We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, friendly staff, home-like and value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Talay Homestay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Talay Homestay to your Saves list
Baan Talay Homestay
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4, Lorong Abbas 2,, Tanjung Tokong, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Affordable, friendly staff, home-like and value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

The Pros:- - affordable, friendly owner, welcoming and felt just like home - high speed internet - check in anytime of the day - beautiful garden and well equipped kitchen

The cons:- - Not very clean (short of staff - only 1 house keeper working) - dusty rooms, dirty old curtains - uncomfortable bed and dirty old pillows - no security through out day / night - only security is a small pad lock and door knob lock.

Definitely need improvement.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
15
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nantes, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

For my first time in Penang, I couldn't expect better. I booked a double-bed room for five days in Baan Talay Homestay, and I must say I really enjoyed my stay. About the room, nothing to complain about: air cond and/or fan, a big wardrobe, and a comfortable bed, in fact everything you could need. Wi-Fi working fine aswell. Just be prepared to face the assault of mosquitoes. Otherwise, I shared the common space with lovely people from all over the world, there are two big kitchens if you feel like cooking, several toilets and bathrooms equipped with water-heater, a wide living room, and outdoor teraces where you can enjoy a cup of tea or coffee (just help yourself).

Located next to the beach on the north-east coast, there is also a huge food court nearby which is a good start to discover the local food, but the true fine cooking is in Georgetown, as far as I know. To get there from the homestay, nothing easier: a bus station at a two minutes walking distance. The bus (average waiting time: 15 minutes) will bring you downtown in 20 minutes or so (depends on the traffic jam, can be a nightmare sometimes), once there, as previously said, you should try the Cendol, this very special cold dessert made of coconut milk, palm sugar and funny jelly green-coloured noodles, sometimes with also red beans and other I-have-no-idea-what-is-that-thing.

Anyway, the best person to ask about the food and the must-do things on the island is Ray himself, the manager. This guy is very kind and helpful, and he'll be glad to give you some good advice, or share the best restaurant adresses around. Oh, and did I mention it is a very cheap place?

In other words: totally worth the price of it, and I'll go back there for sure once I'll plan my next visit to Penang.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband and I planned to stay at Baan Talay for 30 days, but ended up living here for SIX MONTHS! For long-term travelers like us, this was the perfect homely, budget accommodation: two shared kitchens, garden, spacious living room and free, fast Wi-Fi (both in and out of our room). Continental breakfast w/fruit is also included, along with tea/coffee all day. Situated in a quiet neighborhood on the east coast of the island, the homestay is a 10-minute bus ride away from Georgetown and Batu Ferringhi. The owner, Ray, is a very friendly and helpful guy and can tell you where to find the best food on the island (esp. the cendol!), which of course is what makes Penang worth the stay.

Room Tip: Floor-rooms have thin walls which, for short-stayers, may not be an issue. But if you're staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This place is a death trap and should be demolished. Rooms are all in bad shape as stayed there for three nights in three different rooms.
Showers and toilets as well as the whole place in need of a good clean and scrub from top to bottom.
Mould in places, and they don't even change the bed sheets between guests as I watched the so called maid prepare our room.
Totally ruined our time there and glad to get out and back home.
I would'nt recommend this place to anyone unless you don't mind putting your life at risk, and staying in a totally run down place with holes in the ceiling.
The only thing that wanted to stay was the cat asall guests wanted out.
Want a holiday to remember, then stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere for a good holiday and time.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The staff were very accommodating and super friendly. The rooms are clean and spacious but a little humid but with the fan on and windows open it's quite comfortable. Bathroom and shower were shared and clean. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: some of the upstairs rooms have a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I couldn't believe how run down it was. The room smelled strange/dirty and the walls were so thin there was even a curtain in front of the divider. The wooden panels weren't even pained, carpet grotty, uncomfortable bed & I got bitten for the first time in my 2 weeks on the island.
The nearest shop is a Tesco in a small shopping centre, a 15 minute walk down a busy road. It's near to the beach but it's not accessible.
The staff tried to be friendly but only one spoke English. I could get out fast enough.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayd there 3 nights and I think that's was worst stay in Penng , the room where we stayd was horrible , smell in room and it was so hot in room , there is window but it opens to kitchen so no frech air at all. Room has thin walls, light goes through it in some parts.Wireless is slow .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Talay Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Talay Homestay

Address: 4, Lorong Abbas 2,, Tanjung Tokong, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Tokong
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tanjung Tokong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Talay Homestay 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Talay Homestay by the Beach is a luxurious Balinese style homestay in the heart of Penang. It is conveniently located at Tanjung Bungah, which is close to major tourist attractions such as Georgetown, Batu Ferringhi, Gurney Drive, Strait Quay, Island Plaza, CFQ, Mount Miriam Cancer Hospital, Dalat International School, etc. Within walking distance to local food courts, restaurants, Tesco, Bus Stand & easy access to everywhere. Baan Talay Homestay is just right next to the beautiful white sandy beach in Penang, it takes less than 30seconds walking to the beach. We provide accomodation for stay from daily, a few weeks to several months. Whether you are looking for a short term accomodation or more long term accomodation option, Baan Talay Homestay has a wide range of room to choose from; Male dormitory room, Deluxe Double with private bathroom, Deluxe Family with private bathroom, Superior Family Sea View, Luxury Family Suite with private balcony and partial Sea View. Most of our rooms are well equipped with private bathroom with hot water, air-conditioning, ceiling fan, modern built in wardrobe, chairs & tables, etc. Also, our high speed free WIFI is available in all rooms and common area ; it is open 24hours and unlimited for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Baan Talay Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Talay Homestay Hotel Penang
Baan Talay Homestay Penang/Tanjung Tokong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Talay Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.