We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, relaxed and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bottle House

The Bottle House
Coldharbour Road | Smarts Hill, Penshurst TN11 8ET, England
01892 870306
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bottle House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Penshurst
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Presteigne, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable, relaxed and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Although every table was full, the service was efficient, friendly with enough time between courses for conversation. Prices were average for the area with the food being excellent. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    44
    17
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Allergy Sufferers beware!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you suffer from any food related allergies, then avoid this restaurant at all costs. My partner suffers from Coeliac disease and has an allergy to dairy; eating out can be somewhat difficult if we haven't vetting the restaurant and the menu prior to booking. My partner used to be a chef, so he knows how food should be cooked and the correct ingredients that should be applied. He specifically chose the Lamb with Jus (Jus is reduced meat stock, with no added thickening agent), he was assured that no flour had been added to the Jus and there was no dairy in the dish. The following day, he was very ill; since we hadn't eaten anywhere since and he wasn't ill prior to the meal, we knew there had been gluten in the meal, even though we were assured otherwise. My partner has been sick for 6 weeks now, he has lost so much weight, this illness affects your brain, so he hasn't been able to concentrate for weeks and he's had to sleep during the day, to make things worse, he's self employed, so no work, no pay. We are 100% certain, his illness was brought on by this shoddy restaurant, who have created an impressive menu, but have no idea how to correctly cook the meals. I wrote a letter of complaint to the restaurant, which they ignored. I'm writing this review to warn others not to go to this restaurant, spend your money elsewhere and don't risk getting sick.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy food in a lovely pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Totally relaxed country pub with a fab menu, seated in the cubby hole area which was nice, excellent pâté to start, a gourmet burger and a bottle of chilled magners - bliss no complaints at all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Far better than you average pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have been to the bottle house on several occasions but this was the first time we had been in the evening. Normally we have been at lunch times and have had to book. We visited on a Sunday night which as very quiet, but having said that it was later in the evening. The food is totally different from "pub grub" but despite being unusual choices there is certain to be something for all tastes. (I would recommend the roasts!). It is more expensive than normal pub fayre but the quality and service more than make up for that. The staff are extremely pleasant and polite and actually seem to enjoy what they do. Well done!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Roast Dinners To Die for!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Looking for a Country Pub for a Sunday Lunch. Look no further. Advisable to book. Went with 18 people and they serviced the food at the same time and it was very tasty.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bottle House also viewed

Penshurst, Sevenoaks District
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to The Bottle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bottle House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.