We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have asked for better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longpuddle Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piddlehinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longpuddle Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Longpuddle Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4 High Street, Piddlehinton, Dorchester DT2 7TD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Piddlehinton B&B and Inns
Hartlepool
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could not have asked for better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed with Ann and Bertie at Longpuddle for 14 days commmencing June 29th. The location was excellent for touring Dorset, being in easy reach of the major roads. The room in the annexe was excellent, being light and spacious, and the breakfasts were a delight, cooked to perfection and you could have various options depending on your appetite. The attentiveness we received from Ann and Bertie was excellent - nothing was any trouble and we were made to feel at home.
I recommend Longpuddle as a perfect touring base for Dorset.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here in May 2013 for two nights and wish it had been for longer. Our bedroom was in an annex in the lovely garden, making it feel a little more private as we had our own front door. Both Ann and Bertie are really lovely, friendly people, they also cook a mean breakfast and keep their place spotlessly clean. The room was really spacious with good sitting area as well as the comfy bed. The bathroom was nice and large too. The surrounding countryside is spectacular, with the tiny little river Piddle running through the village and indeed through the garden of Longpuddle. Nice meal in the pub down the road a few minutes away - (the Thimble) but had to go into the next village for a pint of the local tipple named after their river. We hadn't looked at any reviews before visiting, but now looking at them we agree with them and would recommend Longpuddle anytime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

My partner Ben and I together with our Cavalier King Charles (Bruno) stayed here a few weekends ago. Our welcome on arrival was very warm and personal. We has a beautifully appointed double room and ensuite in the main house, very tastefully furnished, with a large cosy bed and stunning views to the rear of the property. Ann and Bertie were attentive without being too intrusive and were very conscious of keeping our pooch safe and secure which we really appreciated. We were very comfortable during our two night stay and the location was excellent for the trips we made. Two very minor observations. Ann and Bertie advertise as "dog friendly" which was our main reason for booking. They have recently had new cream/beige carpets fitted throughout the main house and Ann's anxiety about it getting dirty from our dog was apparent (and very understandable), but this then made me feel a little anxious during our stay. However, our furry fellow is very clean and we did our utmost to show their home the respect it deserved. We would love to stay again but would be inclined to request one of the annexe rooms, should we take Bruno again. Our second observation was that the lead from the kettle didn't reach the plug point so we had to set it on the carpet to boil. Not very practical, but again only a minor issue. Maybe a low table could be a consideration? The mini fridge for our fresh milk was a great idea. The bed and bathroom linens were spotlessly clean. The garden is simply stunning. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. This was the first time in a long time that my partner (a dairy farmer) and I had managed to get away and we could not have wished for anywhere nicer. Thank you Ann and Bertie (and Sassy the retriever) for making us so very welcome and for giving us such a positive and memorable experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

One of the best places i have stayed in and i spend 5 months of the year travelling all over the UK. Travelled to Dorset in a very wet november and was very impressed with the high standard throughout in both the main house and where i stayed , in a courtyard apartment. Spacious with a good sized sitting area and a bathroom with a mains shower, there was even a small jug of milk with which to make my tea, i hate the taste of cartoned milk. Breakfast the next morning was with deliciuos ,quality ingredients and Ann and Bertie were welcoming hosts. An excellent location for touring south Dorset and not far to drive to the Bournemouth coastline. Definitely on my stay again list.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms offer a lot of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our friends had stayed with Ann and Bertie on a previous trip to Dorset.So, when we all went down together it was a natural B&B to go back to as they had raved about how wonderful it is. We were not disappointed. I can only endorse all the great things which others have said about Ann and Bertie's welcome, the spotless and comfortable accommodation, and the quality breakfast. The Thimble Inn up the road was a great place for a meal and a pint. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex which was great, and I would highly recommend. We did not see the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was undoubtedly the most comfortable and charming B and B we have ever stayed in.
Very relaxed and beautifully furnished throughout. The breakfast was delicious. We were impressed that nothing had been forgotten with regard to comfort. Even leaving little jugs of milk in small fridges for our morning tea! We will definitely be going there again, and will also recommend it to our friends and family.

Room Tip: room 2 or 3 in the separate annexe. Very private and quite charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Ann and Bertie very welcoming and helpful but not intrusive. Stayed in double room in main house which was bright and spotlessly clean. Lovely relaxing place to stay! Breakfasts were good and Ann said if we wanted anything else just ask! Would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Longpuddle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longpuddle Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4 High Street, Piddlehinton, Dorchester DT2 7TD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester > Piddlehinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Piddlehinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Longpuddle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Piddle Valley, midway between abbey town of Sherborne and the county town of Dorchester, Longpuddle is well placed for exploring Thomas Hardy’s Dorset and the Jurassic Coast. The 400 year old thatched cottage, originally a farmhouse, overlooks the embryo river Piddle which runs through the garden and paddocks. Guest accommodation comprises three spacious tastefully decorated rooms ideal for an extended stay; two double and one twin with colour TVs, radios and hairdryers, both en suite. A third bed can be made available if required. Breakfast consists of local produce freshly cooked personally by the proprietor. There is also a large comfortable guest’s lounge; with a log fire on winter days. This also has a colour television and views over the garden and paddocks. The name Longpuddle was used by Thomas Hardy collectively for the villages of the Piddle valley which has several excellent Pubs serving local food to suite a variety of tastes. The many bridleways offer a chance to see the local wildlife and badger watching is available locally. The delightful village of Cerne Abbas with the famous Giant (The Rude Man) is just a few minutes drive away. Ample off road parking is available ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longpuddle Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.