We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Civil Ceremony” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yeoldon House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Yeoldon House Hotel to your Saves list
Yeoldon House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Durrant Lane, Northam, Bideford EX39 2RL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bideford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Civil Ceremony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Ideal setting for a small intimate civil ceremony, in a classic Edwardian House, with genuine stained glass and other period features. The garden is terraced with views onto and across the River Torridge. Quite, tranquil setting. The furnishing of the ceremony room in keeping with the house, giving an intimate family house feel to the event. The proprietors Jennifer and Brian worked seamlessly with us to make the day run smoothly everything we requested was ready as asked. The lunch provided was superb, aesthetically presented. The waiting service professional, quiet, and unobtrusive, with small touches of noting a guests name when asking if more wine was required. The food was hot or at the required temperature, the tables were set with spotless polished glass, and cutlery, tablecloths and napkins. Those with specific dietary requirements were catered for and served in rotation with the other guests and not embarrassed by distinction or delay.
The management and their team enhanced and contributed positively to an already outstanding occasion. The best recommendation - a large group of guests have decided to book and return later for a pre-Christmas celebration.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    44
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
76
231
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
aylesbury
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Bearing in mind this was a last-minute booking I was very pleased with the accommodation provided - lovely split-level room with a balcony overlooking the attractive gardens and Torridge esgtuary.

The service and food were excellent, as was the tranquillity of our surroundings.

Room Tip: Room overlooking river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked based solely on the Tripadvisor reviews. We spent 2 nights and it was lovely. The room was very clean and quiet with a balcony overlooking the gardens and the river. The service was very attentive, lemon arrived for my tea without me even asking.
The best thing about this hotel was the food in the evenings. It was incredible and the presentation was better than most 5 star restaurants.
Slight problem with the internet, which kept dropping out, even with a booster.
You can easily walk to Bideford along the river path and it is a very quirky town, with lots of unusual shops. We went to Clovelly, which is amazing and well worth a visit. Played golf at Westwood Ho, which was a great experience.
Would certainly return and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: We had the balcony room which was larger and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I found this hotel while trawling the internet and we had a really lovely time staying there for two nights. I left wishing we were staying longer. Arrived to a very warm welcome from Brian and Colin. Our room was called the 'Crow's Nest', very aptly named as it was a the top of the house with a nice, turreted balcony overlooking the river, a great view to wake up to. Spotless clean throughout the hotel with thoughtful touches like fresh flowers and a little parcel of homemade soap in the room on arrival.
Brian is a great chef and we had the pleasure of enjoying an excellent meal in the elegant dining room. Jennifer and Brian are the most attentive hosts and I would have no worries at all at recommending this hotel to family and friends. They can also host small weddings, with the fabulous views, dining room, and reception room...........perfect.
Linda & John, Derbyshire

Room Tip: Loved our room at the top, with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The staff at Yealdon House really make the stay special, they show genuine interest in you but not over intrusive. We stayed in ' Lady Dawe' which had a four poster bed and wonderful views over the garden and the river Torridge. The room has everything you need for a relaxing stay. The food at Yealdon house is wonderful both breakfast and the evening meal. We had a really relaxing and peaceful four days which was wonderful.

Room Tip: Choose a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A small family hotel set in quiet, secluded, beautiful gardens with a magnificent view of the estuary. The hotel was friendly and the rooms were extremely comfortable and well appointed. Very clean with high quality linen and towels. The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed B&B and the breakfast was excellent, we visited family for dinner so didn't get to try their evening meals but other guests praised the quality of the restaurant. Great value.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was my second visit to Yeoldon house with my elderly parents (both in their 80s ) and i reaaly can bot fault it, The rooms really nice and individual with superb views from the balocnies over the ever changing estuary. The welcome and service is great , the food is excellent, the walk along the local coast path is really nice. We have booked again for next year!

Room Tip: Crows Nest is up two flights of stairs but well worth the climb, the view from the balcomy is amazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yeoldon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeoldon House Hotel

Address: Durrant Lane, Northam, Bideford EX39 2RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bideford > Northam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yeoldon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in two acres of beautiful gardens with stunning views over the river Torridge, Yeoldon House is a wonderful place to unwind. We pride ourselves on our high standards of food & service & offer warn hospitality in a relaxed atmosphere. Our award winning Soyer`s restaurant is open to non- residents. All of our rooms are individually decorated, (including three balcony rooms & a four poster) all en-suite, free view TV, wi-fi ,& tea & coffee making facilities. Ideal location for exploring the majestic scenery of north Devon including Clovelly, Exmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Yeoldon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yeoldon Hotel Bideford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yeoldon House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.