We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm hooked!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fir Tree House Tearoom

Fir Tree House Tearoom
Penshurst Road, Penshurst TN11 8DB, England
01892 870382
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Penshurst
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“I'm hooked!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Fir Tree is a regular stop when I'm nearby. Their tea/coffee/homemade bread and cake is lovely. It's all fresh and served properly (i.e. no cartons of UHT milk) by young locals who are friendly and efficient. In summer there's a garden to sit in. Very English and downright gorgeous!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    2
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Couldn't Fault it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We discovered this place by chance after a dog walk around the nearby Penshurst estate and we were amazed by the lovely quality of the food . Both times I have visited since , we ordered the full afternoon tea and paid £12.50 each . The sandwiches were the freshest I've ever tasted , the scones the lightest and the cakes are great too . They offer light meals of homemade soup etc and do decaffeinated tea . It's almost impossible to finish the whole afternoon tea as it's so generous . At the time of writing they are open 2pm to 5.pm every day . Small independent places such as this really deserve to be supported !

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Old mill house in lower slaughter, take note!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

A month ago I was on the receiving end of very very bad customer service at a tea in the cotswolds... (read my review on the old mill at lower slaughter). Fast forward a month and this is an example of stark contrast on how to the fir tree penshurst. We were served by welcoming smiles, comfortable setting, and superior service to the tea room at the Cotswold adventure. The guy Tom that served us was very polite. All in all a great experience was had.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best tea room for miles”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have been here dozens of times. Consitently excellent teas. Sandwiches and cakes are really good. Jam is home-made. The building is old and has character. Service is very good. The only tiny criticism is that the cream is whipped and not clotted.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Up there with the very best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Located in the very pretty village of Penshurst this is an exceptional little tea room. They were making their own strawberry jam when we visited and their apple and raspberry cake was just wonderful. Our only problem with doing this review is that other people will get to know about this place - always a problem but they deserve to be recognised for what they are doing. You will need to check on opening times - I think they said that they are only open after 2pm in season - May to October.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fir Tree House Tearoom also viewed

Penshurst, Sevenoaks District
Penshurst, Sevenoaks District
 
Chiddingstone, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Fir Tree House Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fir Tree House Tearoom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.