We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a nice setting.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marvin's Seaside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Marvin's Seaside Inn to your Saves list
Marvin's Seaside Inn
567 Barangay road, Naval, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Naval B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a nice setting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here about three times now after my preferred location Biliran Garden Resort wouldn't answer the phone yet again.

The out building has the nicest and largest rooms, but was in the smallest room this year which was a bit like servant quarters, so would book in advance.

Staff are friendly and helpful as is the security, food is good and fresh and have a decent range to choose from.

Wifi worked ok in the main building but was a bit scatter gun round the rest of the grounds.

Rooms are basic, but clean and bedding all fresh. The Bathrooms are quite small but do all you need them to do. Air con works well and isn't linked to the lighting or key.

Not much to do round about but a good base to go out and explore from. The pool is good but didn't get to use it this year as the owner had a private function on.

Overall one of the nicest places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Attended a friend's wedding in Leyte and stayed at Marvin's. Nice place to stay in Biliran. Very affordable accommodation rate, just ok rooms but food and service is great. It has a homey touch to it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights, the hotel was a good base for exploring the beautiful waterfalls on the island. We paid p1,200 for a double room with aircon, this was expensive for the quality of the room. The room was big, clean but very dated and felt run down, the TV didn't work, the bathroom was small but ok.
The food in the restaurant was good, big portions and reasonable prices.
There seamed to be some confusion with the staff, over the room, restaurant changes and trying to book a tour guide for the day. When we eventually managed to get a tour guide to take us round the island it was wonderful, the waterfalls are beautiful.
Overall we enjoyed our stay, the island is beautiful and Marvin's is a good base for exploring

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We traveled to Naval for my friend's wedding. Her entire entourage stayed in this Resort.

Room is spacious for 3, 1 double and 1 single bed. Bed Mattress is too soft, not good if you have lower back pains. Room is clean upon arrival and you need to request if you want your room to be cleaned ^_^ faucet water is good... i was not able to use the shower due to not enough water pressure. Towels are provided.

Food is a bit pricey for provincial rate but sumptuous specially their Pancit Canton w/ Egg - A MUST TRY! Please order your food in advance, specially your breakfast. They cook your meal from scratch upon order and cooking time takes approx. 45 mins.

Staff are polite, courteous and friendly. Wi-fi is accessible at the common area/dining area/reception area only.

Please be cautious in their poolside area. Tiles are slippery and pebbles lining the tiles are sharp and can cut like a knife. I slipped in one of these tiles while walking going to the pool, regained my balance but one of my toe nail caught the pebble lining and it scrapped through my toe nail. When i asked for a first aid kit, they have none. All they can offer is alcohol! I need to wait 2 days to travel back to Manila to have my injury checked by a surgeon.

Resort is peaceful and the atmosphere conducive for relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

When you're staying in Naval, you're likely ending up at Marvin's.
It's an ok place with attentative staff, although it sometimes took over an hour to prepare lunch or dinner!
The main drawback were the showers... we stayed for three nights and during our stay there was not enough pressure (on the top floor) to take a decent shower! So we used the old fashioned mandi instead...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

It's not perfect, but there's a lot to recommend Marvin's Seaside Inn. If you are going to be in Biliran, Naval is the hub and no matter where you are going to want to go, Naval is likely to be your base anyway. Marvin's is located out of the city center, which cuts down on the noise and congestion. No, there's no beach - but you'll note the name doesn't contain "beach" in it. The property is just as described - seaside.

Our room was on the third floor, so the steps were a good cardiovascular routine each time they were climbed. We were in 12B which had a great view, with the main drawback being that the air conditioner wasn't quite up to the task. It functioned, but it struggled, particularly at the end of the daylight hours when the sun was lined up directly with the windows over the bed. But the staff seemed friendly and helped with whatever was asked. Breakfast one day out by the ocean did take an extremely long time (more than an hour) but it seemed to me more a problem of system or design (I got the feeling that our waitress was actually preparing food too) rather than a poor work ethic.

The property is clean and relatively well-maintained. There are parking spaces if you drive. The food is edible and the room service was pretty quick. We stayed for four days, had many meals through room service or out by the ocean and the total cost was 8,300 PhP.

At the end of the day, are there things that could be improved? Yes. Are there things about which legitimate gripes could be vented? Yes. But folks - this is Naval. It's not Paris or Tokyo or New York. It's not Manila or Cebu or even Tacloban. If you're on Biliran, you're likely either there to visit family or trek in the outdoors - in either case Marvin's Seaside Inn is a reliable base from which you can operate. As my rating says - that's Very Good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,160 reviews 1,160 reviews
291 hotel reviews
Reviews in 313 cities Reviews in 313 cities
2,735 helpful votes 2,735 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The above tariff was excluding breakfast which including a drink cost about P200. Singles were advertised at P800 on Marvin's brochure but were being charged at P1000.

The inn is a three storey complex fronting a rocky section of sea with no easy sea access (although there is a ramp that normally has a locked gate). There is no beach. Across the road are a small number of extra rooms with a well maintained pool. Save for the presence of roosters nearby, these rooms could be the quietest.

Checkin was fast and all staff were friendly.

The room was a step up from Agta Beach Resort up the road and had a modern fridge, an old CRT television, a double bed and (with not much space near the bed) a table. Lighting was a lamp and an oyster overhead fitting. Curtains did not block out all the light but our 12B room had a pleasant sea view from the third floor.

Geckos were present (a small one in the room and others along the hallway) but I like them due to their ecological role in controlling insects.

The bathroom's shower worked OK although at times getting the temperature exactly right from the small water heater was difficult. The white towels were clean.

The old airconditioner was noisy. It needs replacement.

As per some previous reviews, there was no water for a small number of hours on a Saturday evening: this is apparently due to a lack of general water supply. Hard to fathom on an island that can be as rainy as Biliran.

The food was served in a homely area near the open kitchen and was very good. The banana shakes were excellent: among the best that I have enjoyed.

This is not the cheapest accommodation on Biliran Island but it is probably one of the better of the relatively limited choices. It's what in Australia we'd call a motel, albeit with better dining.

14 of 23 rooms were occupied when we stayed but over Christmas Marvin's had been booked solid: the receptionist said that in seven years, this was the first time that this had occurred. Slowly, Biliran Island is being discovered by local and a few foreign tourists, particularly Swiss, French and Australian foreigners.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marvin's Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marvin's Seaside Inn

Address: 567 Barangay road, Naval, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Biliran Island > Naval
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Naval
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Marvin's Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marvin`s Seaside Hotel Biliran Island
Marvin's Seaside Inn Naval, Biliran Island, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marvin's Seaside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.