We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of black cock inn

black cock inn
falstone, Falstone, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Falstone
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: http://blackcockinn.co.uk/
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My Husband, the dog and myself booked to stay in March 2014 for Good Friday (Friday 18th April 2014), when we arrived we where greeted by a wonderful lady who showed us to the room, which was of excellent standard and explained the house rules, later that evening we went down to the bar with the Dog, and enjoyed a lovely bar meal, the dog made himself at home by sitting on the large read leather chair nobody seemed to mind, the barman and locals where all friendly and we had a wonderful evening with good food, breakfast the next day was fantastic well cooked and all hot, the hosts could not have done more to make us feel welcome, we will go back to stay again

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    18
    4
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Terrible place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We decided to have a change from our usual visit the the Old School in Falstone and to try the Black Cock! What a mistake. It was very busy which is usually a good sign. We got the the bar eventually to be ignored whilst a 'local' who had wandered in after us was served before us. We asked if there was food and were very abruptly told we would have an hours wait. We looked around at what was being served and honestly it didn't seem worth it. It looked bog standard Sunday lunch with overcooked veg. The staff were very rude and unwelcoming so we didn't even wait for a drink as no doubt all the locals would get priority.
We left and walked across the road to a warm and friendly atmosphere in the Old School and had an excellent Sunday Lunch.
You have been warned!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester,
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“All depends who's behind the bar”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We rocked up here on Friday night and asked if we could bring our dog in, the man behind the bar welcomed us and even had a menu for the dog! He couldn't do enough for us, putting tables together, chatty and friendly with great food and a really nice atmosphere - we paid and we tipped, asked about accommodation for sometime in the future - i.e. WE DIDN'T DISGRACE OURSELVES!

The next night, our (polite, well mannered) kids asked if we could go back as they'd loved it so much too, so we arrived at the same time, the place was deserted (less busy than the previous night), and the lady behind the bar took our drinks order and then when I asked if we could see the menus she snapped that we couldn't unless we'd booked. We apologised for not booking but wondered if she could squeeze us in (there was one other couple having the same experience as us) and one other family who had been given the holy grail menu and other than that - NO ONE! But she said they were fully booked, we could see the chef in the kitchen leaning on the unused oven chatting to someone else. The lady reluctantly agreed to feed our dog but not us! We finished our drinks (no-one else came in and the other couple said they'd been into the restaurant and there was no one in there either) we paid for the dogs dinner (didn't tip!) and left. There may well have been a party of one hundred people arriving a minute after we left and that'd be understandable but I guess the lovely guy (the night before) would perhaps have taken a different tone, advised us to book in future and maybe have recommended somewhere else - not just given us cold stares and shrugs of shoulders. Anyway we did have great food, and encountered friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere at the packed out The Pheasant a mile or so up the road (dogs aren't allowed but the lovely kitchen staff did give us an unasked for doggy bag). One pub empty one pub packed out...
Top tip - just because the place is empty don't assume you'll be served food - ask to see the food menu before ordering drinks!
NB - also of interest, there's a shelf of whiskey's with a sign reading 'Landlord's only, not for sale to public' kind of says it all...real shame as we'd had such a nice time the previous night but we won't be going back, The Pheasant however...

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A great find for dog lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this pub recently for a mid week break. All I can say is that I have to disagree with some of the other reviewers who complained about the food. We found it to be of very good quality and reasonably priced. The staff couldn't have been more helpful if they'd tried. The room was a littleon the small side but was very clean and comfortable. If you have a dog and want a break in this area then I would unreservedly recommend this hotel to you.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“used to be so good!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I have eaten and drunk at this pub for years and always had a great experience. But the last time I called in for a pint and a meal I found it was mediocre food ( had always been good pub grub) staff were friendly but beer and I use the word food lightly was not good. Hoping this is a one off but fearing the worst , please try harder! Its a good little pub!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed black cock inn also viewed

Falstone, Northumberland
Kielder, Northumberland
 
Kielder, Northumberland

Been to black cock inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage black cock inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.