We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Orchid Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Black Orchid Resort to your Saves list
Black Orchid Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Dawson Lane | Belize District, Burrell Boom, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Upgrade to Luxury Suite
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrell Boom
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Very Nice!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was our second trip to Belize, and we needed a place to stay over before venturing down south. Very nice and CLEAN establishment, with great staff. From the transfer to the waiters they are really nice and go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. Tip: buy some carvings, some of the best in Belieze are right there!!! Don't over look this gem on your travels....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    82
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
86
145
22
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I am a frequent visitor to Belize and Belize City. When in Belize City I used to stay at one of the hotels in the city, but on a recent trip decided to give the Black Orchid Resort a try.
And I am so happy I did! What a terrific alternative to staying in Belize City. Much more affordable, and a far more pleasant stay. Peaceful and quiet, with a beautiful location on the river.
Excellent service, with spacious rooms, always clean and well maintained. Wifi available. And the food is likewise excellent.
And the drive into the city is a pleasant 20 minute trip.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms with a river view are especially nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed only 2 nights and found it to be the perfect spot to start our Central America adventure from. It was quiet, comfortable, great food and staff.
We even had our own small group of Howler Monkeys enjoying breakfast in the tree in front of our "courtyard room".
Next time we will plan on spending more than two nights there!

Room Tip: Some of the "river view" rooms do not have a really good view due to abundant trees by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The staff was very nice and friendly. Our room was nice and clean and spacious. I loved everything about the resort from the pool to the lounge area, it was very nice. My husband and I took advantage of the free use of the bikes and the paddle boat on the property and had a blast bicycling through the village of Burrell Boom and paddling on the paddle boat on the river. The food was alright. We really didn't eat that often there, because we were out and about most of the time, so we just ate out wherever we were. Overall, I would definitely stay again at the Black Orchid resort, should I ever come back to Belize. I would recommend it to anyone who likes a peaceful and serene place and likes the outdoors.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our destination was Hopkins Belize- the resort did not open till 10/01 however, our travel plan was to leave 09/30. Last minute we decide to stick to out plan and leave Denver on 9/30 arriving in Belize City with a night to spare. It was suggested by our travel planner to stay at the Black Orchid- so we did. It was wonderful! The 24 hours we spent there remained one of our favorite 24 hours of the entire week stay in Belize. The staff was wonderful! They prepared our room with fresh flowers and a bottle of local berry wine. We took a two-seater kayak out onto the Belize River and met some locals and watched the sun begin to set. We sat by the pool with some more locals and began our journye of learning about the culture. We had some unbelievable fresh fish and fresh food for dinner- prepared just for us. The following day we took out the bikes and heading into Barrell Boom where we, again, got to explore the local culture and visit the market where we got ourselves som fresh and yummy fruit. Then back to the resort where we said good bye to the iguanas, parrots, and the wonderful staff. We will go back!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Black Orchid Resort for a week in September upon the recommendation of colleagues at the Univ of Belize. It was terrific!! The owner Doug made special accommodations for our group and the equipment we brought with us. The manager Bev took wonderful care of all our requirements with a big smile and warm spirit, Her great care and attention to detail for our group and the other guests were amazing. Every member of the staff without exception made us welcome and made our stay enjoyable. The facilities were terrific and well suited to the climate and location. The Black Orchid gets a huge recommendation for the great manager, staff, and facilities, and for the location central to interior attractions and activities.

Room Tip: Rooms by the river are worth the extra fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A surprising location so close to Belize City and the airport. On the Belize River this resort offers canoe and kayak rental on site. Alligators, parrots and a myriad of other birds spotted during my brief stay. A good location to be close to the airport for arrivals to and departures from Belize. I recommend as an alternative to the Best Western Belize Biltmore and the Raddison. The manager, Beverly, personally greeted us and upgraded our room because she could. A problem with our reservation, due to my misunderstanding, was resolved immediately. Food in the screened restaurant overlooking the river was good and affordable. A parrot landed on a branch just outside the screen and watched us eat breakfast. They can book excursions and tours while serving as a comfortable base.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Orchid Resort

Address: 2 Dawson Lane | Belize District, Burrell Boom, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize District > Burrell Boom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrell Boom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Orchid Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belize has such contrasts from the beaches to the jungle to the Mayan ruins, from the rivers to the Cayes, a good base from which to see it all, is the Black Orchid Resort on the banks of the Belize Old River on the outskirts of Burrell Boom Village, just fifteen minutes from the international airport so it’s easy to reach and easy to leave from. Just a short distance away from Belize City and the airport, the resort is also within about an hour’s drive of most of the country’s mainland attractions, making it a convenient launching point for your vacation adventures. We provide accommodations with an ambiance of environmental radiance, alluring air conditioned rooms and immaculate, quiet and safe grounds. We are an excellent alternative to Belize City and gateway to all Belize has to offer; with knowledgeable guides and transportation for snorkeling, deep sea fishing, cave tubing, Maya Ruin tours, complimentary international airport shuttle, free use of kayaks, canoes, peddle boats and free wireless internet access. Your safety is our business. Come let us show you Belize ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Orchid Hotel Burrell Boom
Black Orchid Belize City
Black Orchid Resort Belize/Burrell Boom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Orchid Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.