We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE OF THE BETTER RESORTS, GREAT ACCOMMADATION BUT AVERAGE FACILITIES” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liku'alofa Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Liku'alofa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tongatapu Island | Private Bag No.2, Kanokupolu, Tongatapu Island, Tonga   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kanokupolu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
WAIUKU, NEW ZEALAND
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE BETTER RESORTS, GREAT ACCOMMADATION BUT AVERAGE FACILITIES”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

We stayed here for three nights. The accommodation was very good, clean with good furnishings and the grounds and gardens are a delight. The staff were exceptional very friendly and could not do enough for you. The cultural night was a highlight extremely well done and the food was great. If there was a negative it would be the fact there is little or no beach here only rocks. The resort has attempted to put in a sea water swimming pool but as yet this is a work in progress. The restaurant and bar area could certainly do with a tidy up but they have appeal in a way which is hard to explain. Tonga does not have 5 star hotels so do not expect it, this resort is close to the best you can expect apart from the beach. Best part the rooms and staff. The worst the beach.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    78
    20
    9
    1
See reviews for
51
85
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

This was a great place to stay. The staff was extremely nice. This is about as nice as can be found in Tonga. Tonga as a whole is not as developed as most places. Do not forget to eat at friends cafe downtown. The ride to town does take about 25 minutes. The cottages are surprisingly nice. Alls good!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangaparaoa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

We wanted a low cost week in the sun, to escape the New Zealand winter...and we found it at Liku Alofa Resort. We have 4 children (18, 15, 12 and 10) and spent a week during the July School Holidays there. We had read lots of reviews on Tonga and Liku Alofa Resort before we left, so knew not to expect a 5 star experience. We had a double fale, which had a double bed and roll away in each, along with a shower and toilet. They were joined by a door between. We organised a fridge to be in our room on arrival, which it was, and each room also had a kettle for tea and coffee making. Other recent reports we have read about Niku Alofa are very accurate and we agree that the food was very slow in being served and of not a great standard. However, they are trying to improve on this. Buffet night was awesome, and a great way to try the local food. We had 2 barbeques on the beach, organised by the Resort, and was a fun way to meet the other guests. It reminded us of camping in NZ where the kids play together, while the parents have a drink and a chat. They also organised kava for us one night.
On our first day, our children found coconuts lying around on the ground and the staff were more than happy to open them for them. They also enjoyed snorkelling and swimming in the pool (which is still tidal! But on the list of things to fix.)
The owners (Peseti and Tala) are awesome, along with the rest of the staff. They all go out of their way to make the holiday enjoyable. They dropped us at church on Sunday morning, and were there on time to pick us up. They were really accomodating whenever we needed to get into town (about 30minutes by car) We rented their Rav 4 for $50TOG which was great. We would recommend the half day tour too. Mafi, who works for Peseti, has excellent english, and she was our driver and tour guide. It is a great way to learn more about theTongan culture and lifestyle. (There is plenty to see with blowholes, underground caves, bats and old villages.And of course the dogs and pigs roaming the streets everywhere!)
We went to Fafa Island for the day, which we booked through our Resort, and don't think they had a margin in it, as we paid Fafa Island resort directly. Peseti and staff just want your holiday to be enjoyable and hassle free.
Along the same stretch of beach are other resorts (Surf Camp, Otuhaka Resort and Vakaloa Resort) which can be walked to via the beach.
We have been to Fiji 7 or 8 times, but it has just got too expensive to take the family. But you need to realize Tonga is still developing it's tourism and does not have the 5 star chain hotels you would find in Fiji. We found the Tongans equally as friendly as the Fijians, however.
We would recommend Tonga and Liku Alofa Resort to friends, who don't expect 5 star, but want a friendly warm holiday during winter.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

We have just spent 9 days staying at the Liku'Alofa with our 9 year old children. We loved it and it was perfect place to have a relaxing break away from a cold NZ winter.

The staff are just fantastic here and do their best to ensure that your stay with them is a happy one. The rooms as described here by many are clean and comfortable. They are serviced every day. We had TV in our room and a small fridge (ask before you book). The TV had a satellite receiver with pay TV - unfortunately the reception was patchy. I suspect a problem with their satellite dish or coaxial wiring.

I was slightly disappointed in the swimming pool in that when the tide goes out so does the water from the pool, but it is brilliant at high tide. I know the owner has this on his list of things to fix so maybe this will be resolved soon.

The grounds of the resort are clean and the gardens are very pretty and will get better as they become better established.

I agree with most of the reviewers here in regard to the restaurant food - it was somewhat disappointing and expensive (for what you got) however also they are aware of this and working to improve on this - this is the area which the Liku'alofa needs to improve most if it wants to be successful longer term. The buffet meals were great. They also had a couple of "theme" nights while we were there (BBQ and curry night) which were goodfor meeting the other guests and the food was good at these (and reasonably priced). They had just hired a new chef while we were there and so hopefully they can improve on this area.

A twenty minute walk away is a lovely snorkelling beach (Ha'atafu) with incredible coral and millions of fish. We went there most days and the kids loved snorkelling there. If the tide is out at Likualofa swimming is still good there.

We hired the jeep for half of our stay and travelled around the island extensively. This is definitely the way to go for seeing many of the little gems that you may not see on a tour or going back to the ones you wanted to spend more time at.

I would definitely recommend a stay at Liku'alofa for families with kids or anyone who justs want to have a relaxing stay at a beautiful place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

Accommodation is relatively new and so is quite good (by Tonga standards 5 stars)and clean (few minor problems with bathroom doors).
Our double fale had no TV reception(nothing really on Tonga TV anyway), but a DVD player was on offer. I just hope they have a better selection than the DVD's we were given!
The resorts location is a little bit isolated, but a shuttle or rental car can be organized.
The beach at the actual resort is very "corally", but you can either walk further up the coast or use the pool.
Staff in general are friendly and helpful, but things definitely happened on "Tongan Time"
Its clear the resort is making improvements in many areas, but at the time of our stay the food was still a big letdown. Resort was almost empty but still the kitchen struggled to cook our food properly.
This poor quality combined with the price would have me urging caution if you intend to source your meals from the resort.
A new cook has been brought in,so maybe this situation is already improved?
The grounds are nice,with lots of flowers and coconut/papaya trees and you get a good view of the setting sun from the resort.
Communication when trying to book the accommodation before our stay was really good,which was not the case with many other attempted bookings for other places.

In summing up, this could be really good, but there is still work to be done.
GOOD: Accommodation and grounds are amongst best I saw in our stay
BAD:Food

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

Having just returned from Likualofa Resort I have to say that we had researched Tonga prior to booking and also read the reviews on offer here on trip advisor and decided to go ahead with the destination as it was close to home, neither of us had visited the country before, the weather was forcast as pleasant time to visit so we set off with an open mind with not very high expectations - which we were prepared to accept as we just wanted somewhere to relax instead of having to rush here and there every day.
I really have to pretty much agree with the review written 15May by USA/NZ.
Their review is very comprehensive and pretty much spot on.
The main thing is to keep in mind apart from the 'open mind' is that you will very quickly and easily fit into 'Tonga Time' and that is Tonga at first glance. Although this would be unacceptable at home here in a civilised country in the rat race in which we live, it is so laid back in Tonga that time is certainly NOT of the essence..which is actually a nice feeling..it's kinda like whatever/whenever..therefore it's easy to get into the holiday mode right away.
The Fales's at the resort are fairly new and are very clean and comfortable. The TV's work in some but there is also the DVD player to borrow if you absolutley have to have TV.
Management are in the process of trying to fix the pool so that the water remains there after high tide. Apart from that the beach is also certainly swimable at high tide and is clean most of the time although I would recommend reef shoes be worn. A sandy beach is also just a short walk away.I believe that deckchairs are being looked into as well as was mentioned in a previous review there is currently only one.
The only thing that does let the resort down is the food in some cases.
You couldnt really fault the breakfasts, there's a lot to choose from and it was always enjoyable.
The Sunday Buffet is nice offering a good selection.
The lunch menu is fairly vast but the quality is the problem and the same issue lies with dinner although the selection of offer is not alot they do allow you to also choose from the lunch menu for dinner which I found to be a bit of a relief.Now having said that they are aware of the problems with the food..but this is also a case of what is available produce wise for the locals to purchase as well as the quality.They are really trying to improve in this area and made some changes even when we were there which were positive changes and when we tried the dishes we were pleasantly suprised.They are also on the look out for a new chef and are going through the motions for that right now, so once that has been sorted I'm sure there will be a huge improvemnt on that side of things.
The Polynesian Show Wed/Fri nights are well worth a watch - very entertaining.
The grounds of the resort are very pleasant and have been very well done as far as lay out of plants go but I have to agree with a previous review and say that they could be kept a little cleaner..you do see the odd papers, empty bottles, broken thongs etc. lying around from time to time..they could also do with having at least one rubbish bin set somewhere on the grounds.
Refering to the power shortages of a previous review..we had 3 or 4 shortages over a 12day period but all but one only lasted 10-15mins and the other happened at aprox 4am for about 2hours so they were not really of a serious concern.
The transport that is on offer for getting in and out of town I think is a great help and convience for guests. The ride takes aprox 20mins and we found we had ample time in which to make a few purchases, have lunch etc in time for the ride back.Friends Cafe is highly recommended for a bite whilst in town.
Having said that there is also the RAV4 on offer for TOP50 per day if you'd like to take a drive around the island - it's an easy place to drive around - next to no traffic (apart from dogs, chooks and pigs) and the speed limit is 40-65km p/hour so it's another thing that's very relaxed- no seat belts required either.
I simply and honestly cannot speak highly enough of the hosts and staff of Likualofa Resort. They are all such happy and friendly people and cannot do enough to please you. Nothing is ever a problem for anyone. All you have to do is ask.
Something else that we can also recommend is Deep Blue Tours with Sam. He operates anything to do with water whether it's a island/snorkelling tour, diving, whale watching etc..Sam's your man..!!We had an enjoyable day out with him snorkelling and went to Pantimogou Is. which also included a delicious lunch..not only that he is a lovely pleanant guy and very knowledgeable.
We also took a visit to Fa Fa Island which was another enjoyable day trip.
All in all we enjoyed our trip to Tonga and would not say 'no' to going back again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA/New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

Tonga is Tonga...it is not a 5 star island...even the 'expensive' places don't sound 'top notch'. But, we only had enough airpoints to get us a far as Tonga (from New Zealand) and once we booked our tickets, we started to research the island. From all we read, we decided to not expect too much...except for a relaxing & quiet time. We enjoyed it...all!!! I think if you go with an open mind, ready to experience a TOTALLY different culture & lifestyle, you'll have a good time. If you expect the quality of food & service to be like it would be in New Zealand, or in the USA (where I'm originally from), then you'll be disappointed...and not only in where you stay, but in many things about the country. It is very poor...and, the people are very "Island"... we bought a picnic luch one day at a 'supermarket' and the selection was VERY small...many items past their 'use by' date...so you just have to 'roll with the flow'...

Now, about Liku'alofa...we went with an open mind...we had read some of the bad reviews, but no place we read about seemed 'perfect' and they offered the best package. We had 8 nights for the price of 6, with breakfast included, airport transfers included, and transport into town included. "Town" is about 25-30 minutes away (you have to drive at 40-65 kms/hr). The main thing to mention is that this is a NEW venture...the Polynesian dance shows & buffets (Wed & Fri nights) have been going for a couple of years (& they were GREAT!!! Comparable to shows I've seen in Hawaii), but the accommodation & restaurant part is NEW!!! This has its pro's & con's. There are MANY places in Tonga that are run down...some of the 'nicer' places have let themselves go...so it is nice to have new fales, etc.

We stayed in a single fale & it was clean, roomy and comfortable. Building standards are not the same so some things were just funny...like the soap dish that kept falling off its hook on the shower wall...but it's Tonga! Just smile :-) Anyway, we were very happy with our room. The TV's haven't been hooked up yet, but it's 'in the plans'... we did borrow the DVD player & some DVD's for a couple of nights...but honestly, we were there to have some peace & quiet so the lack of a TV was just fine. The housecleaning was good...and if anything was missed, you just have to ask.

We bought duty free alcohol in NZ & kept them in our little fridge...we borrowed glasses from the kitchen & made our own drinks. Saved on cost quite a lot (good tip there!!!!)

The food does let them down a bit...but they have just hired a professional Canadian resort manager to 'shake things up' (they are trying) & she is concentrating a lot on the restaurant side... in saying that, our eggs were never cold...they were yummy & served with toast & fresh fruit, we always had a good start to the day (for all 8 mornings...and we were the only ones there for 7 of them). The sashimi, ota'ika, and fish & chips were our standard meals & they were all VERY yummy! As was the buffet (very 'Tongan' in style, but very good) . Meals EVERYWHERE in Tonga were high in cost compared to NZ, but one visit to the store & you could see why. Food is VERY expensive there. So, I think that with the help of the new manager, the food part of the resort is on the improve!! We did buy a few things we could make/eat in our room so that we didn't eat 3 meals a day, every day, at the resort...to save a bit of money (just remember to check the expiry dates!!!)

The pool is a saltwater pool, but even at low tide, you can wade out and paddle around. The beachfront is protected from the waves by a reef so I found it safe & fun to swim & snorkel in. Just take your neoprene beach shoes or your flippers & you won't have to worry about a bit of bumpy coral.

We rented the resorts Toyota Rav for TOP$50/day...twice....no hassles, paperwork or worries. It was nice to have it be 'stress free'.

We were shuttled into town 3 times...twice to 'shop' while they did their town errands, and one day they dropped us off in the morning & picked us up in the afternoon...so we could do the AWESOME snorkelling tour with Captain Sam of "Deep Blue" (VERY recommended!!!!!! we did the inner reef snorkle tour, but you can go diving, deep sea fishing, etc). Anyway, it was great to be able to get rides into town & not be charged for it.

The staff was all GREAT!!! Friendly & helpful (and though Tonga is the 'friendly' island, there are different levels of 'friendly'). We left feeling as though we had made some really good friends.

We will definitely go back.... any of the "negatives" are being addressed...its hard to start up something new...and the owner is a self funded guy....no American millionaires have come in & given him $ to do everything he has planned up front so he is doing what he can, as he can.

So, don't be afraid of the 'bad' reviews...this place is on the way up! Go with an open mind...and don't forget...you are in a foreign country...things will be different...Tongan culture & Tongan time & Tongan expectations are different to what most Westerners are used to...but, you are a guest in their country...so relax....and enjoy the differences...you'll be back home soon enough!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Likualofa, Front Office Manager at Liku'alofa Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Malo e Lelei Collin
. Thank you for such a great review and for choosing to stay with us at The Beach of Love on your Tonga visit. We will remember you for a long time and especially Pooky Josiah,
Thank you again and hope to see you all again sometime somewhere ..

Malo 'Aupito
Nancy and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Liku'alofa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liku'alofa Beach Resort

Address: Tongatapu Island | Private Bag No.2, Kanokupolu, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Kanokupolu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kanokupolu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Liku'alofa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the west coast of Tongatapu, Liku'alofa Beach Resort lines the beach front with 11 fale’s (Bungalows) five single and five duplex fales (15 rooms), a tree top bar & restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week which is overlooking the ocean, very convenient for whale- watching or simply gazing at the sunset with your favorite cocktail. We also have a tidal swimming pool, camping grounds, a business center, free wifi. We can host private functions such as weddings, birthdays, anniversaries, reunions and many more.From the minute we pick you up from the airport, to the time we bid you farewell, your stay will be enriched with unique Tongan experience of its history, culture, tradition, and why we're called "the friendly islands". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Liku'alofa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liku`Alofa Beach Hotel Kanokupolu
Liku'Alofa Beach Resort Tonga/Kanokupolu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liku'alofa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.