We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Driftsands stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Driftsands Sea View Flats

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Driftsands Sea View Flats to your Saves list
Driftsands Sea View Flats
79 Colin Road, Uvongo 4270, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Boksburg
1 review
“Driftsands stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Bedding covers is old discoloured an worn out.
The seven day change of bedding should be changed to every 3th day.
The cleaner make the bed up untidy,dishes washed by the cleaner is not done properly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, rental/booking agent at Driftsands Sea View Flats, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
It is a pity that during her 10 day stay the guest only spoke to us about the linen changes, which we did. Our policy is to change the linen between 5 to 7 days, depending on the length of stay. The quality of the linen was not mentioned. The linen is only a year old, but unfortunately the wrong colour was chosen, and has faded.

The issue with the maid was not raised with us. If it had been we could have rectified the problem.We cannot fix a problem we are unaware of.

Driftsands offers affordable budget accommodation, and our services and quality are geared for that level.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    34
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
67
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Thanks uncle Gordon for your outstanding hospitality and all i can recommend is that maybe a clock or watch could be fitted into the unit as well as a fridge a little large than a bar fridge, but other than that everything was perfect for my stay and I definitely will and have recommended Driftsands to all and everyone at work and friends.

Once again thanks Mr & Mrs Gordan i really enjoyed my stay and will be back!!!

Kind regards
Carol

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

from the time the booking was made, through to payment of deposit, reminder of final payment and confifmation of final payment, i was always informed by Driftsands via e-mail. the hosts and staff were very polite and friendly. the unit was in excelent condition, neat and tidy. our stay was a relaxed and enjoyable experience.
the beaches in the area were very nice and all amenities were close by

would defintly recomend Driftsands to others

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Hi guys

My stay at Driftsands wasnt exactlt what i had expected. The location of the accomodation is great, close to the main beach and minutes away from shops.

However, the unit itself needs some attention.

1. The Fridge doesnt work. Well, it sort of works. The freezer part works well, but the actual fridge doesnt. I had to rotate food from the freezer to the fridge just before it is frozen solid.. and then back up to the freezer just before it is luke warm in the fridge. This was frustrating.
2. The apartment is advertised as having DSTV. This isnt entirely true. The DSTV boquet only offers TV1, 2, 3 and e-tv. Had i known this i would have brought my own DSTV smart card.
3. The roomunit would do great with an aircon. The roof fan in the main bedroom doesnt do well in the KZN summer heat.
4. The plumbing in the bathroom under the tiles can be felt when you are barefoot. There must be a warm water pipe quite close to the surface. When standing in front of the basin you can feel the heat under your feet.

Other than that we had a good time.

Thanks

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, rental/booking agent at Driftsands Sea View Flats, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
In response to the comments about the fridge, the fridge works. Once a fridge is fully packed with cool/warm foods it will take about 24 hours to get cold. If the fridge is continually opened and the cold air allowed to escape, it takes longer. This is the first complaint in two years about the fridge. The technician we called in could find nothing wrong with the fridge, other than the top shelf in the door had been moved and was preventing the door from sealing properly.

All our advertising material about the unit states clearly that the unit has the EasyView package only, and that the unit has been rewired for guests to bring their own decoder. All our communication - booking confirmation and quotes - carries the same information.

Yes an air con would be nice, but then our prices would have to go up.

In older buildings, the plumbing is underfloor and when hot water runs through the pipes you can feel the warmth.

We do our best to ensure that our guests have a good experience with us, and if a problem is bought to our attention, we will sort it out if possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muldersdrift, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Garrick Cottage was delapidated and grubby not through lack of cleaning but due to lack of maintenance. We therefore moved the next day to two seperate apatments which were much better but we had to pay extra. We did have a power failure but no candles were available although there was a candle holder.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Driftsands Sea View Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftsands Sea View Flats

Address: 79 Colin Road, Uvongo 4270, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Uvongo
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Uvongo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic position! Driftsands Sea View Flats is a family orientated holiday apartment block 50 m from the sea, 80 m from the Uvongo Tidal Pool and 130 m from Uvongo’s famous swimming beach. 5 restaurants, 2 bars and Uvongo’s CBD are within easy walking distance, literally 5 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Driftsands Sea View Flats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftsands Sea View Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.