We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A second stay at the Black Orchid Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Orchid Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Black Orchid Resort to your Saves list
Black Orchid Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Dawson Lane | Belize District, Burrell Boom, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrell Boom
Certificate of Excellence 2014
gulf shores
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
“A second stay at the Black Orchid Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night on our recent trip to Belize. The following morning we were on our way to San Ignacio Cayo We pick this place so we do not have to stay in Belize City. But that is not the only reason to stay here. The hotel is very nice. The folks are freindly. We talked with the owner Doug and he showed us the new 11 room building being constructed. We talked to Beverly who is a kind soul. Her mom Evelyn is the cook there and the food is fantastic. The last time we were there we went to church with Beverly's Mom Evelyn and her father. We feel like we are home with family when we stay here. This is truly the Belize experience and we sure appreciate it. The rooms are large, clean and have nice comfortable beds. There are ceiling fans and air conditioning. As I said the food is fantastic. The resort is on the river and it is just up the road from the Community Baboon Sanctuary. My wife and I have a few more things we want to do in Belize and when we go back we will stay again at the Black Orchid Resort. Go and enjoy and say hi to all my freinds.

Room Tip: There all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    90
    29
    12
    5
See reviews for
91
155
24
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Even if you could imagine a beautiful riverside resort at the edge of virgin jungle with superior amenities, friendly staff and professional management you'd still be blown away by the Black Orchid Resort just outside Belize City, on Burrell Boom. Don't let the reviews fool you. This is best resort in all of Belize. Being outside the city allows you to hear the incredible variety of birds chirping and singing in the morning, punctuated by Howler Monkeys. On the grounds you'll walk among Iguanas, Chameleons in colors you've never seen, and trees sporting wild bromeliads in their branches.
I've only just touched the surface of this spectacular place. I must comment on the service: Attentive, professional, personalized and friendly. We felt like family. They were most accommodating when our plans changed and we were able to extend our stay. Free transport to the airport is only a sample of all the amenities they offer. If you're going to Belize City this is a must stay.

Room Tip: New, VIP rooms are under construction. I'm looking forward to those. The lower price rooms in bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had high hopes for the Black Orchid, given the number of positive reviews. All most all of the staff were friendly and accomodating, but there were things we found lacking. Our meals were mediocre to poor, and though we were comped the most inedible of our dinners it didn't really make up for the overall poor quality and limited choices. The first evening my fish was cold and so salty I couldn't eat it. Although there is a dinner menu we were told ( the first night) that we could only order from the 3 "specials"....and then saw other diners order from the menu. The continental breakfast the first morning , was bountiful ( several fruits, several baked goods, cheese, juice) but the second morning very sparse (only watermelon and 1 bread choice)....so instead we went into the restuarant and ordered...when we mentioned the difference in the breakfast, Beverly (the manager) made sure we were not charged for the continental breakfast in the restuarant. It is great that the manager immediately tried to make us happy, but this was as confusing to us as the dinner. We locked ourselves out of our room, and there was no second key available, so Beverly removed the screen and crawled through the window! certainly did not make us feel secure! The was no fire alarm in the room and no safe for locking away passports and valuables. The room was clean and well furnished with coffee service (very appreciated). All in all, we felt not a great value for the dollars spent. Too bad, because it is a convienent location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackOrchid_10, Owner at Black Orchid Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear valued guest, thank you very much for your feedback we truly appreciate it. I am sorry that your stay at our resort was lest than you expected. The week prior to your visit we added 2 new cooks and have made changes since then. We have been in business going on 8 years now and never offered a free continental breakfast until the week you stayed with us. In an effort to accommodate our guest that are early risers we decided to make coffee available even before the restaurant opens, having done that one guest requested that we add cakes so we did that, then we added fruits. Now our guests are asking for cereals so we have ordered cereal dispensers to enable us to accommodate that request. We now know that many of our guests love the idea of a free continental breakfast so now it is our commitment to improve the offering and make free continental breakfast a standard offering of the Black Orchid Resort. Thanks again for your input.
Kind regards,
Doug Thompson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at this resort, excellent location and service. We where picked up from the Airport and the check-in was fast, the restaurant was good and service always with smile.
My friend was Veg he didn't have too many options but they did help making some things for him with no meet.
Only thing didn't like is their complimentary buffet breakfast , it was nothing except for some fruits and muffin ,,, no cereal/bread and I don't think we could survive on that so we had to order breakfast and pay for it if not would have given them a 5 star.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colima, Mexico
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Delightful stay here. Right on the river. Good food, fair prices. Great service, helpful staff.
Breakfast was a bit skimpy, and breakfast room over the river made up for it. Great trees with sleeping iguanas, bromeliads, and orchids.

Room Tip: A 3 and A 4 have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at Black Orchid for 3 nights, as a family group of 5 adults and 2 children, during the height of the Christmas/New Year holidays. We were very happy we stayed here and hope to return some day.

ROOMS: Our large party took three of the four rooms in what I think is the best-situated building, "Allison", and we were able to compare these rooms. The upper (A3 and A4) were spacious, and have a wide patio with chairs, that look out into the canopy of two gigantic tropical trees (figs?), and the emerald-green Belize River is just a few meters beyond these trees. A3 is adjacent to the pool and may have a slightly better view. My wife and I stayed in A4. The rooms were larger than I expected, even after having seen photos. A3 and A4 each have two queen beds, and a small table plus chairs. The décor was quirky; there are a few brightly-colored paintings, and I liked the several glass conch-shell wall light coverings (on a dimmer so you can adjust the mood/heat output). The bedspreads and pillowcases in A4 were inexplicably decorated with grizzly bears enjoying a Canadian forest. The bedspreads in A2 looked more Belizean at first, but on closer inspection those are Orca whales, not dolphins. That's OK; I admire a quirky personality. A/C in the rooms was robust and as chilly as we wanted; a nice respite after exploring steamy jungles. There are ceiling fans too, which might give the mosquitos a little more exercise as they hunt you down. (It isn't a criticism of Black Orchid that there are mosquitos in the room; I think any lodging in the county with doors will have a few inside. Welcome to the tropics!) The A4 bathroom was large, with generous storage space, a large tiled shower with awesome water pressure, and screened windows that can be opened for ventilation. We spent a little time visiting family in the downstairs room A2. The furniture was a little fancier than the upstairs rooms (glass and aluminum instead of wood), the TV was much larger, and A2 contained a large king bed with a towering rustic head-board. A2 also contained a mini-fridge which we didn't have upstairs. The view of the river itself is a bit better downstairs (not occluded by tree canopy), but I enjoyed the upstairs balcony for bird watching.

MEALS: You will probably dine at the resort, as there are no other options nearby. Fortunately, the food is quite good. We ate breakfast and dinner here three times each. Maybe because the resort was at full capacity, or maybe because this is Belize, food took a long time to arrive – 45-to-60-minutes – so we learned to place our order 45 minutes before we were ready to sit down. My favorite dinner dishes were the whole red snapper and the seafood combo (fish + lobster + shrimp + conch = happy!) My favorite breakfast discovery were the Fry Jacks: this Belizean pastry is like a thin slightly sweet pancake, lightly fried into a puffy triangle of contentment. Stuff with apricot jam and you'll want to sing along with the howler monkeys outside.

LOCATION: The hotel is 15 minutes away from the airport. Black Orchid offers a complimentary shuttle, but we rented a van (from Crystal) and the resort was easy to find from the directions on their website (which were, ironically, a little hard to locate on their website). With a vehicle, you can visit the small groceries in nearby Burrell Boom. You can bike there too with a complementary resort bike, but it will take about 10 minutes to reach, and you will be sharing the road with vehicles. Otherwise, Black Orchid is isolated – in a good way, with a lazy tropical river and a rural atmosphere. While we visited, construction was underway on an additional building that will hold more guests. During the day this was occasionally noisy – especially a generator – but the construction hours mainly coincided with our day-trip adventures, and wasn't an inconvenience.

GROUNDS & WILDLIFE: My favorite aspect of Black Orchid was its jungle atmosphere. The hotel doesn't have a nature walk per se, but there is a buffer of huge old trees and smaller palms between the sprawling hotel grounds and the neighboring properties, and more large trees on the property. It is very scenic; the trees are full of orchids, bromeliads, and other epiphytes, and the buildings blend in with the jungle surroundings. A conference center has a large thatched roof that is being colonized by jungle plants. There are howler monkeys in the neighborhood, but sightings are not guaranteed. We saw them on one of our three days. The trees and river attract dozens of species of birds, and I walked around just after dawn every morning to find them. On the property, I saw: Lineated Woodpeckers, a Great Kiskadee catching a lizard, Yellow-winged Tanager, a Clay-Colored Thrush, American Redstarts, various Kingfishers, Hummingbirds, an Ivory-Billed Woodcreeper, several shy but noisy Brown Jays, and tons of grackles. I saw many Red-Lored parrots and Olive-Throated parakeets, although they were usually in flight. Sadly, there were no toucans; according to staff, they don't generally visit at this time of year (December). A big fat resident Yellow-Head parrot named "Who Da Bird" lives in a tree next to the pool; he's apparently too big to fly. The monstrous trees near the river each have multiple resident iguanas – some very large – but they have many hiding places and may be hard to spot. I also saw basilisks and some small lizards. After sundown the ubiquitous geckos scurry around everywhere, and one evening we had a large tree frog on the wall right outside our room.

ACTIVITIES: We loved the canoeing from the Black Orchid dock. The owner, Doug, helped us pick vests and oars and board two of the complementary hotel canoes. The river is wide, emerald green, and moves very slowly. We passed a few small farms or houses, but the river banks were mainly lush jungle. There were no other boats, and we could apparently travel for miles upstream, but we only spent 2 hours on the water. I wish we had time enough for a half-day river canoeing adventure. We saw plenty of birds, and enormous iguanas perched in the vegetation along the river. On another day, we took a trip to Lamanai we had reserved via Black Orchid. We reserved weeks before we arrived, and advise others to do the same if traveling at peak time; it is much harder for any hotel or operator to guarantee a tour spot at the last minute. As a tour organizer, Black Orchid was a little disorganized around the edges. Black Orchid staff drove us to a boat launch in a vehicle that really wasn't large enough for our group, where a professional Lamanai guide took over, but the handoff was a bit confused; there were several groups milling about not knowing what boat/captain they belonged with. Our main guide (Hilberto) was a great guide, with deep knowledge of the ruins and Mayan culture. We also appreciated all the animals he found for us on the boat ride safari, including a few hidden nocturnal birds.

STAFF: We dealt with many staff members over our three days, and all were cheery and accommodating. Staff were helpful with information about the property, and with driving advice for the day we had a van. Thank you Beverly and Doug and Brian and all the other Black Orchidians who helped make our Belizean holiday so enjoyable!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, NJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

On the positive side, the staff was very friendly, the pool is beautiful, the rooms were fine, and the tour we took to Lamanai was wonderful. We loved seeing the family of monkeys right outside of our room, the hammocks by the river, seeing the parrot outside the restaurant and the lizards walking around. On the negative side, they really need better management of the restaurant. On more than one occasion some people were finished eating before the others were served -- and the quality of the food varied greatly even with people at the same table ordering the same item. (3 people ordered the exact same thing-- 2 out of 3 had cold food, no butter on the potato and no dressing on the salad, but they were finished eating before they saw what they missed.) One morning, I went to the breakfast buffet at 8 AM and they were out of glasses, plates, napkins and most of the food. It took a very long time for them to replenish the food -- and the buffet was going to be open for two more hours. The place seems to have a lot of potential. By the way, there didn't seem to be any viable alternative in the area to eating at the resort. The town of Burrell Boom is quite run down and I didn't see anything else around.

Also, I'm not sure why they don't just buy more pool towels. It's a long story, but when I told them that my husband finally gave up and dried off on a used towel that was lying around, they did offer an apology and managed to get some.

I really enjoyed my time in San Pedro a lot more, but the trip to Lamanai made the visit inland worth while.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Orchid Resort

Address: 2 Dawson Lane | Belize District, Burrell Boom, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize District > Burrell Boom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrell Boom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Orchid Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belize has such contrasts from the beaches to the jungle to the Mayan ruins, from the rivers to the Cayes, a good base from which to see it all, is the Black Orchid Resort on the banks of the Belize Old River on the outskirts of Burrell Boom Village, just fifteen minutes from the international airport so it’s easy to reach and easy to leave from. Just a short distance away from Belize City and the airport, the resort is also within about an hour’s drive of most of the country’s mainland attractions, making it a convenient launching point for your vacation adventures. We provide accommodations with an ambiance of environmental radiance, alluring air conditioned rooms and immaculate, quiet and safe grounds. We are an excellent alternative to Belize City and gateway to all Belize has to offer; with knowledgeable guides and transportation for snorkeling, deep sea fishing, cave tubing, Maya Ruin tours, complimentary international airport shuttle, free use of kayaks, canoes, peddle boats and free wireless internet access. Your safety is our business. Come let us show you Belize ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Black Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Orchid Hotel Burrell Boom
Black Orchid Belize City
Black Orchid Resort Belize/Burrell Boom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Orchid Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.