We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didnt live up to the hype” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Black Orchid Restaurant

Black Orchid Restaurant
2 Dawson Lane, Burrell Boom, Belize
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Belize City, Belize
1 review
“Didnt live up to the hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

over rated...pool wasnt clean, room was alright, didnt have that resort feel...i wish i went somewhere else

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamos, NM
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice setting, decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We ate here between activities at the Baboon Sanctuary. Lovely setting, decent food, tablecloths, good service, though a bit slow. Recommend the whole fish and sauteed shrimp.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Rustic food, rustic setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The restaurant is in a "sunroom" setting. The food is pretty cheap. You pay $8 for a full plate. Drinks are extra and vary from soda to alcohol. There was no a/c. Bathrooms were clean.

I would not say the food was amazing. It was edible and we were hungry. Staff was friendly. You can use your credit card, but I would suggest paying with cash. They do take US dollars and change is also in US.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
687 reviews 687 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 316 cities Reviews in 316 cities
534 helpful votes 534 helpful votes
“Good food and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Good food with a varied menu. Good service, good bar, some seating in screened in area. We were there for New Years but no real notice of a special meal in cabana and no celebration despite a good meal

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average Food at Double the Price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Be aware that you are paying double for the convenience of an on-site restaurant. The food was decent, but certainly not worth the prices. Steak was overcooked, most things were cooked in too much butter/oil and greasy - but the vegetables were perfectly steamed. We had better meals for half the price elsewhere in Belize.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Orchid Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.