We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place is Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Connors Pub Doolin

O'Connors Pub Doolin
Fisher Street, Doolin, County Clare, Doolin, Ireland
065-7074168
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“This Place is Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

There is only a few places in Doolin for food, music and nightlife, but this is the place to go to. We ate here every day and night that we were in Doolin. You have to try the Salmon Dinner here, and the Sheep Shanks, as I think they were called, on the Special board. It was so damn good, and for the $$ was worth every cent, and the portions were big. All the meals were so fresh. The trad was great, the staff was cool, and we had fun going back night after night. Its a must.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    790
    348
    83
    34
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Garden City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“GOOD PUB FOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This pub has good food, for a pub; I had a salad and Irish Stew. Both were above average. The service was fast and the staff was friendly. Great night night of Trad Irish music.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fast service great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We were surprised how fast we got our food: local crab was very delicious. Servants were very friendly. The portions are big but tables are small, ours was made out of sewing machine. Sorry, they do not accept American Express.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun family style Pub in Doolin with great live music and comraderie!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We spent our first night in Ireland at Gus O'Connor's Pub, but unfortunately got there after the kitchen closed at 9 PM! :-( so no story to tell about food, but we enjoyed some amazing live Traditional Irish music played by either local or professional Irish musicians right before your eyes at the tables set up in the middle of the taproom, with folks all gathered round, singing along and dancing and generally having a very good time! the beer was flowing, but it was a happy feeling at the pub, not one of wasted drunken folks! I loved the ambience, and we met some amusing and entertaining local characters there....You can even take your baby into a pub before 9 PM, which my hubby did one evening, as he was babysitting while my adult kids and I all went to the Doolin Irish Folk Festival in town that weekend of June 14th! I'd conclude by saying O'Conner's was a great Pub, and our family will have memories to treasure always! <3

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We LOVED hanging out here on our first trip to Doolin, Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

O'Conner's Pub was such fun! We enjoyed some amazing Traditional Folk music performed by locals and professionals alike here, since it was the weekend of the Doolin Irish Folk Festival! The pub food was food, the Craic was amazing...my hubby got into several stimulating conversations with the locals and enjoyed that immensely! I met folks from Germany, Canada, and many other places, even someone from practically our backyard was there from Henrietta NY! <3 Wow, small world! <3 GREAT TIMES had by all ages here! <3 Loved it! <3

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Connors Pub Doolin also viewed

 

Been to O'Connors Pub Doolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Connors Pub Doolin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.