We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bodos Bamboo Bar Resort

Save Saved
You added Bodos Bamboo Bar Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bodos Bamboo Bar Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Triple B Road, Pasol, Alcoy 6023, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Alcoy B&B and Inns
Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Relaxing Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay on the Alcoy coast. We booked here to visit the Whale Sharks at Oslob & even though it was a little further away than what we anticipated it was easy enough to catch a local bus there and back. The hotel also offers tours of the local area and although we did not partake we spoke to another couple who were very pleased with their tours. The resort itself is set high on a hill overlooking the coast but still with easy access to a small beach. The grounds are spacious & well kept and the pool was crystal clear. A great spot for swimming & relaxing. WiFi was available throughout the whole area. We stayed in a standard room with fan with balcony overlooking the coastline. Food in the restaurant was very tasty & they had the best tasting pizzas in the whole of the Philippines! Overall we were very happy with our stay at Bodos Bamboo Bar Resort A.K.A The Triple B Resort.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodosAlcoyCebu, Owner at Bodos Bamboo Bar Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello to Australia. If one get so much comploments than it is not easily to reply. But it is a pleasant for us to certificate that you are also a very special kind of customer and we really enjoyed your stay in our resort. Hopefully we are allowed to service you soon again. Take care of you and all the best from your BBB Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the BBB on recommendation, and were not disappointed. The owners and staff were very friendly, and the resort very relaxing. The rooms were very well presented and comfortable. Our only moan would be the roof fans in the room. They are not very good, and effected our sleep quality. Having said that, the food was great, and the Wheat beer even better! Also the prices very reasonable. Highly recommend this place as a stop off for the Oslob Whale sharks....or for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodosAlcoyCebu, Owner at Bodos Bamboo Bar Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello and nice geetings from BBB. Like we always point out: We are special and do always one step forward when the customers are also special and they appreciate our unique way of service. And you are! Thanks a lot for this motivating review and thanks for the tipp with the room fans in Balcony. Actually we are testing another system with better effect. So next time you will visit our place you can try. Have a good time and all the best from BBB Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have read all reviews below , some are very un fair, Mate , this is all ok by me , the food and service and views are all second to none although we didnt stay overnight ,, we will soon be locals at Alcoy and look forwards to many more visits

All the best , Faith and Phil LeCompte

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodosAlcoyCebu, Owner at Bodos Bamboo Bar Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hello an nice greetings to Autralia.

We like to thank you for this warm and nice review. In our philosophy our employees are one of the most important parts of our success. We are very happy when our customers feel, that they really love to service guests and everyday they try to bring a bit of sunshine to our customers. So like you did. We look forward to see you soon at BBB and wish you a pleasant time. Best regards. Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebu
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is my second review for Bodos, the last time I went here with my husband and two kids, I was not satisfied with the service and gave it a two-star rating, but as I visited Bodos again still with my family I have to say that their service really did improve, I have to give it a five! The owner did promise me that the next time I come back, the service will be better which is really true!

My kids just love Bodos, we went to check out other inns in Alcoy but ended up staying at Bodos, The place is safe for the kids, their food is great and the surroundings are clean, its just a great place to relax and unwind.

Thanks Bodos for the wonderful stay and for the warm accommodation! I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodosAlcoyCebu, Owner at Bodos Bamboo Bar Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hello again,
first of all I´d like to thank you for the 2nd chance. We are lucky that we were able to convince you from BBB after your first semi-satisfied experience. As we overtook that resort 1 year ago we changed a lot of things although the employees were very good. Our target is to be better from day to day and we are not satisfied, when there is standstill in development. For we are comming from the European hospitality industry we also are used to another standard and we learn that it takes serveral time to change things which are used for years. So your experience shows us that it is worth to work everyday for improvements and your review is the nicest reward for our efforts. Hope to see you soon and have a good time. Best regards. Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

There was a booking confusion when we arrived. Mistakes were made when ordering at the restaurant. every time they take orders without writing it down, it causes mistakes. i think they should write things down all the time instead of trying to memorize it. it's a shame because the place is really good. The staff are really friendly and helpful. They sorted out any problems easily. Rooms are great. Location is perfect. glad they have WIFI connection everywhere in the resort. Enjoyed the wellness massage! Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodosAlcoyCebu, Owner at Bodos Bamboo Bar Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hello from Alcoy,

thanks a lot for your fair and objective review. We only can improve when customers tell us the problems. And special your review shows that there are problems we have to work on but you also mention the good things. This shows that you are a fair person and this review really helps us to improve our services. Please, if you come back to BBB next time aks for the management so we can apologize personally for the inconveniences and then you also see that we take your advises seriousely and improve our work day by day. Salamat. Alex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto de la Cruz, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The BBB was suggested to us as a hotel to stay at while in Cebu. We originally booked 10 days, but ended up staying 20 days for personal reasons.
The owners are German and Austrian and were more than helpful in all tourist and business matters that we needed assistance in. Our wish to visit Tingko Beach was met with the immediate offer of a tricycle that would drive us to our destination. Since we are planning on moving to the Philippines, our interests were more of the getting to know the area, than tourist pleasures. All of our wishes were met with willingness and efficiency.
Our room was without air conditioning, but there was an adjustable fan on the ceiling.
The room stayed about 29°C day and night.
There is a problem with mosquitoes and a few found their way to our room.
There are also other rooms available with air conditioning if wished. The rooms are decorated in a simple, but functional manner. They were kept clean and towels were available for the swimming area. Certain areas, i.e. Fitness are still under construction.
The hotel employees are friendly and do their best to make sure that your stay is warm and personal. Specific guest wishes i.e. ice cubes in a glass and the coke in the bottle, are noted and carried out by the attending staff.
The food was very good. We stayed with local favorites, so we have no opinion concerning international dishes. Another favorite of ours were the fresh fruit shakes and juices, made with tropical fruits like mangos, bananas and papayas. The fruits varied on a day to day basis.
We enjoyed the company of the other guests, except for a lone American who nothing could make him happy. He couldn’t afford a 5-star resort and somehow expected the BBB to magically become one. Motto of story, if you can’t afford it- don’t expect it!
We borrowed motor bikes from the hotel for getting around. They were not the latest models, but they were well maintained and there was no hill that we couldn’t get up.
When traveling to the Philippines, one must realize that life is a slower pace here. The emphasis is on friendliness and not so much the technical world.
In the 3 weeks that we were there, we made local friends, were even invited to a Philippine family’s birthday celebration and enjoyed the hotel crew.
Summary: The BBB is not a multiple star hotel, but our needs were met. It is clean, friendly, helpful, and warm in charm. The hotel owner has gastronomical training from Germany, Austria and Switzerland. And, as always, the Philippines have a way of marching to the music of their own drums. Not the typical international hectic one can encounter.

Room Tip: Room with view to the sea and own balcony, but no aircon are available OR room with aircon haven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was at that wonderful resort for 3 weeks.
I am really surprised about some reviews here on this website because there is nothing you can do better like it is done in BBB.
It needs enough dignity not to come with own food in a place where a restaurant is which mentioned in passing is one of the best I ever have been.
A special thing is that the management really refuse some guests where they have the feeling they are destroying the atmosphere. So it is a very brave but successful thing they do and the guest can be shure to live in a resort with a competition-free atmosphere and a hard to describe feeling of being cared about.
I am now 66 years old and I have seen a lot of destinations. Here you find the old fashioned way of real individual hospitality. A nice island of resort where the guest is number one but they also demand respect for their work and their rules. I cannot see something wrong in this and want to encourage the BBB Management strictly to hold on this way of management. It is too good for guests who don´t deserve it.
The staff is great but the owners-people with great experience from Europe- are busy the whole day to entertain their guests and find events for them they will not forget.
There is also a big value of the prices. In Euro there you can get a main dish for 5 Euro. People who find this expensive I really ask what they eat in their home countries. The rooms are native but comfortable and very clean. The waitresses and waiters know the guest´s name and that is really showing how individual you are treated there. The location is wonderful for people who like nature, waterfalls and the sea. I had 2 snorkeling trips because I cannot dive. There was a BBQ on the resort´s own boat and it was so nice that I decided to learn diving on my next stay in BBB. So I like to thank for that nice stay and I look forward to my next trip to the Philippines there.

Room Tip: you also can try various resorts in the near than you see how good BBB is
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bodos Bamboo Bar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodos Bamboo Bar Resort

Address: Triple B Road, Pasol, Alcoy 6023, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Alcoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alcoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bodos Bamboo Bar Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning spacious resort in the south of the island of Cebu has been built on a heightened plateau, of approx. 1 hectare. Here you will enjoy amazing views over the sea to the neighbouring island of Bohol and the palm tree covered surroundings. Due to the heightened location and the spaciously distributed buildings a pleasant breeze constantly blows throughout in the whole resort. The resort is owned and managed by a German-Filipina couple who are looking forward to greeting you in English, German, Tagalog or Cebuano. You will feel at home in our 14 rooms, where you will be able to enjoy your stay in our Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bodos Bamboo Bar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodos Bamboo Bar Hotel Alcoy
Bodos Bamboo Bar Resort Alcoy, Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodos Bamboo Bar Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.