We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“black orchid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Orchid Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Black Orchid Resort to your Saves list
Black Orchid Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Dawson Lane | Belize District, Burrell Boom, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Upgrade to Luxury Suite
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrell Boom
Lorain, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“black orchid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

we stayed at the black orchid for thee nights.it was a very wonderful stay.the staff were very nice and out going and helpful.the hotel it self is very nice and clean.food was good.air conditioning was excellent.the site is next to the river very nice.i just have to say i will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    81
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
86
144
22
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at the Black Orchid for a couple days when I arrived in Belize, and two more before I flew out of the country. No complaints at all. Clean, modern rooms, excellent service and even saw a howler monkey with baby twenty feet away from where I was sitting having breakfast. Mr. Thompson who runs the place is a member of the Belize Tourist Board and sure knows his business. Justine at the reception desk, the ever-professional Beverley, and the dining staff are all very good at their jobs. The lady who served me breakfast even remembered I had milk but no sugar in my tea! Free pick-up from the airport is a welcome touch.

If you want to be sure of a quality hotel for your stay near Belize City, this is a perfect introduction to Belize - friendly, safe, efficient and comfortable.

Cheers,
Kevin Casey (the Remote River Man)
Brisbane Australia

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed here recently and cannot say enough about how friendly and accommodating the staff was. Brenda went out of her way to make sure our stay was perfect. I have honestly never seen a staff who cares so much about their guests.
I found the food to be delicious. The menu offers a wonderful variety and every meal that I had was delicious.
Thank you for sharing your beautiful country with me!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, AB
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We rented cars and didn't want to drive in Belize City. Our rental manager in Placencia recommended this resort.

Wonderful location! Very close and easy drive to the airport but in a rural setting on a beautiful river.

We stayed in the villa and it was very comfortable for six adults. They did everything to make our stay enjoyable.

The pool with the Howler Monkeys overhead was great. We enjoyed a paddle on the river. Didn't see a lot of wildlife but we were on it during the middle of the day. Most probably better in the early morning. Did see a flock of green parrots fly over the villa in the early morning.

Definitely recommend this resort if you wish to stay on the outskirts of the Belize City area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Immaculately clean rooms and welcoming staff provide a comfortable, enjoyable stay. We stayed in room A3 which was spacious with two double beds (extra long - if you are six feet tall your feet won't hang out over the end), a porch overlooking the river, a very clean bathroom, orchids strewn across the bed spread and enough towels for four people, if somewhat quirky decor. The in-room hotel directory warns that small gecko's may run into the room if the door is open but we did not see any. Remember, you are in the 'jungle' of Belize. If you are looking for frette sheets, you are in the wrong place.

The resort is under construction as it looks like they are increasing it by another building. We used the resort as a 'launch pad' to explore the area, with guides, and did not notice any noise. We left by 9 am and returned after 6 pm. I imagine if we stayed the whole day by the pool our experience may have been different. I would recommend ear plugs (since it's better to have them and not need them, than need them and not have them) as there was a rooster from a neighboring property that started crowing one morning at 4:30.

Dinner was exceptionally good and cost $ 10 - $ 15 US per entree. The fish was fresh and the locally grown vegetables delicious. I understand cruise ship passengers visit for lunch given the skilled chef and the lovely river location.

The hotel has a very nice feature in that they will pick you up at the airport. The hotel was also very accomodating when mechanical failure on our airplane in the US caused us to miss our connecting flight to Belize, making us a day late.

The Black Orchid is very close to the Altun Ha Mayan ruins and less than an hour drive to the Cave Tubing National Park. The hotel can arrange tours but we had booked before arriving through other providers. It's also easier to get to the Lamanai River Tour to the Mayan Ruins from here than from the ferry/cruise ship terminal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My daughter and I spent 2 nights at this resort while we were on the mainland. It's close to Belize City but far enough away so you get the feeling you are in the forest. If you're looking to party it up then look else where. This is a quiet resort right on the Belize River. A very peaceful and tranquil setting makes for a relaxing stay. As you lounge around the pool reading a book, the howler monkeys are in the trees nearby. Birds are chirping, monkeys are howling and people are relaxing. It sure couldn't get any better.
The staff picks you up at the airport and they are more than happy to explain the villages and culture of Belize. Orlando, Eddie, and Ryan were all very helpful and enjoyable to be around. The food was very good.... not made by a 5 star chef but even better. A Belizan woman who cooked for the guest as she would her own family. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the shower was very hot!!!
They are all friendly but also did not envade your privacy. On our way to the Belize Zoo, Eddie let us stop a a local market to check it out. I was very interested in seeing how people live in this country and we were lucky enough to have the drivers show us.
I would highly recommend families spend a couple of nights here so that your children can learn that there is more in life than TV and video games. It was a wonderful cultural experience and I will be going back to Black Orchid Resort again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Two of my girlfriends and I, having done Cancun last year, decided to do Belize this year. We chose the Black Orchid for our 6 day stay. Their many options for excursions was the main reason, as the three of us had different interests. Between us, we did the Zoo, Crooked Tree, Lamanai Ruins, snorkeling on Caye Caulker, 1000 foot falls, the Rio On Caves and pools and the monkey sancuary. Oh, and I got a massage. And Doug, the owner, took us on a night river cruise, spotting crocodiles. We even had one free day at the resort, to lay around the pool and drink. Our package included breakfasts and dinners, and most of our excursions included lunches. Drinks and extra meals were available. We could order off the menu, or also in the morning, eat from the breakfast buffet set up in the pool house. The buffet included several fruits, juice, tea, coffee, and usually several bread choices (muffiins, cinammon rolls, journey cakes, scones, etc). For dinner, one could order from the "specials" list, which always included a soup, several entree choices, and a dessert. Or you could order from the menu as well. Between the three of us, over six days, we had only one disappointing meal-the chicken strips that day were overcooked. All other meals we had were great. They know how to cook shrimp! And btw, their coffe is awesome.

The only issue we had the entire time was that we had booked a room with three seperate beds, but our room only had two. We were given the option of moving to the cottage, which had seperate beds but is not on the riverfront, or staying in our room and having another bed added. We liked our room and it had enough space for the extra bed, so we stayed. Also, the bathroom was plenty large enough for three women and accessories. The sink/closet area is seperate from the bedroom, and the toilet/shower is then seperate from the sink area. The closet was good sized, and there were also 5 big shelves along the wall so there was plenty of storage area. We had a lovely large covered deck overlooking the river. There is construction going on as they are adding another building to the resort, however this never bothered us. The room had a/c and a ceiling fan, which was more than enough to keep everything cool. The beds were comfortable, and everything is up to date and kept clean. I'm sure that can be hard to do in the jungle.

Let me just say I have never stayed anywhere where the people were as helpful, friendly and welcoming as they are here. Within a day we knew everyone's name and they knew us! I don't think I ever hear the word "no". Everyone was eager to make sure we had whatever we needed. We loved all the staff and we were so sad to leave! The three of us agreed, wherever we go next year for our "girl's trip abroad" will have a tough time competing with this one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Orchid Resort

Address: 2 Dawson Lane | Belize District, Burrell Boom, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize District > Burrell Boom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrell Boom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Orchid Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belize has such contrasts from the beaches to the jungle to the Mayan ruins, from the rivers to the Cayes, a good base from which to see it all, is the Black Orchid Resort on the banks of the Belize Old River on the outskirts of Burrell Boom Village, just fifteen minutes from the international airport so it’s easy to reach and easy to leave from. Just a short distance away from Belize City and the airport, the resort is also within about an hour’s drive of most of the country’s mainland attractions, making it a convenient launching point for your vacation adventures. We provide accommodations with an ambiance of environmental radiance, alluring air conditioned rooms and immaculate, quiet and safe grounds. We are an excellent alternative to Belize City and gateway to all Belize has to offer; with knowledgeable guides and transportation for snorkeling, deep sea fishing, cave tubing, Maya Ruin tours, complimentary international airport shuttle, free use of kayaks, canoes, peddle boats and free wireless internet access. Your safety is our business. Come let us show you Belize ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Orchid Hotel Burrell Boom
Black Orchid Belize City
Black Orchid Resort Belize/Burrell Boom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Orchid Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.