We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Argentina Dreaming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dos Lunas

Save Saved
You added Dos Lunas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dos Lunas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruta provincial 17 | Alto Ongamira, Córdoba, Ongamira 5148, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ongamira
Maleny
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Argentina Dreaming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We've just spent 3 magical nights at this Estancia ... our first trip to Argentina and the start of our Argentine experience. What a great way to start. We choose this Estancia because of the trip advisor reviews, and we weren't disappointed. The staff were all lovely, the meals were always presented beautifully, and mostly excellent, (a famous Argentine Steak during our stay would have been nice), the riding was fantastic, breathtaking scenery ... simply perfect, and it was so great to come back and jump in the refreshingly inviting pool after a ride. The only problem we had was finding the place. We weren't given a map on booking, and tried to phone the day we were driving to the Estancia, but didn't get through, so we trusted the GPS in or hire car. We could only find the Estancia on the GPS via points of interest, and unfortunately Dos Lunas is located incorrectly on google earth, so we ended up in the wrong place. We then spent another 2 hours on bad dirt roads trying to find the Estancia. The fork in the road where we went wrong (took a right instead of a left) should have a sign saying Dos Lunas, with an arrow pointing left. Juan said when we arrived and explained our frustrating experience, that all main roads go to the left, so if you are unsure, always go left ... good to know for the future!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What an amazing spot. It's a two hour drive from the airport but not a boring one; and the last hour is on a dust road traveling along between the mountains and valleys. Spectacular. The estancia is charming. We had a gorgeous room with iron beds and floral duvets. All very quaint. The food is delicious. From breakfasts on the patio , to barbecues and delicious Italian inspired dishes in the evening. And not to forget the tea. I am not and experienced rider but I still had an amazing time. We did about a one to two hour ride twice a day through the most amazing landscape, and managed to see a new area each time. Plus there is a massive pool to catch a tan or a nap at.m There is no cellphone connection, which was fabulous and no tv in the room , so you can truly have total peace and quiet! It was well worth the distance we had to travel and the cost.

Room Tip: If you are tall, the beds might not be long enough s enquire ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Dos Lunas as part of my birthday celebration. Dos Lunas is an Estancia spread over 1300 hectares of land. To get there, I will suggest you organise a taxi with them, it will ne cheaper than getting one at the airport. As soon as you arrive you are made welcome by Juan and his team. This is a full board experience. You will have your breakfast, lunch, tea & cakes and a dinner served at fixed time. The presentation and quality of food is exceptional and would it to shame many restaurant I went to in London. In between meals, you will enjoy pure relaxation by the pool, or walks around the estate or of course horse riding. I chose riding sometimes twice a day to discover the amazing landscape. All the animals kept in the estancia are in good shape, especially the horses. I will cherish this stay for many years to come. I will recommend Dos Lunas to many of my friends.

Thanks again to Juan, his team and Guatavo the owner.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

When you arrived at the estancia after 1 hour of driving in the half of a marvelous landscape you are warmly welcomed by Juan and Vicky !
Our stay was fantastic ! The Estancia is in the middle of nowhere ant the view is beautiful.
The estancia is aged more of 100 years and very charming !
The brakfast, lunch and dinner are delicious and Santiago the cooker makes everything to make you happy. He clearly has skills !
Service is also perfect !
All the peoples there were friendly and happy to explain us how the estancia works and spend time with our kids !
The horse trip is very nice... indeed you go for a 1/2 hours trip in the field, climbing mounts and seeing the animals and the wildlife !
Hope to have the pleasure to come again soon !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Our two days spent at Dos Lunas were a highlight of our trip to Argentina! Wonderful landscapes,
magnificent colonial architecture, excellent food, a comfortable room and a warm welcome by Laura, Juan and all the staff. Do you need more to be parfectly happy, far from the madding crowd, away from any noise, and looking at night to millions of stars.
This relaxing stay was too short, but with a high degree of satisfaction.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D2-lunas, Director Comercial at Dos Lunas, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Andrew,

We are very pleased to read your feedback.

We really apreciate your comments and your time spent on them.

It is very heartwarming to know that we made a highlight on your trip around Argentina, we know now we fulfilled our goal :)

Thank you very much for your pictures, they look beautiful!
If your visit was too short, remember we are opened the whole year for you :)

Kindest Regards,
Dos Lunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

It might be the tasteful country decor, or the big smile with which Laura, the Manager welcomes you. Or maybe it is the patience and peace with which Juan teaches your kids how to enjoy riding the horse on a mountain as if they had done it for ever. Or maybe the Chef's amazing dishes. Or the delightful way in which a crew of girls serve you lunch and dinner, get your room clean, and help you with any request you may have. Or the incredible combination of this everyday! The fact is that we had the most amazing time. The lack of cel phone connection (only wi-fi) ends up being the greatest of all its features, because it helps you discover that the only things that matter at Dos Lunas are: eating, horse-back riding, watching the beautiful views, eating again, having fun, talking and playing with your kids, and having a deep problem-free sleep. Our kids (12 and 9-year old) and us had a ball. We went on winter, and are dying to go back in the summer when the days are longer and we can ride and eat more!! Super top recommendation for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D2-lunas, Director Comercial at Dos Lunas, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Felicitas,

Thank you so much for spending your time commenting about our hotel, it is very important for us to know that you had a great time at Dos Lunas and very important for future guests to know what you experienced and how you feel after spending part of your precious holiday with us.

Laura, Juan, Chefs and the whole staff are very happy to know that their best effort accomplished your expectations. They enjoyed very much time with you and your family, at the hotel, at the mountains, the whole stay.

As we always say, every stay is beautiful in Dos Lunas, but when we talk about summer, we have to say is the best time to come, that is true. Longer days, flowers and birds all around, we go further with our horses and have a looooot of time to spend at the swimming pool with family an friends enjoying some drinks.

We look forward to receiving you and all your beautiful family again at the estancia.

All the best,
Dos Lunas's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We highly recommend going there. We are from the US and travelled Argentina in June/July 2012 which is winter in Argentina. We stayed for two days. The estancia consists of a main building with several dining rooms with spectacular views, game room, TV room, WiFi corner, and several other buildings with the guest rooms. The rooms are beautifully decorated, simple but very comfortable, with a bedroom and a living room, some with fireplace. The beds are good, bathroom is good. The location is splendid, at the end of a 10 mile dirt road which was easily doable with my rented Corsa. There are views of the mountains everywhere. They offer horseback riding and even for us novices there was no problem going up the mountains, through river beds, through absolute "wild west like" scenery. The horses and gauchos are great. The team, Juan and Victoria, and their staff are extremely helpful, always looking out for you, speak English well, and are always available. We never locked our room, that's how safe it is. The food is excellent. Included are: breakfast, 3-course lunch and dinner and five o'clock tea/coffee/snacks. Drinks come extra. We needed to hike and ride otherwise we would have gained 5 lbs. For the warmer seasons there is an outdoor pool, plenty of space to relax, read, sunbathe etc. There is a ping pong table. This is a great place for families. If you find this helpful, also check our review of La Constancia which is different but worth another two days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director Comercial at Dos Lunas, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear Sir and Madam,

We appreciatte you comments about our estancia, we loved having you as guests.

We work hard every day to let you enjoy and have a pleasant holiday, such as you expect you would.

And as you say, we hope we could receive you for the warmer seasons sometime and enjoy the swimming pool and longer horseback rides.

Kind regards,

Dos Lunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dos Lunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Lunas

Address: Ruta provincial 17 | Alto Ongamira, Córdoba, Ongamira 5148, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Cordoba > Ongamira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ongamira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dos Lunas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dos Lunas is a boutique farm house that boasts a unique style, located in the heart of the Ongamira valley in the province of Cordoba.Surrounded by an extraordinary 2,300 hectare (5,689 acre) natural environment, Dos Lunas offers an amazing mix of nature and comfort that makes guests feel like home from the moment they arrive.Outdoor horse riding, internal wellbeing and a personalized service are the distinctive features that make of Dos Lunas an amazing and unforgettable place. Every meal and activity included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dos Lunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dos Lunas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.