We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   388 Moo 4, Ban Mae Salong Nai, Mae Chan 57110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mae Chan
4.0 of 5 stars 174 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I spent 4 weeks in Oct '12 doing a Teachers' Training Course here and what an amazing experience it was. Perhaps a little bias since I spent a long time here but there was certainly no cutting back in terms of hospitality and friendship I have fostered during my stay with my course-mates and the Staff & Management of Phu Chaisai.
The views are breathtaking; set on a hilltop, every morning we wake up for meditation to a beautiful sunrise. Rays of light penetrate through the clouds; morning walks to other parts of the hill like the oolong tea leave plantation was so meditative and allowed us to pluck the very leaves of the tea that we drank everyday.
The vegetarian menu, which was part of the course, made me realize that going vegetarian isn't that difficult; the food was amazing! All vegetables organically grown nearby, much thanks must be addressed to the creative kitchen staff for serving the best detox diet ever without having to starve nor crave for anything meat. Incredible! That mini baguette with homemade jams like Lemon, Mulberry, Passionfruit (!!!) is divine-licious.
I went to Phu Chaisai quite by accident, to do a course. But what made the month-long course so bearable and much-missed, is truly the hospitality extended to us; because even though we were "only" there to do a course, not unlike a large group on a packaged tour, no expenses were spared to make our stay comfortable. For example, laundry service was very prompt; give it to them in the morning and you'd get it back in the evening. Sure there will be a few bugs like mosquitoes and ants being in an open hilltop surrounded by forestation; but never was it un-bearable.
Steven, the GM, is himself a humble, simple guy whom just wants to make your stay as comfortable as he can. He has given us tips and guided tours around the area as well as arranged for us visit to other parts of Chiang Rai and Chiang Mai.
Thank you Phu Chaisai for the positive changes I have made in my life; through the TTC as well as the sincere friendship and hospitality you have shared with me.
I will be back!

Room Tip: There will be some mosquitoes, especially around 530pm ~ 8pm, so bring along a good repellent. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    52
    15
    12
    12
See reviews for
36
72
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My girlfriend and I just spent two nights at the Phu Chasai resort. I had booked us there because of the advertised scenery and tranquility and: they allowed me to bring my Yorkie along! We were not disappointed: the resort and surrounding area are simply amazing and breathtaking! If you want to get away from daily hectic moden life, this is the place to go. The facebook addicts still have internet available, but there are no TVs (with all their meaningless blabbering programs) .... giving you the opportunity to relax and just enjoy life itself for a change.
The staff's friendliness and attention does exceed the already high standards set by the wonderful people of Thailand. The GM, Steven, made sure himself, that my special needs were met (for example: treating me to some "cold stress relief beer" upon arrival, after I had gotten lost on the way to resort and subsequently drove around without a clue at night for some time).
Even my little Yorkie had a wondeful time: there were new doggie friends to be met, so many new places and smells to be explored and she enjoyed the spacious room with patio as much as we did.
It is a wonderful place and now, that I know how to find it right away, I am certainly looking forward to my next visit!
My "kob khun mak krup" to the entire staff!

Rudi, Joy & Sophie

PS: I did not give a 5 star rating (liked to give a 4 and 1/2) due to the fact that price of hotel, restaurant and spa is comparable to "western" resorts. I have travelled some in Thailand and surrounding countries to know that upscale hotels and resorts, like this one, do command such prices. I have not yet stayed at "cheaper" places that are available, so I can't really compare the service. As "buyer" one always likes to pay less, if possible, right? Either way, I'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

After 4 hectic days in Chiang Mai, we had the most wonderfully relaxing 3 nights at Phu Chaisai. Set on a bamboo forested hill, the views are wonderful. We didn't do much, just some walks round the estate and chilling out in our pool villa which was idyllic. We chose a Baan Thai pool villa for the sunset views, and loved it. Large room, with all the facilities - fridge, coffee making stuff, plus two person marble bath overlooking the pool.. And free Wifi. We also had a tv but we didn't feel the need to turn it on. The best thing was the private infinity pool. These villas are a 10 min uphill walk from the reception and restaurant, but if you don't feel like walking they will collect and deliver you by car.
Stephen the manager is a foodie and we thoroughly enjoyed his recommendations on local wild boar curry, mushroom salads and pork omelet. Most of the food is organic & locally produced and we found it all delicious, inc the breakfast coffee!
Best time of year to visit is the cool season Nov to April. It is especially green after the rains end of November, and there were lots of butterflies.
If you are driving from Chiang Mai, I would recommend taking the longer scenic route Rt 107 via Fang and Tha Ton. Takes about 5 hours but the scenery is wonderful. En route recommend a coffee stop at Doh Kham Royal Project cafe about 11/2 hours out of CM. Lovely arabica cappuccino and clean loos.

Room Tip: For Honeymooners and Romantics, recommend the Baan Thai Pool villas with sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven R, General Manager at Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear XXXAsia

I am so happy to you enjoyed your holiday with us here in Chiang Rai. The staff and I enjoyed being your host and they send you their regards. Next time you visit I will take you to Lake Mae Suai for some fresh lake fish and then to Doi Mae Salong for some Yunan tea leaf salad. We can eat our way across the Golden Triangle (lol)

Fond regards from Phu Chaisai,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Very special place located in a sea of green. The view from the room is spectacular. Once you are there and you realise how far it is to the nearest shop... you don't miss it at all. The scenic landscape, garden, modest architecture make the place. AND FIRST I SHALL MENTION great, dedicated, carrying PEOPLE that work here with such an enthusiasm.

The food is very good, in particular breakfasts. Those crazy for organics shall feel like home. 99% of food served is local. If you are not lazy you may find garden when greens come from.

Really nice swimming pool and spa.

Regaring expensiveness: generally it is ok but if you want to try "this and that" the bill may surprise you.

STAY HERE AND YOU SHALL NOT REGRET.

Room Tip: all are fine but use it properly: take a look at stars in the middle of the night from your terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great location overall. The pool villa was overlooking Mae Salong Valley and sunset from the swimming pool was gorgeous. Great breakfast. Thai food OK, but again great sightseeing from the restaurant. This is a Green Hotel in a large property. Certain things may be a bit simple, but fully respect the environment. Do not go there expecting a luxurious place, but the emphasis is elsewhere. You go there for the nature and what it has best to offer in a very accessible way. This is the value of Phu Chaisai. And last but not least, as in most places in Thailand the staff is very friendly and efficient attending promptly any request.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We loved this place. It is in the middle of nowhere and we had got there by bicycle (needless to say we were shattered). Our room had a mountain view and was beautiful. Place has a really good vibe and we could have stayed another day. Restaurant over looks the mountain and a large fish pond with noisy bullfrogs. Food was good and we spent a very comfortable hour in the bar area.
We left the shutters open overnight and woke to the amazing view. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

High up in the foothills, a quiet enclave of peace, eager staff keen to please, over 500 hectare to explore, pleasant accommodation though a little more attention to detail is needed, wifi works well, restaurant is fine but not outstanding.
Restaurant coffee was dreadful, the days of stewed cona coffee should be long gone but not here!!!

Room Tip: Further away from reception you move into the forest so to speak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven R, General Manager at Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Maxsamba

Thank you for being our guests and for your kind comments about our friendly staff and the peaceful beauty of our estate. I am terribly disappointed you did not enjoy our organic Chiang Rai Arabica coffee, which has won several cupping championships in Asia, Scandinavia, and the EU. There is no excuse if we failed to make a good cup for you with the quality of beans we have here in Chiang Rai Thailand. Please do email me with details of what you mean by “the days of Cona Coffee” so I can understand how we failed to maintain our coffee standard; our coffee and espresso is brewed from freshly ground beans, we do not use a specialty Cona brand glass vacuum filter coffee maker. Thank you in advance for taking time to write; I hope you will visit Phu Chaisai again and let me make you a perfect cup of coffee or espresso and, if you have time, take you to the farm where the beans are grown, aged and roasted.

Best regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort & Spa

Address: 388 Moo 4, Ban Mae Salong Nai, Mae Chan 57110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Mae Chan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mae Chan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close by but a world away, Phu Chaisai is the iconic Northern Thailand destination resort and one of the first boutique resorts of Thailand and first to incorporate lifestyle and wellness into the holiday experience; For example, yoga and organically grown produce. Set among 500 hectare of unspoiled and lush subtropical mountain forest, peace and tranquility await you at Phu Chaisai. Choose from four room categories: bamboo cottages, mountain cottages, authentic Thai wooden houses, and grande deluxe cottages. All lodging incorporates natural building materials like bamboo and leaf covered roofs to blend into the natural surroundings. There are over sixty seasonal activities and excursions available, from trekking and horseback riding to mediation and yoga. Phu Chaisai is noted for its gentle Northern Thai hospitality, authentic regional Thai cuisine and open-air spa, which offers exceptional value as well as highly skilled therapists. Phu Chaisai is a perfect destination for travelers seeking tranquility and self discovery as part of a fun and enjoyable holiday. At Phu Chaisai you will discover there is no television in our rooms. You may also discover yourself. Phu Chaisai: because sometimes it’s about how you feel in a place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phu Chaisai Mountain Hotel Mae Chan
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort And Spa
Hotel Phu Chaisai Mountain
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort & Spa Thailand/Chiang Rai Province, Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.