We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stapleford Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stapleford Park to your Saves list
Stapleford Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nr. Melton Mowbray, Stapleford LE14 2EF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stapleford
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Relaxing home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The drive is very imposing with at the head of it a most wonderful country house. The welcome was warm and efficient. Only 1 of our 2 rooms was available so we settled in the library for coffee. Excellent coffee with home made biscuits, what a lovely start in the wonderfully comfortable arm chairs.

We checked checked into the rooms and were pleasantly surprised to find a small decanter of sloe gin awaiting for us in the room.

The spa treatments were excellent, with wonderfully knowledgeable therapists. And if you are struggling to get to or from the spa, someone will happily take you in the car.

And if you have forgotten sturdy footwear, there are wellingtons by the door, and if you have forgotten a coat, you can borrow one of those too!

The ambience is the real selling point, at no time did we feel rushed, and there was always plenty of places to sit. There are a large number of wonderful paintings and even the wallpaper is interesting, with different themes throughout.

Afternoon tea was good, however, having to ask for milk with the tea was a chore which happened more than once. Overall though the food was excellent. Service can be a little on the slow side on occasion.

There are so many things to do here, that an extended stay is recommended, save up first as the cheapest bottle of wine is £26 with a decent one being around the £40 mark.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor can be a little more noisy as they are in the roof space and so you can hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    135
    92
    45
    25
See reviews for
119
244
14
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Stapleford Park last week with my mum and my sister on a spa break deal for Mothers' Day. Lots of things were great about the hotel; the service was really good both in the spa and in the hotel, including a lift to the spa because of the horrible weather, the staff who patched my sister up when she cut herself and the no quibble extension to the room when she also had a nosebleed! The facial and hand massage I had at the spa was lovely, and the gym well equipped. It was a shame that the pool and the treatment area are not in the same place, but not the end of the world. The food was delicious and the waitress helpful with our awkward requests. The room was nice and large enough for three of us to stay without getting under each others' feet, and had a gorgeous view of the grounds; the bathroom was in need of updating, one of the mattresses was past its best (which I was told they would look into when I informed them), the room was cold overnight even though the radiators were on high and it was a shame not to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Overall though, a really lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

- lovely character hotel let down by very slow and poor customer service in the restaurant and bar - don't think staff have been correctly recruited and trained by local management. Food at dinnner was average to poor, very bland including real lack of seasoning. Also bad mistake having Volvo taking over the hotel on the Saturday, told by their staff to park over 300 metres away as they'd taken over the hotel parking, just awful. Unfortunately would not recommend and not going back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We spent the weekend at Stapleford for mothers day. We had rooms in the hotel for the first night (for my wife and I and our two kids) and then had one of their cottages for 10 of us the second night (my brother and his family and my parents). The house itself is beautiful if a little tired at the edges (think shabby rather than shabby chic). The food when it arrived was generally very good. However, the service was atrocious. On arrival we had booked dinner and had to wait 40 minutes to be seated, 20 more minutes to place and order (including for drinks) and then 30 minutes for the food to arrive .... this meant for an 8.15 table we ate at almost 10pm .... I hoped this was a one off but we found for every meal that drinks and orders took ages to be taken and then to arrive.

My parents (who are both in their 70's) arrived on the Saturday morning. My Mum has recently had an operation on her leg (the week before) and walking is painful for her. On arrival the car park was full as there was a Volvo corporate event on. They then tried to park in two empty places near the hotel but were told by Volvo that they were reserved for Volvo customers and my parents needed to go and park in the overflow car park 300 metres away. On hearing this I complained to the duty manager who made no effort whatsoever to apologise .... The weekend cost me over £2,500 which despite the beautiful house is ridiculous given the service and the attitude of the staff. If you are considering staying at Stapleford Park I suggest you look a little further afield to somewhere your money will be appreciated and service levels are at least acceptable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Afternoon tea at Stapleford Park was a touch busy as there was a ride and drive event for a car company - which if they had told me on booking I would have chosen another day. Parking was a little difficult and it was raining. Cakes, sandwiches, scones all very good with fantastic home made jam but could not wait to get home for a hot cup of tea. Not rushing to go back and at £40 for 2 its not a cheap treat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I recently stayed here for 1 night. The room was great but far too hot. Could not turn heating down. Windows were difficult to open. Service in restaurant/bar very poor. Ordered Thai curry and when it eventually turned up it was a bed of rice with chicken and no sauce. Sent it back, got the burger instead which was good but didnt eat until about 10pm. Drinks also took and eternity to arrive. The slow relaxed atmosphere was not for me. Staff friendly though.

Room Tip: Visit premier inn website
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I just wanted to know were is the staff in this hotel? we stayed at the weekend and it seems like the hotel doesn't have staff every time we wanted something we had to go and find a member of staff to the point we have been told we are short of staff please bare with me it might take a little wile, we paying for good food and service the end of the day and this is not good.how ever the hotel it self is fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stapleford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stapleford Park

Address: Nr. Melton Mowbray, Stapleford LE14 2EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Stapleford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stapleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stapleford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 500 acres, Stapleford Park offers a wide variety of country pursuits and leisure activities including shooting, riding and falconry. And after a day in the fresh country air, our house guests and members always look forward to a delicious, freshly prepared evening meal in one of our dining rooms and a night cap in the library. Our luxurious bedrooms, all individually designed, guarantee a good night’s sleep in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stapleford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stapleford Park Hotel Stapleford
Stapleford Park Melton Mowbray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stapleford Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.