We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, shame about the restaurant!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dunchideock, Exeter EX6 7YF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Molesey, Surrey, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice room, shame about the restaurant!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Very quiet hotel and we had a lovely room. However, restaurant is just glorified over priced pub food! If you are a vegetarian beware as usual veggies are ripped off with over priced poorly thought out stodgy food, £15.95 for a pasta dish when it is £14.95 for a steak. The veggie pasta dish did not have any fresh ingredients so why so expensive?
It also felt like eating in a library and restaurant needs some music. Breakfast was much better and nice friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    103
    37
    10
    8
See reviews for
31
86
21
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Dated rooms, poor service, we didn't even have a shower just an old bath! There was dust everywhere. I remember seeing Best Western on "Undercover Boss" and they should of included this hotel. It was the worst hotel we have ever stayed at! Managed badly and staff were rude and passive aggressive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel was terribly difficult to actually find. The sat nav takes you to the middle of know where. The hotel receptionist (Becky) was really helpful navigating me in, however the directiona and signposts are almost nil.
Once you do finally find the hotel you are met with the most fantastic views of the Devon countryside and gorgeous hotel surroundings.
Inside the hotel you are greeted by very friendly staff (Again Becky here desereves another mention).
I stayed in room 3 and this was very modern, clean and well decorated. A spacious bathroom was also pleasing.
As a dining expierence this was also really delicous. Infact possibly one of the best breakfasts I have ever had!!
The major downside is its appauling accessibilty - best to take a Helicopter!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordhaldon, Manager at BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Ian D,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 01329832483.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey.

Kind Regards

Ruth Brown
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Italia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just a little bit to arrive but when you arrive you'll find a fantastic location with a good view. You can stay in this place in relaxes in the fantastic garden. The room are clean, the staff were helpfull and resolved all my problem. The breakfast so good, in the evening I tried the restaurant and I ate well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had our wedding here in July 2013. Everything was perfect! A big thank you to everyone at the Lord Haldon for making our wedding day so perfect! The staff were all incredibly helpful, professional and nice. From the first moment we contacted Ruth all of our questions were answered and she took a personal interest in ensuring everything was perfect. Martin kept things rolling the entire day and night making seamless transitions and keeping everyone informed. The chefs did an amazing job with the food – all of the guests commented on how delicious everything was and the presentation was beautiful. The wait staff and bartenders were also all very friendly and professional. The Lord Haldon is a wonderful venue with beautiful gardens and lovely accommodation. The room and courtyard were perfect for the reception. When our cake collapsed Ruth and her staff worked to make it presentable – way above and beyond – and we were truly appreciate. I would absolutely recommend the Lord Haldon as a reception venue!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

It is rare that hotels end up looking as good in real life as in their publicity - but this one really is. Lost in the midst of Devon's rolling countryside (and lost can be the word if you don't follow the hotel's directions about how to find it! - yet its easy when you do), this beautiful hotel was once part of a great mansion. Its character has been kept, including a characterful courtyard and beautiful (though very small) grounds. Our room, which overlooked the courtyard and the surrounding countryside, was delightful - very clean, well-equipped, comfortable bed, and good bathroom - and a kettle with plenty of tea and coffee to make drinks. Breakfast was served in the dining room which overlooks the courtyard and had ample tables. There was a good choice of cereals, yoghurt, croissants, juices etc. to get you started while your breakfast was being cooked to order. This was sourced from excellent quality local produce. Service was good - though it could take a bit of time to catch the server's eye for drinks refills.
Check-in/out was exceptionally smooth and pleasant.
While the hotel is set in the midst of acres of open country, very little of it belongs to the hotel. In fact the grounds were very small, which was a bit of a disappointment as we had expected more from what we had read. But there are certainly plenty of walks in the area, and Exeter is close at hand. can't imagine why anyone would want to stay in the city when you could stay here.
Definitely one of Best Western's more pleasant hotels- we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
* Please note that, due to the nature of the conversion, this hotel is, sadly, not at all suitable for anyone who requires disability access.

Room Tip: If you don't want to pay extra for one of the hotels at the front of the hotel with unrestricted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my wife and also my parents on the 11th and 12th August. The location is fantastic, the staff were friendly and very welcoming and the food brilliant. The rooms we had were recently refurbished and were spacious and excellent. There was also excellent wi fi throughout.

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: You may need a Sat Nav to find it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel

Address: Dunchideock, Exeter EX6 7YF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Dunchideock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Exeter
Exeter Best Western
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel Exeter/Dunchideock, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.