We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa's Koloni Tavern

Costa's Koloni Tavern
Arhiepiskopou Makariou 118, Koloni 83100, Cyprus
(00357) 99175807
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 restaurants in Koloni
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Roscommon, Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We arrived at 10:15 on a busy Friday night and they went out of there way to put a table for 6 together. We decided to go for the mixed dips and various fish and meat courses and was prompty served with a feast of mouth watering dishes! It worked out at €25 euros a head inc. 3 carafes of wine! They also had traditional music and some diners also got up to do some traditional dancing...all in all a perfect evening!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    32
    6
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the best cypriot taverns in Paphos area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

A traditional Cypriot tavern. Very friendly and polite staff and very clean. They sometimese have live music. Planty of tasty food-we usually order cypriot meze . If you go there you won't leave hungry!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best restuarant in Paphos Cyprus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I have been living in Cyprus now for five months and we stumbled across this restaurant after many visits holidaying in the past to other restaurants. We all had the meze-well? This was definately the best meze you can get in Paphos, If not Cyprus! the food is well cooked the stifado just melts in the mouth and the ribs lamb not goat, the dips on the meze comes up as a starter with five different dips aubegine and a cheese dip which is to die for, these are all home made. The drinks are just enormous, the atmosphere is fantastic and lovely authentic surroundings with a large brick fire in the middle of the room, which is lovely in the colder months. Myself and my husband have tried nearly every meze and dish at the harbour in Paphos and in and around Paphos itself and we cannot nearly match this food. It is a family run business and has been there for years and the son has now took over four the last four years, very warm atmosphere, not rushed at all, interior is very nice and we have left there some times after a birthday at 3:00am in the morning looking better for wear! The staff are quick and very polite and friendly not intimidating at all, nothing is too much! I really did not want to write this review as we hoped to keep this little bombshell a secret, oh well!! The only reason this is not the busiest restaurant is because it is in Geriskipou just outside on the road to the airport and just back off the road. Enjoy!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paramali
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Authentic and great food!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Just visited this restaurant for the first time and the food was excellent. We did not have starters but were given garlic bread dips and pickled veg on the house. Our main meals were very large and excellent quality, the best chips I've had in Cyprus. Ice cream and fresh fruit given for afters again on the house followed by brandy. The staff were very friendly and attentive and the atmosphere was traditional cypriot with good music. Definately recommended.Very good value for money and we left very full and satisfied.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paphos
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a pity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I had been told that this was a very good restaurant if you wanted to try typically authentic cypriot food so last friday the 20th of april we headed having booked a table in advance, glad we did as it was very busy with locals.

We were a party of six and we all had different choices from the very good menu, my partner and I went for the meze which give you a taste of most of whats on the menu.

I have to say that the food which was excellent and never stopped coming (we had to tell the waiter no more) and the local entertainment with three musicians was first class.

But and I am very sorry to say this as it completely spoiled a very good night why oh why did nearly 80% of the people in the place were they allowed to smoke !!!!! not only is it against the law the people who own the place should clamp down on this as I for one and all the people in our party will not be back because of this please please do something about this as it completely spoilt what should and could have been a grear night.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa's Koloni Tavern also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Costa's Koloni Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa's Koloni Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.