayed at The Windmill throughout this time. The staff are warm and friendly, the rooms are very comfortable and clean, and the food is excellent. I would highly recommend The Windmill.
Nev R

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off on the way to York for some lunch. Staff very friendly and the pub had a lovely atmosphere. Good selection of beers. Menu choice excellent and our food met all expectations. This is not the first time we have eaten here and every time the quality and service is first class. Fully recommend a visit.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We are always looking for somewhere to stay when we visit our son at uni in York and we think we have now found the ideal place at The Windmill. The staff were friendly and helpful and there was a really nice atmosphere in the bar. We had a meal in the evening and the food and the service was good. The Yorkshire breakfast which was included kept us going all day. The room was clean and the beds really comfortable. I would be happy to recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windmill

Address: Hull Road, Dunnington YO19 5LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Dunnington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dunnington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windmill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly relaxing welcome awaits you at The Windmill, Dunnington, York. Open all day, every day, The Windmill is the perfect setting for a quick drink, a bite to eat or an evening out. Our bed and breakfast accommodation is finished to a high standard and consists of five double rooms and five twin rooms, one of which has disabled access. This ground floor bedroom also has the benefit of an audio/visual siren in case of emergencies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Windmill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windmill Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windmill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.