We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Cypriot food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa's Koloni Tavern

Costa's Koloni Tavern
Arhiepiskopou Makariou 118, Koloni 83100, Cyprus
(00357) 99175807
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Koloni
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Paphos, Cyprus
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good Cypriot food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The food is generally very good, and there are attempts in adding something extra to some traditional foods. Highly recommended is the pork with fetta sauce. The meats marinated in wine are not very good but that is was the only flaw in terms of food. But I do agree with the other reviewers, smoking is out of control and I will not go back in the winter time when the restaurant is indoors. (in the summer they remove the panels so you are sitting indoors/outdoors)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    9
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Saturday evening Meze”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Booking always advised here.
We didn't know that Saturday was a meze night and was originally looking forward to a mixed grill.
We were far from disappointed the meze was lovely and the dishes kept coming. Very good selection of dishes.
Dancing and music added to the atmosphere and later in evening got very busy.
Service was excellent.
mainly local Cypriot's eating here which speaks volumes.
We live not that far from here so will be visiting again.
Later in the evening they did allow people to smoke within the restaurant which for us none smokers is unpleasant
Would recommend but we will visit another evening and try the normal menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good Taverna, delicious meze marred by one factor !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our group of four individuals decided to go for a meze at the this well known Taverna.
A Monday evening was chosen as we wanted a relatively quieter evening compared to busy week-ends. It was a slightly chilly evening ,surprisingly quite busy for a Monday after eight pm.

The service was of a high standard, with the meze dishes coming at regular intervals.
There were many choices of typical preparations one gets with a meze ranging from lamb, pork,chicken dishes in different forms including souvaki,afelia,gyros' etc .Could not fault the meze choices, all tasty ( apart from one lamb dish that was on the fatty side) and up to expectations. We were pretty full by the ninth dish we had to ask them to stop. Snails as one of the dishes was the only one that one in our group was adventurous to eat; the rest declined. Fresh fruit served with coffee/liqueur on the house at the end. The price at €18 per head was reasonable, and wine also OK at the price.
There was one factor however that marred our visit. That was the number of people smoking inside the Taverna which should not have been allowed but the owners seem to turn a blind eye to this. This doesn't appear to be the first time either, judging from others that have experienced this. Hopefully the owners will take stock of this concern and stamp out this practice in the interest of customers who wish to enjoy their meal without the passive smoke from inconsiderate smokers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Smoker's Restaurant! Beware!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Despite of the friendly service and the "ok"-food: we would never come back.
One third of the guests were smokers and allowed to do so. The other two thirds had to accept.
As mentioned: food was ok, but if you care for real good meze in a great atmosphere try Seven St. Georges Tavern just a few blocks away!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Meze for thanksgiving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Finding a replacement for Thanksgiving is never easy when outside the states, but Costa's mere plate did the trick. We had eaten an early lunch and were both hungry, but by the 8th or 9th course we were already stuffed. We finished our wine before having two desserts that finished us off. The fireplace in the center of the restaurant made you fell warm on a cool evening and smelled great. The place was almost full when we left, but still maintained it's great service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa's Koloni Tavern also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Costa's Koloni Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa's Koloni Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.