We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay in Yen Duc Village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yen Duc Village Tour

Yen Duc Village Tour
58 Au Trieu | Yen Duc Village, Dong Trieu, 04, Vietnam
+84 4 39264085
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Yen Duc village is in Dong Trieu town and 60km West of Halong city. The village was recognized as a national relic in 1993.Yen Duc is a beautiful village with poetic scenery, charming rivers, historical mountains and sacred legends and relics related to Ly and Tran dynasty.Considered as a “Stone wall” under the war, the village was a cradle of revolutionary movements with many brave, ingenious heroes and local people sacrificed to protect their hometown. Over the years, their names are still alive together with each famous mountain, river and pieces of land here.Similar to other rustic countryside, the local people here are very diligent, gentle and optimistic.Currently, Yen Duc village is one of the few villages in the Delta still retain traditional agricultural features and beauty with the golden rice fields in harvesting time, the gardens of areca trees in the sun and the ponds below the green gourd platforms
Hobart, Australia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Overnight stay in Yen Duc Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Gosta and Claire Blichfeldt, Australia 10 April 2013 to 11 April 2013
We booked in for the one night one day stay in the village, followed by a one night one day cruise on the Red Dragon 2 through IndoChina tours.
It was a fantastic opportunity to experience real, everyday life in a typical village. We were met after being dropped off on the main highway by Cuc, a very cheerful, energetic lovely tour lady with very good english.
We found the accommodation absolutely 5 star with beautiful timber finishes inside and a dramatic feature round window facing the rice fields with palm trees. We were served beautiful and interesting meals made all with locally produced and grown rice, vegetables, pork, fish, chicken and fruit. We were invited also to participate in making traditional Vietnamese rice cakes after dinner which was accompanied by several cups of strong rice wine, which then led to a bit of singing both in tasmanian and vietnamese.
Having the two half days and night gave us plenty of time to be guided around the village including a Shrine at the tunnel under the hill which was used to shelter from the French occupancy, a vibrant market and partaking in various traditional jobs associated with planting vegetables, transferring water, extracting rice grains. We were also invited into a house and offered local rice porridge ( a special treat). We also were treated to a splendid water puppet show put on by an all local cast. Altogether a wonderful experience.
At the end of our stay we were whisked back to the roadside where we intercepted the taxi,van to take us onwards to our Halong Bay cruise.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    5
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Extraordinary experience in Yen Duc Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We joined a Ha Long Bay tour with staying one night in the Yen Duc Village. We are not only understanding the history of Vietnamese by the introduction of the knowledge tour guide and the local village seniors, but also experienced of the real life of the villagers, like grinding the rice husk for the rice, using the bamboo basket to catch mud fish in a pond, and using a leaf to make the brush. It is absolutely funny and extraordinary experiences to a nowadays "city" people. In addition, the traditional decorated accommodation, the delicious meals and warm smiles everywhere are definitely memorable to us.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were very happy to join the overnight tour at Yen Duc Village after the Halong Bay Tour on 4.4.2013. We were received by a tour guide with very good knowledge about the village. Her English was also excellent. She led us to experience the village life, like catching fish in the pond. All the villagers we met were nice and friendly. We were also served with good quality of dinner and lunch. Last but not the least, the room we stayed was large, clean, well decorated and adequately furnished. It was a good and special experience to us and we recommend the tour to everyone.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Way to Finish our Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Thanks to a TA reader we added this tour after our overnight on Halong Bay and we are so glad that we did. It was so worth to make the trip to this village and learn so much about village life in Vietnam and to meet such wonderful local people and interact with them in their homes. The 94 year old woman who would be the life of any party and was so happy to have us visit her village and so welcoming to us and the gentleman who opened his home to us for tea and explain to us the history of his family and how important family in the Vietnamese culture. If you have the time to add this trip to your Halong Bay tour I would strongly advise that you do.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neufeld an der Leitha, Austria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“wonderful tour after halong bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

if you do not have enough time to travel around it is a nice experience to visit this place, although you come back from the overwhelming halong bay tour so you might be still excited about what you experienced on the boat.. lovely people and very interesting to see.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yen Duc Village Tour also viewed

 
Tuan Chau Island, Halong Bay
Tuan Chau Island, Halong Bay
 

Been to Yen Duc Village Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yen Duc Village Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Yen Duc Village Tour to your Saves list