We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Driftsands Sea View Flats

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Driftsands Sea View Flats to your Saves list
Driftsands Sea View Flats
79 Colin Road, Uvongo 4270, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Phoenix Natal
1 review
“great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I had splendid service, we enjoyed the room and the view.
The location is perfect, its close to the beach and the malls.
I had a great stay and with definitely recommend.
I enjoyed waking up to the sea the most.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    34
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
67
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Free State South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The flat was clean and had nearly everything you require. The staff are helpful and friendly especially the management . The location is good and the view spectacular. Have returned many times and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My family and I have stayed at drift sands many times before and every experience was wonderfull. The staff including the Gentlman Gordan were a pleasure to talk to.This time though our experience was terrible.The toilet was faulty,water was leaking all over the place(from the ceiling) and worst of all was the cockroach infestation.Sleep was restless because the kids were scared that the roof might collapse.Also the kitchen facility was difficult to use because it had the worst water leak from above. We still like the place though and would definately use it again if all the above were resolved. In fact I believe I should be afforded the oppertunity of a free stay when the place is sorted out. A free stay or cheaper rate would be good as I could then see if the place is back to the way it was.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The nicest holliday ever along the South coast.Arrival reception excellent and friendly.
Service were excellent.Will definately stay there again.The sea view were great as
you lie down in the main bedroom looking down on the sea and beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Bedding covers is old discoloured an worn out.
The seven day change of bedding should be changed to every 3th day.
The cleaner make the bed up untidy,dishes washed by the cleaner is not done properly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, rental/booking agent at Driftsands Sea View Flats, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
It is a pity that during her 10 day stay the guest only spoke to us about the linen changes, which we did. Our policy is to change the linen between 5 to 7 days, depending on the length of stay. The quality of the linen was not mentioned. The linen is only a year old, but unfortunately the wrong colour was chosen, and has faded.

The issue with the maid was not raised with us. If it had been we could have rectified the problem.We cannot fix a problem we are unaware of.

Driftsands offers affordable budget accommodation, and our services and quality are geared for that level.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Thanks uncle Gordon for your outstanding hospitality and all i can recommend is that maybe a clock or watch could be fitted into the unit as well as a fridge a little large than a bar fridge, but other than that everything was perfect for my stay and I definitely will and have recommended Driftsands to all and everyone at work and friends.

Once again thanks Mr & Mrs Gordan i really enjoyed my stay and will be back!!!

Kind regards
Carol

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

from the time the booking was made, through to payment of deposit, reminder of final payment and confifmation of final payment, i was always informed by Driftsands via e-mail. the hosts and staff were very polite and friendly. the unit was in excelent condition, neat and tidy. our stay was a relaxed and enjoyable experience.
the beaches in the area were very nice and all amenities were close by

would defintly recomend Driftsands to others

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Driftsands Sea View Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftsands Sea View Flats

Address: 79 Colin Road, Uvongo 4270, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Uvongo
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Uvongo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic position! Driftsands Sea View Flats is a family orientated holiday apartment block 50 m from the sea, 80 m from the Uvongo Tidal Pool and 130 m from Uvongo’s famous swimming beach. 5 restaurants, 2 bars and Uvongo’s CBD are within easy walking distance, literally 5 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Driftsands Sea View Flats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftsands Sea View Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.