We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Santa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Azul

Rio Azul
El Marinero 7, La Santa, Lanzarote, Spain
928 840 327
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in La Santa
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
guernsey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“La Santa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We happened on this place by accident. We were not really hungry just fancied a beer! Everyone seemed to be really enjoying their meals. Sitting there in the sunshine it was quite obvious that there were only 3 similar establishments around and this one was doing far more business. By now we could see how efficient and pleasant the staff were. Then a young chap who had just had Fish soup ordered the same again. WELL! I thought best give that a go! Was very good but not as good as I was expecting. Never mind overall experience excellent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    2
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

After escaping the boring tourist restaurants of Costa Teguise we came across this place in the little village of La Santa on Christmas Eve. Looking for a tasty luch we tried the fish sampler - 6 different types of local fish served up with pappas arrugadas, a fresh salad and a delicious cold beer! The service was friendly and helpful, explaining the food we were eating and later pointing out the local places of interest. Definately recommended!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We enjoyed a whole perfectly cooked fish between 4 of us and our other 2 friends had a very tasty fish and rice dish. We started with 4 dishes of tapas. The service was good and friendly. Nice walk into La Santa from the La Santa club.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sande
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect sea bass.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were traveling around on Lanzarote, scenery and nature is so different from anything I have seen before. Driving between small villages and strolling in the streets is so amazing. But dining can give some surprises, both ways. In Teguise we had the worst experience, but here at Rio Azul we had one off the best. The sea bass was cooked and seasoned perfectly, the caramel flan was shaped as a volcanic eruption and tasted very good. Service good, even that day, when they had much to do because of the Ironman was held there in the area. After we had paid the bill, we discovered that one of the waiters was talking Norwegian, and that we was greeted “welcome back”, with a card promising us a free bottle of vine next visit. Even if it will be a long time till it is possible to visit again, I´m sure I will go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Superb place to eat in La Santa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

As a regular visitor to Club La Santa it's always good to venture off site occasionally and sample the local restaurants. Rio Azul in the main street of La Santa village is quite superb. The two waiters are Juan and Juan, and provide the most efficient and humourous service ever. The menu comprises a wonderful mix of seafood, meat and, of course, paella. This is a must for anyone staying in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Azul also viewed

La Santa, Lanzarote
 
Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Lanzarote, Canary Islands
 

Been to Rio Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.