We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sight in Hue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tomb of Khai Dinh

Tomb of Khai Dinh
QL49 Road, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Emperor Khai Dinh (1885-1925) ruled Vietnam for 9 years. His tomb took 11 years to complete. Construction began in 1920 and was completed in 1931. Under Khai Dinh, Western culture and influence began to seep into Vietnam. The king himself visited France in 1922. As a result, his tomb has many elements of Western architecture. In fact, of all the tombs, Khai Dinh's probably least resembles oriental architecture. Emperor Khai Dinh's tomb is built using concrete, its roof with slates and the gate is made of wrought iron. The builder made use of the lighting rod and electricity is used to light the place. Beyond these modern building materials and designs, the tomb had elements of eastern art mixed with western designs.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Best sight in Hue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

You could very easily leave Hue without visiting this tomb as it is about 8km South of the city.

One of the most stunning tombs/mausoleums I've ever seen. Best way to do it is rent a bike for a couple of dollars and drive down, an experience in itself, only one road, very easy. Entrance is 80,000 VND pp.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    141
    29
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was the first tomb we saw and we were stunned by its beauty - having vaguely expected something more run-down. It is in excellent condition. The carvings and glass decorations inside the tomb are utterly gorgeous and there's a pretty good view of the surrounding countryside from the top of the many stairs. We saw all three tombs by taxi - we negotiated a price of 650,000 dong for the afternoon, which ended up being about 100,000 more than the meter - but a fair price really.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A masterpiece!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Khai Dinh Tomb is a most beautiful tomb in Hue and is also considered a luxury, Khai Dinh King Vietnam has left a place for people to remember about him. People can see the carved tombs discharged by the architecture and western. Advise for you is to hire a motorbike only about 6 dollars for all date to have a panoramic view on the way to tomb.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A more modern tomb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is part of the 3 in 1 package for attractions around Hue and you can see why they want to show it off. After climbing many stairs and you go inside you go 'Wow!'. There isn't a surface that hasn't been embellished with fine art of some kind. There are many areas in side that store and show off Khai Dinh's belongings. The statues carvings and pagodas outside are very nice; however it's the inside of the tomb that is the main attraction here. No wheel chair access that I saw which is a shame.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“Our favorite tomb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was the first tomb that my husband and I visited. It is the newest tomb and is in excellent condition. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

There is a DVD that you can sit and watch once you get to the top. It is well worth watching as it will give you an excellent overview of the three tombs that are the most popular. You will learn a lot and it will give you some valuable information to help make your tour more interesting.

Visiting tombs is definitely not one our priorities on our S.E. Asia tour. However, we spent the most time at this tomb and admired the beautiful interior with it's carvings that are like nothing we have ever seen.

We had hired motorbikes complete with drivers for the day. At first our hotel didn't want us to visit this tomb as it was further away than the others. Thankfully, after reading the TA reviews, we insisted on visiting it because it ended up being our favorite by far.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomb of Khai Dinh also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to Tomb of Khai Dinh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomb of Khai Dinh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.