We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Obama

Save Saved
You added Hotel Obama to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Obama
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Lagos Lane, Legon 8463, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Legon B&B and Inns
Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Am a Tourist and Tour Consultant based in Nigeria. Hotel Obama is a place to be whenever in Accra, GH, quite simple enough for me. I was there early 2012, and i had a really good time and certainly will be there again soon as i've planned to be in GH again sometime in 2013. Very hospitable staff and management with good clean and cosy environment and above all just few minutes away from Accra airport, what more do i need? Good place to be, anytime.

Room Tip: good and quieter rooms upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    0
    6
    4
See reviews for
2
2
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I and my husband visited the hotel for our honeymoon, we where told the internet are working and on getting to our room, it wasnt working working atall. We call the staff attention to it and noting was done. The rooms are just there, they aint cosy @ll, we manage to spend one night there and the next mornin we where out of the place cus my husband cant it.
We later went to a nicer one even far far lesser than Hotel Obama. I guess its a bit on the high side because it one their major road.

Room Tip: Look for a better one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This was a nice place to stay in a nice quiet area, not too far from the airport. I had a really great first trip to Ghana and this simple hotel certainly added to the journey. The staff were friendly, the food was nice and the room was all I needed in a room. Clean, simple and air conditioned. A fridge to keep my water cold and a TV.

They were also able to recommend a great English guy to help show me the ropes in Ghana. A really nice way of getting to know Ghana, whilst learning about how to be safe.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

my name is Kofi ampofo base in uk.have been to hotel obama couple of times and i enjoyed my stay over there.The place is nice and tidy.The management is up to the standard, the staffs are friendly and very helpfull.i made friendship with a member of staff call Francis.Have recommended a number of travellers and they seems to be happy likes it as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

We visited hotel Obama in 2010 after reading great reviews and seeing lovely pictures. The room was fairly clean however there was unfinished wiring hanging out the wall when we told them it wasn't safe with a child nothing was done. APart from the room the whole place is dark the lights do work on the corridors it's like their saving electricity which means you don't feel welcome to use the large communal room. We ordered 4 cooked breakfast all of which was served in pieces some a whole meal later bringing another one just not what you expect to all eat separately. The following day when I asked to use the kitchen to boil bottles I realised why the breakfast was bad because in actual fact there is no working kitchen just a school boy with a kettle small work bench n totally not a working kitchen which is unacceptable. The staff however were very friendly and it's a Shame the hotel cannot live up to it. At the front it looks beautiful but indoors n behind the scenes not good. We paid 70 dollars for one night. We decided to move on after 2 nights to a recommended hotel down the way which was far more better.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011 via mobile

Recently I visited Ghana and I am totally thrilled that Hotel Obama was the hotel choice I made!I can honestly say that staying there was one my my trip's greatest highlights. I came to the country because I'd heard wonderful things and knew I had to add it to my bucketlist. The staff members were not only friendly,attentive, and helpful but were able to anticipate all my tourist needs. With shuttle to various sites they ensured that my trip was nothing short of memorable! If I ever get the chance to visit Ghana again myself and my family will stay at HOTEL OBAMA!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

This hotel was nice because the site is clean and quaint. The atmosphere was cordial and always welcoming. It seemed to represent the traditional African friendliness but also the modern upbeat air that I am used to. I liked that the hotel had a store that could be visited at convenient times. The food service was delicious and I did not feel bothered by the locals seeking to sell things to guests. I enjoyed my stay, although it was a short stay of only a few days I would definitely suggest for other Americans to visit the Town and Country Plaza Hotel. My visit was to see friends in Accra, Osu and other cities; the hotel was close by and did not take much effort to reach. My friends were also able to easily locate the hotel. After staying with my friends for some time too, I began to miss the amenities of the hotel! I would love to visit Ghana again and hope to find the same service, surely I will at this hotel!

  • Liked — I liked the staff at the hotel that made me feel welcome and tended to my needs.
  • Disliked — I liked least that the location was a reccomendation. I wish I would've found it first!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Obama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Obama

Address: 5 Lagos Lane, Legon 8463, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Legon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Legon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Obama 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Town & Country Plaza Hotel is a new boutique style hotel located 5 minutes from the airport and the new Accra Mall. Our rooms are spacious, clean, and modern with full air conditioning, extended beds, TV w/Satellite, Hot water and 24 hour Electricity. Enjoy our American/Continental Restaurant: the Afropolitan Cafe and our serene setting, which relieves you from the hustle of the city. We have the most affordable rates in the Airport Area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Obama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Obama Ghana/Legon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Obama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.