We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely, horrible receptionist” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 81 - Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 81 - Palace to your Saves list
Hotel 81 - Palace
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Lorong 16 Geylang, 398867, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Geylang
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“absolutely, horrible receptionist”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Just came back from visiting my relative from Guangzhou, who was a room guest at hotel 81 palace. the service at the reception was absolutely terrible! we had requested reception to call our relative in a particular and was met with absolutely hostile and condescending questions, such as name, exact part of China that my relative was from, gender and so on. Reception staff also tried to restrict the number of visiting guests from going to the hotel room and demanded for our IDs, which we refused to be bullied into giving. Upon exit of the hotel after 30 mins, the same rude and hostile reception staff glared and stared at us. This awful,sub standard service left a terrible impression on our Chinese relative and ourselves, local Singaporeans.I am ashamed to see such terrible service of our own country.Even for a budget hotel, such sub standard, slipshod level of service in unacceptable.

Room Tip: try the hotel 81 just across the street from hotel 81 palace, at least the reception staff were much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    61
    66
    23
    12
See reviews for
10
32
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

Initially we were given a "box" without windows on the top floor. It should have been quiet - but the air conditioning plant on the roof above was seriously noisy.

We asked to shift and with sincere apologies and no fuss were given a similar sized room on the 5th floor with window and much quieter!

Yes there did seem to be some short term rental going on in the hotel, consistent with the neighbourhood, but it wasn't an issue.

If you want a cheap place to sleep this is worth considering.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

As usual before any trip i will read review of any hotel..but this hotel i just thought not bad . at first i reach the hotel, not very good service from the receptionist..not even a smile from them.so arrogant.Than 2nd the room damn small..don even have a cupboard to put our things..some more we have one kid,,oh the place mess with our things since no cupboards...and the this hotel only have double beds..so family realy not adviseble to book this hotel..i guess this hotel suite for a single traveler..and this is red light area..full of prostitues around the hotel waithing for the customer...we just ignore and not our business.the room smell full of smoke..even outside the room all smelly...i really won,t recomend this hotel even though its cheap but not worthied..u still can get cheap hotel with better service in singapore.of course the plus point is near bus stop just 2 -3 min walk and u can go anywhere..we travel mostly thru the bus compare MRT which bit far to walk..almost 10 -12 mins walk to aljunied mrt..so if u come to geylang bus is the easiest and convinent..we went to sentosa take bus to harbourfront..many bus passes there.One more available the tea coffee,TV , hair dryer and room cleaning..but the cups is still with coffee and not cleans up..anyway if u ask me im not going to come back here again..really regret.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The service in this hotel is appalling! My boyfriend and I spent 1 night, in which time we managed to misplace a jacket in the room. After several phone calls and emails trying to retrieve said jacket we were finally told that it had been given away! Not only did the manager refuse to post it to us after I had committed to paying all postage costs but he denied contact (which was via email!). Do your self a favor and don't stay in a place where the manager and his staff do not care.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Located near Aljunied MRT station, this is good medium budget hotel. You can connect to any part of Singapore easily. Tea, coffee can be prepared in the room, and nearby there are so many super markets and restaurants. Traditional food can be found in this area, spice lovers can get crab chilly! The staffs were very helpful, I arrived early morning and put my luggage at reception without any fear, sililarly while leaving my flight was late, so I put my luggage there for few hours after checking out.
Note: This hotel does not provide city tour operations but staff can help you from where to get it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Hotel is located in Geylang approx. 10 minutes away from MRT. Geylang is known as redlight district but don't worry if you don't know you will not even notice. Romm is small but with Aircon and clean. Instant coffee or tea is available in the room. Staff is friendly. After checkout it was no problem to store luggage till early evening. So i have had time to spend last hours in Singapore w/o luggage till i have to go to airport.
hotel is OK if you prefer to spend your money otherwise than on accomodation and only for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed here for a few hours rest the Fri of the Grand prix weekend when prices where high and everywhere was booked. The room and ensuite were very small but functional and clean. The bed very OK and the sheets clean but uncomfortable sliding around on a plastic mattress. It is in a red light area but that did not cause any problems and we felt completely safe. Our room had no window and a full wall mirror (make of that what you will). For a one night pit stop it was just about OK but I wouldn't have coped any longer as there was no where to unpack or even put a suitcase. The main noise problem was from cleaners who obviously work 24 hrs sevicing rooms. The staff were friendly and poilte.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window or you will end up without one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 81 - Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Palace

Address: 25 Lorong 16 Geylang, 398867, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Geylang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Budget Places, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 81 - Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 81 - Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.