We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in a great area for nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salbohed Garden Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Salbohed Garden Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Salbohed Garden Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kopparbergsvagen 40, Salbohed 730 71, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Salbohed B&B and Inns
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in a great area for nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

My wife and I had a lovely short stay, full board, with our friendly hosts Johan & Wilma. Our accomodation was arranged by the bird guide Daniel Green (birdsafarisweden) so we didnt know what to expect but we were not disappointed. Very comfortable, good facilities, we recommend the evening meals too. This area of Sweden is very good for birds and other wildlife and only a couple of hours from Stockholm.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
21
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed here several nights as part of a bird-watching tour. The hosts, Johan and Vilma Akkerman, really made us feel at home. The room we had was spacious, clean, and lovely, with modern furnishings. Buffet breakfast was a typically modest affair with yogurt, fruits, breads, etc.but supper was a different matter altogether. Vilma prepared excellent, tasty meals. We did not have any special dietary requirements, so we simply took what she offered and it was great - chicken, turkey, and fish on different nights.I expect she could cook whatever was requested if you did have some restrictions. The dining area with its stove was nice and toasty after days out in the cold. There are several rooms in the main house, which is where we stayed, but they also have rooms in several other buildings. We did not see them so this review of the room only applies to the main house. Also, as this stay was part of a tour, we did not pay directly so I do not know the cost. Being Sweden, however, I am sure it was expensive.

A couple of other Swedish guests were there who said they come simply to enjoy the countryside after working in Stockholm, so the place appeals to the local tastes as well.

A small note of caution. This place is very popular with weddings and other group activities, and Vilma said they sometimes have up to 80 guests. I expect the service may differ somewhat if you happen to visit during one of these events.

In any case, if visiting the Vasteras / central Sweden region, this is an excellent country retreat.

Room Tip: We loved our room in the main building and suggest you try to get one there as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We were greeted graciously and had lovely accomodations. Salbohed is a great b&b in a very scenic location. The rooms are comfortable with large space. In our three-nights stay there, we did enjoy our visit to those quiet, peaceful and beautiful lakes and villages. Johan & Wilma, are very helpful with information about nearby sightseeing. Our breakfast was excellent. We would be very glad to reccommend this B&B for a vacation spot full of wonderful memories.
.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanersborg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We only stayed one night bat this hotel is one of the best that we have stayed on, period!!!
The atmosphere is "just like home" and you feel welcome right away.
Best is the couple the owns the place, Johan and Wilma, a Dutch couple the moved to Sweden 4 years ago.
They also arrange alot of activities like owl scouting and power walking.
Great value for money

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Wilma and Johan are wonderful innkeepers. This property is large and includes extensive walking trails, a ski tow and many interesting features. The breakfasts were hearty and diverse. The innkeepers are knowledgeable about the local area and can help arrange all types of outdoor activities. The room was comfortable and clean. We were there for three nights and really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
småland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

So often when you are traveling alone,you get the smaler room. But not here!
Romms, food, envirionment, service, everything is just great.
Maybe this ispossible for many hotels but there is one thing you can not create.
And that is the energy within the hotel.
That comes from the people who run the place, Johan and Wilma.
Warm, friendly like you come home, to friends.
It was just awsome.................................thank you Johan and Wilma

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Very friendly hosts...whom made us feel welcome from the beginning. Large and clean rooms. Good breakfast. Location/setting was beautiful; although not too much to do. Wilma suggested an excellent restaurant in nearby Sala. Very thoughtful all round. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Salbohed Garden Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salbohed Garden Bed & Breakfast

Address: Kopparbergsvagen 40, Salbohed 730 71, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Swedish Lakeland > Vastmanland County > Salbohed
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Salbohed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Salbohed Garden Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Salbohed Garden Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salbohed Garden Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.